We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything we expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Casablanca Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
“everything we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stopped in santa cruz to see a friend and decided to find a place with a beach view. This was the first place we drove up too. The young man showed us two rooms, which was very nice of him, before we decided. The room we picked had a nice bed with another bed that had a pullout underneath, so you could sleep 4 people. The price was to be expected with a nice patio with the beach and volleyball players right across the street. I was very happy! Staff was great and the breakfast was an added suprise. Fresh fruit, yummy bagels, breads, cereal, granola, coffee, juice, muffins. OH, and there was a full size fridge, stove and microwave with a sink. It was like a nice studio on the beach. I would definatley stay here again. The bistro was being remodeled , so we didnt get to eat there.

Room Tip: Photo is the view from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for your wonderful review about our little Inn! We are so proud to offer our guests studio-style accommodations just steps away from the beach! Our Night Auditor, James, is very particular about our Continental Breakfast so he is always happy to hear that all of his hard work is received well by our guests! Thank you for taking the time to give us a humble shout-out, we hope you come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    52
    22
    18
    24
See reviews for
63
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn,CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent two very pleasant nights here in a Main Street bungalow. There is a small kitchen, comfortable king-size bed, large TV, desk (free wifi), shower, and balcony with a view of beach and boardwalk. A very pleasant surprise was the buffet style take-away breakfast that included fresh bagels, banana and chocolate breads, and big bowl of fresh-cut fruit, cereal, juice and coffee. We so appreciated the helpful staff. The location was perfect! Across the street was the beach (and beach volleyball), the boardwalk and pier (walk or drive to the end for a chance to see the sea lions up close). Walking in the other direction takes you past beautiful old homes to a lovely downtown on Pacific Ave. (fun shops, galleries, restaurants that are not just for tourists). Ask directions because there are cliffs and a nearby river that make walking a straight line impossible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are so happy to hear about your pleasant stay with us at Casablanca Inn! We definitely understand why our location is so appealing to our guests and with that in mind, we strive to make everybody's stay On the Beach as comfortable as possible! We are delighted that our accommodations and customer service allowed for the vacation that you wanted! Please come back and stay with us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband & I booked this hotel as a side trip as we were going to San Francisco for a conference for his work. We wanted to see more of California than just San Fran since neither of us had been to California before. Our trip began miserably & we got to Santa Cruz exhaused, in need of a shower and hungry. We checked into the Casablanca Inn & when we did so were greeted by two lovely, energetic and sympathetic employees! They were wonderful! When we got into our room, I was a bit disappointed by our accomodations, they didn't seem to be what I remembered online. HOWEVER, I quickly got past it because it was very clean, the shower was wonderful, the bed has very comfortable and the view was splendid! PLUS, the staff had placed a bottle of Proseco (at my family's request as I mentioned we had a miserable start to our trip) in the room! We knew that the restaurant was closed so this wasn't an issue for us. We had a fabulous dinner and a delicious brunch off site. Our only problem was that we could only stay one night. We would both go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Main Street bungalow, it doesn't face the beach, but does have a good view of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are delighted to hear about your pleasant stay with us On The Beach! In regards to the accommodations, we have done some renovations to the place since our Boss took over the property in 2011 and we are in the process of updating the pictures online to accurately reflect those changes. We are happy to hear that we were able to satisfy your expectations in all other departments! Thank you for your appreciation, we hope that you will come back to Santa Cruz and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I recommend this hotel during off season hours as it has a beautiful view and is in walking distance of the pier. The king bed was cozy and it was nice to have a kitchen so that I could be a total recluse and cook lunch and dinner while I enjoyed reading. I was there on a Monday and Tuesday and experienced peace and quiet. It is very close to the Boardwalk so I am certain that during spring break and summer hours when the roller coasters are running that it'd be too loud.

The restaurant was closed for remodelling so I did not get to experience it's food or decor.

Room Tip: rooms 7-12 off main street have a nice baclcony view of the beach, Boardwalk and pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us! Here at Casablanca Inn, we always hope that we can provide peace and tranquility for our guests, and we are so happy to hear that we were able to provide the getaway that you needed! Please come back and stay with us again, we also have other rooms with Ocean Views that are farther away from all of the activities from the Boardwalk that will give you the peace and quiet that you need, anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location cannot be beat! We stayed in one of the Beach Street Bungalows and it was so wonderful! We had a wonderful time relaxing on the balcony, walking to the wharf, the Boardwalk, and enjoying the warm weather, sun, and sand. I purchased a Living Social deal and was a bit disappointed that part of the deal was a voucher for their restaurant...yet the decided to close the restaurant for remodeling. I do think that if you offer a deal...you should follow through with it. They did give us a voucher for their "sister" restaurant in Ben Lamond. It was an interesting experience...but again, you paid for a meal that is right there, and what you actually got was a German meal 25-30 minutes away. Some other reviewers have slammed the cleanliness...I think they are off base...and they actually had me very nervous about our stay. It is an older hotel and does have some wear and tear but overall it is clean. You are definitely paying for the view and location. All in all we had a wonderful stay and would go back again...with another deal! :)

Room Tip: Unfortunately we had VERY loud neighbors both nights we were there. They liked to party on the share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are so happy that you were able to enjoy your stay with us! We apologize again that our restaurant was closed at the time of your stay. We did in fact include the Bistro for one of our Living Social vouchers, however, we experienced damage from storms in December 2012 that forced us to close our doors to remodel. As a result, we wanted to still accommodate our guests by replacing the Bistro Voucher for the Tyrolean Inn Restaurant in Ben Lomond that is owned by the same owner. We look forward to seeing you stay On the Beach in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was exactly how it was displayed on-line. The staff is wonderful, especially the woman at the front desk. I had several conversations with her. She was very friendly and welcoming. You can always tell the difference between a family run business and a large corporation. Very personable. The restaurant is being remodeled but that didnt cause any inconvenience being there is a wonderful bar & grille across the street as well as all the places along the Wharf. I loved the fact that the place is not all modernized, and has the older "antique-y" feel. The breakfast served was very good and fresh, nice selection. We will definitely be returning here again and again.

Room Tip: We had the beach front room #1, and LOVED it. We could hear the ocean, and had a great view of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Allow us to thank you so very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel and our staff, it is very much appreciated, and we are truly grateful. It is wonderful guests like you who make all our efforts worthwhile, and we hope that you will come back again soon cause it would truly be a pleasure and an honor to be of service to you again. Rest assured, we shall continue to make the necessary improvements to make the stay of all our valued guests like yourself a very pleasant and comfortable one. Our heartfelt best wishes to you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and Istayed one night(no two night minimum) and we loved it. We stayed in room 25 and the view was amazing! Everything was a shirt walk away. The bistro and restraunt were closed which was a major bummer but still worth it!! Great staff, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Please allow us to thank you and your fiance for staying with us, and for your wonderful comments about our hotel and our staff, it is very much appreciated and we are sincerely grateful. We look forward to having you with us again in the not so distant future cause it would be an honor and a pleasure to be of service to you. Our heartfelt best wishes to both of you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Address: 101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casablanca Inn on the Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical Casablanca Inn is strategically located across the street from the Santa Cruz beach, a block away from the wharf and the boardwalk. All our rooms are beautifully decorated and have a breathtaking view of the beach. Some of our rooms have a unique design which reflects the distinct character of the historic Cerf Mansion. Over the years, the Casablanca Inn has been fortunate enough to cater to some of the most influential and famous personalities of our time, which has immensely appreciated the elegance that our hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Casablanca Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn & Bistro Hotel Santa Cruz
Casablanca Inn And Bistro
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.