We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Santa Cruz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Long Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Santa Cruz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Perfect seaside hotel! Close to everything ! Staff was very helpful. If you are looking for a fancy place to stay this is not the place for you. But is you want a lovely relaxing seaside hotel it is perfect. As an extra perk the Thai restaurant on the premises is excellent !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us at Casablanca Inn! We love hearing about how our guests enjoy our accommodations On the Beach! We are also very excited to share the property with the new and delicious Sawasdee Thai Cuisine, we're glad our guests can take advantage of some good eats while they are enjoying the surf and sun! We look forward to seeing you On the Beach again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    67
    31
    28
    33
See reviews for
81
77
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very disappointed and disgusted with new pet policies. This was our favorite Santa Cruz hotel until pet friendly status. We loved the beach front bungalows on Beach Street. We reserved a stay there this week and have had to cancel our trip because we were not informed that all the prime beach front rooms are now "pet friendly." Found a post from a happy pet owner marveling at how wonderful it was for her pet to be allowed to sleep in bed with her in this room with a great ocean view. Yuck!! Disgusting and very disappointed that we were not informed upon reserving the room that this was a pet friendly room and shared pet friendly balcony. We have pet allergies / asthma and would have been very ill if we stayed in the room. Unfortunately, too late to book another room at a hotel that doesn't allow pets to sleep in the beds.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are sorry that you were misinformed about our pet policy. We understand that many people have allergies to pet dander, and that's why we only allow pets in rooms without carpet. This does in fact include some of the Beach Street Bungalows that you were referring to, however not all of them are Pet-Friendly. If you would still like to stay in a Beach Street Bungalow, we can see if we can accommodate you in one of those rooms that does not accept pets if you specify that you have allergies in your reservation. We hope that you can come back to try us again so we can still be your favorite hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

250 dollars for a day and really a shack of a room.we stayed in 6 A the room on the mainstreet.it was so noisy being on the road. Was a good location,rooms were clean and had a small kitchenette but we felt we were sleepin on a platform for the amount of noise around.Maybe it was the wrong choice of room but that was the cheapest available!!
The staff basically reception was 'to the point'.
It would stay at a better location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are saddened that you were disappointed with the location of your accommodations at our Hotel. The room that you are referring to is the only one of our rooms located on the street level, therefore it is the most susceptible to the noise of beach traffic. We specify this in the description of the room online, or if you made your reservation over the phone, our staff would have also noted this fact as it is a very unique room. When we took over the property in 2011, we installed sound proof windows in that room in order to cut down on the noise from the street. Please let us know next time that you are unsatisfied with your accommodations so that our staff can assist you in ameliorating your stay. As a former private mansion, all of our rooms are different with their own personality and charm.Thank you for acknowledging the cleanliness of the room and our relative location to the beach, we hope that you can come stay with us again in a different room away from the street for a better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you are in Santa Cruz you must go to this Hotel. I highly recommend it. You get a very warm welcome, the rooms are fantastic and very clean. We had one of the small rooms and even that was fantastic. The people are very friendly. It was a very pleasant stay. And we will go back there. To the crew: Thank you for making it an awesome experience. Could not have asked for more

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Wow what a review! We are so touched to hear about your experience On the Beach! Our staff strives to make your vacation relaxing and comfortable as soon you arrive to the property, beginning with the friendly nature of our Front Desk Staff to the cleanliness of our rooms. We thank you for noticing our efforts and sharing your kind words :-) We would LOVE to receive you and your family again for some more fun in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Great location, great staff, clean cute rooms, and an amazing view! It has been a year since we stayed and I was still thinking about this place, so I thought it was time to write a review!
Loved our stay here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Your review as melted our hearts! Thank you so much for your kind words about our location, staff, and rooms, we are so happy to have had a lasting impression, even after a year! Please come back and visit us again On the Beach next time you are in Northern California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Casablanca and it was totally awesome.we had a room over the beach it was so convenient. Continental breakfast was good. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean. We stayed in number 1 and I highly recommend it:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay On the Beach! We are always so enthused to hear when our guests enjoy our amenities and the clean state of our rooms. We hope you will come back to us for some more sun and sand soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stopped in santa cruz to see a friend and decided to find a place with a beach view. This was the first place we drove up too. The young man showed us two rooms, which was very nice of him, before we decided. The room we picked had a nice bed with another bed that had a pullout underneath, so you could sleep 4 people. The price was to be expected with a nice patio with the beach and volleyball players right across the street. I was very happy! Staff was great and the breakfast was an added suprise. Fresh fruit, yummy bagels, breads, cereal, granola, coffee, juice, muffins. OH, and there was a full size fridge, stove and microwave with a sink. It was like a nice studio on the beach. I would definatley stay here again. The bistro was being remodeled , so we didnt get to eat there.

Room Tip: Photo is the view from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for your wonderful review about our little Inn! We are so proud to offer our guests studio-style accommodations just steps away from the beach! Our Night Auditor, James, is very particular about our Continental Breakfast so he is always happy to hear that all of his hard work is received well by our guests! Thank you for taking the time to give us a humble shout-out, we hope you come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Address: 101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casablanca Inn on the Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical Casablanca Inn is strategically located across the street from the Santa Cruz beach, a block away from the wharf and the boardwalk. All our rooms are beautifully decorated and have a breathtaking view of the beach. Some of our rooms have a unique design which reflects the distinct character of the historic Cerf Mansion. Over the years, the Casablanca Inn has been fortunate enough to cater to some of the most influential and famous personalities of our time, which has immensely appreciated the elegance that our hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casablanca Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn & Bistro Hotel Santa Cruz
Casablanca Inn And Bistro
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.