We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was great. Room was terrible.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casablanca Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Fresno, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location was great. Room was terrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I reserved a "Classic Queen" room. I reviewed all the pictures online and what was online showed very nice rooms; however, that was not the case when I saw my room. It was very tiny and would be difficult for two people to walk around in the room. The bed was not queen size but instead a double because my queen bed at home is larger than the one in the room.

Their was no air conditioner in the room other than a box fan that I found stuffed in a closet in the room. The mattress on the bed was one of the worst mattresses I have every slept on. It was nosy and lumpy. The room is very outdated in decor. The bathroom was tiny and also very outdated.

My friend came with me on the trip and he also reserved the same room "classic queen" but had made his reservation several days later. His room was actually the family suite. I went to the lobby to complain and was told that there are only 4 "classic queen" rooms and once they are sold out then guests get upgraded. He was upgraded to the nicer room even though I had made my reservation prior to his. I also told him that the bed was not a queen and he said it was. I was very disappointed with the room and would not stay at this hotel again. The pictures on the internet were misleading regarding this type of room.

The shower had a tiled ceiling and what was interesting was that there was one tile that had been removed and replaced directly over the shower head with another tile that was different in color and style. It had open slits in it and I could see into the attic space. It made me wonder if there was a camera in that space. It was very odd and I took a picture of it.


The only thing good was the location of the hotel and the parking.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, do not book the classic queen rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    57
    25
    24
    28
See reviews for
68
67
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Our room was a fantastic mini apartment with little living room with fireplace, windows on two sides, fridge / freezer, kettle etc, and bedroom with windows on two sides lots of closet space, and a cute little bathroom with a great shower. Staff were helpful and friendly, with Enrique and Prabesh fixing us up with a great rate for a great room despite being very full and us not having made a reservation. Excellent find!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived. Not too big a deal as we spent some time in downtown Santa Cruz doing a little eating and shopping. When we came back, our family suite was ready. I didn't mind the wait! SUPER clean room. Enough space for all of us. Comfortable beds made for a good sleep for kids and parents. Close to everything we wanted to do and was a nice place to have some down time after a busy day on the Boardwalk. We look forward to staying here on our next visit to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice rooms, old charm. Tashon at the front desk was really great, accommodating and helpful. Possibly the only employee that we directly dealt with that deserves a great review. The over night employee I cannot say the same about. We moved to a different room (the captains suite) the second night after deciding to stay another night from our initial stay in what was originally supposed to be room 7 (which I was told over the phone I had been locked in) and got moved to room 10, less view but not a huge deal. Aside from that small fact the second night we got woken up at 12:30 AM by the night employee coming into our room with 2 new guests trying to check them in. Not fun, not pleased. We received a call from Raina after leaving who was very nice and apologetic, offered nice accommodations for our next stay but could not offer anything for our current one. Not sure we'll be staying here again after quite a few mishaps but definetely appreciated the efforts from tashon and Raina. Definetely a bit pricey to be dealing with all the extra shenanigans and lack of sleep from thinking we were being broken into.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

After staying in several different rooms and suites at the casa Blanca this is officially my favorite vacation spot right on the beach....!!! I love their layout and floor plans they're so spacious and homey ... I recommend all stay...

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Save your money and stay at another run down motel down the street. It feels like a motel 6 & is pictured as much nicer. I would never stay here again. Awful awful awful. I wish someone would have warned me, now that your reading be warned.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is perfect, the staff is helpful, the room was beautiful, and even the Thai restaurant was amazing. Over all it was an amazing time and a perfect place. I hope to return real soon. Thank you soo much.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Address: 101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casablanca Inn on the Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical Casablanca Inn is strategically located across the street from the Santa Cruz beach, a block away from the wharf and the boardwalk. All our rooms are beautifully decorated and have a breathtaking view of the beach. Some of our rooms have a unique design which reflects the distinct character of the historic Cerf Mansion. Over the years, the Casablanca Inn has been fortunate enough to cater to some of the most influential and famous personalities of our time, which has immensely appreciated the elegance that our hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casablanca Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn And Bistro
Casablanca Inn & Bistro Hotel Santa Cruz
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.