We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So loud.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
1 review
“So loud.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel because it had awesome reviews on Trip Advisor. The staff who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The room was really cute and full of character. The bathroom was severely lacking, with the shower being a tiny corner of the bathroom with a shower curtain hanging down. There is no division so the water runs toward the toilet and sink on the bathroom floor. The walls are not insulated, so we could literally hear every word from the lobby/desk area (we were in room 17) from the room above us, and people walking up and down the stairs. Had to use ear plugs to sleep.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    66
    31
    28
    33
See reviews for
81
77
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I enjoyed my stay. Looking forward to coming back soon.
Clean big rooms with small kitchen, refrigerator, stove, oven and beautiful view of the pier and ocean. In walking distance to the boardwalk. Wish the boardwalk was open when we went.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband chose this hotel for the view and it being pet friendly for a birthday weekend getaway for me. Sitting outside on the balcony looking at the beach was fantastic. Our daughter and grandson were with us and their dog and it accommodated us perfectly. The rooms are older and there is some renovations being done but it was perfect for what we wanted. We really appreciated the fact that this is a historic landmark and are happy to see it being taken care of so the oldness and out-of-date amenities did not bother us at all. We appreciated having tile floors for the dogs as well. We will definitely come back. There is a lot of space for outdoor activities and walking but is just overgrown.

Room Tip: Coming in December we did not have any issues with anything. We understand that some of the renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the 'Honeymoon Suite' for a weekend getaway. Private balcony with a view of the pier and boardwalk in the distance. The room was very cozy and welcoming. Keep in mind this is a historic hotel. The doors are small, the bathroom and shower are too. This did not bother us at all because we loved the historic charm of this beautiful inn by the beach. A great plus was the locations and proximity to both the pier, boardwalk, dining and bars. We enjoyed being able to not worry about finding a taxi or driving after enjoying several drinks. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Older rooms with great charm, don't expect fancy or fine finishes. Outstanding location for beach and Boardwalk play, close to downtown as well. Very kind staff looking to make improvements. Will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is across the street from the beach. The balcony was great to hang out, relax and people watch. It is in need of renovation which the manager said is coming soon. We were there on thanksgiving weekend but felt the hotel was understaffed. Overall, we had a great stay. Just know you are paying for the location not the amenities. Also, we were able to take our dog since the hotel is pet friendly. That was a big plus.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we checked in, we were told that the room we booked (ocean view king) wasn't available. The only other room available was the honeymoon suite, apparently, and we were happy because that meant free upgrade! Wrong. If we wanted to we could "pay an additional $20 to get the room." Um no. Good thing the receptionist (who was really nice) understood our point and said that "the system" allowed her to upgrade us, as it should be in that situation. Not our fault they overbooked. Sadly when we get to the room it was pitch dark, and none of the electrical outlets worked. It was also a freezing fall evening, but they couldn't move us because all the rooms were fully booked that night. They couldn't understand or solve the problem, and we were so tired that we just went ahead and slept through the night. We checked out the next day, but no effort was made to compensate us for the horrible experience we had. The receptionists were nice and they have informed their manager/s about the problem, but in no way did we feel that they felt bad about our experience enough to go the extra mile to see how they could appease us. Very poor customer service in that sense (even though I reiterate the receptionists were very nice), but no one really knew what to do in a situation like that to make sure the customers had a good experience. The manager should've done more, and for that I'm giving them one star only.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rzavar, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I feel terrible with the experience you had with us, my apologies. Our Honeymoon suite is a special room, i'm glad that you experienced this. However, our property is very unique and the building you stayed in was built during the turn of the century. Moreover, with historic charm also comes old world issues, like our heating and cooling, which we are upgrading! Nevertheless, we do have central heating. However, clearly it wasn't operational during your stay.

As we move into our winter months, we'll make more effort to use our heater in that building. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Though I wish my staff and I had the opportunity to remedy the situation during your stay.

Give us another chance in the future and let us show you that we're truly a five star Hotel.

Humbly - Rupesh Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Address: 101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casablanca Inn on the Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical Casablanca Inn is strategically located across the street from the Santa Cruz beach, a block away from the wharf and the boardwalk. All our rooms are beautifully decorated and have a breathtaking view of the beach. Some of our rooms have a unique design which reflects the distinct character of the historic Cerf Mansion. Over the years, the Casablanca Inn has been fortunate enough to cater to some of the most influential and famous personalities of our time, which has immensely appreciated the elegance that our hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Casablanca Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn & Bistro Hotel Santa Cruz
Casablanca Inn And Bistro
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.