We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Casablanca Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Fresno, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location cannot be beat! We stayed in one of the Beach Street Bungalows and it was so wonderful! We had a wonderful time relaxing on the balcony, walking to the wharf, the Boardwalk, and enjoying the warm weather, sun, and sand. I purchased a Living Social deal and was a bit disappointed that part of the deal was a voucher for their restaurant...yet the decided to close the restaurant for remodeling. I do think that if you offer a deal...you should follow through with it. They did give us a voucher for their "sister" restaurant in Ben Lamond. It was an interesting experience...but again, you paid for a meal that is right there, and what you actually got was a German meal 25-30 minutes away. Some other reviewers have slammed the cleanliness...I think they are off base...and they actually had me very nervous about our stay. It is an older hotel and does have some wear and tear but overall it is clean. You are definitely paying for the view and location. All in all we had a wonderful stay and would go back again...with another deal! :)

Room Tip: Unfortunately we had VERY loud neighbors both nights we were there. They liked to party on the share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are so happy that you were able to enjoy your stay with us! We apologize again that our restaurant was closed at the time of your stay. We did in fact include the Bistro for one of our Living Social vouchers, however, we experienced damage from storms in December 2012 that forced us to close our doors to remodel. As a result, we wanted to still accommodate our guests by replacing the Bistro Voucher for the Tyrolean Inn Restaurant in Ben Lomond that is owned by the same owner. We look forward to seeing you stay On the Beach in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    52
    22
    18
    25
See reviews for
63
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was exactly how it was displayed on-line. The staff is wonderful, especially the woman at the front desk. I had several conversations with her. She was very friendly and welcoming. You can always tell the difference between a family run business and a large corporation. Very personable. The restaurant is being remodeled but that didnt cause any inconvenience being there is a wonderful bar & grille across the street as well as all the places along the Wharf. I loved the fact that the place is not all modernized, and has the older "antique-y" feel. The breakfast served was very good and fresh, nice selection. We will definitely be returning here again and again.

Room Tip: We had the beach front room #1, and LOVED it. We could hear the ocean, and had a great view of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Allow us to thank you so very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel and our staff, it is very much appreciated, and we are truly grateful. It is wonderful guests like you who make all our efforts worthwhile, and we hope that you will come back again soon cause it would truly be a pleasure and an honor to be of service to you again. Rest assured, we shall continue to make the necessary improvements to make the stay of all our valued guests like yourself a very pleasant and comfortable one. Our heartfelt best wishes to you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and Istayed one night(no two night minimum) and we loved it. We stayed in room 25 and the view was amazing! Everything was a shirt walk away. The bistro and restraunt were closed which was a major bummer but still worth it!! Great staff, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Please allow us to thank you and your fiance for staying with us, and for your wonderful comments about our hotel and our staff, it is very much appreciated and we are sincerely grateful. We look forward to having you with us again in the not so distant future cause it would be an honor and a pleasure to be of service to you. Our heartfelt best wishes to both of you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stay at the Casablanca Inn 3 or 4 times a year & always have great time. The rooms are old but I am told they are in the process of refurbishing them. Regardless, the location is the key here. It is directly across the street from the volleyball court next to the boardwalk. We are people watchers & you get tons of traffic there. The price they charge is too much for what you get in the way of a room but the location makes up for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Allow us to thank you for your evaluation of our property, and for your continued patronage, it is very much appreciated, and we are sincerely grateful. Rest assured, we shall continue to make the necessary improvements to better serve all our valued guests like yourself. We look forward to having you here with us again some time in the not so distant future. Our heartfelt best wishes to you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

First let me say Casablanca Inn is an historic landmark so it is old. The new owners are redoing the rooms and they are very nice. We stayed there last year for a whole month for the first time and we loved it. We went back there this year and it was just as welcoming as the year before. The staff from the front desk to the housekeepers were very friendly, courteous and made us feel like it was our home away from home. We are truly looking forward to spending another month there this year. Thank you so much for the hospitality that you showed my husband and I, because of you our stay was a pleasant and relaxing time.

Room Tip: I had the pleasure of checking out quite a few rooms and all were very different. We chose the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Allow us to thank you for the truly wonderful comments that you made about our hotel and our staff, it is very much appreciated and we are sincerely grateful. This truly means a lot to us especially because of all the efforts and the improvements that we have been making to ensure that the stay of all our valued guests is a pleasant and comfortable one. We do look forward to having you with us again soon so we can make your next stay an even better one. To you and your family, our heartfelt and sincerest best wishes for a truly BLESSED CHRISTMAS, and a PEACEFUL NEW YEAR...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed two nights in room 19, Cerf mansion queen, upstairs. I felt it was overpriced at almost $200 per night in November and not even a king sized bed. They had a real nice continental breakfast layout, though it could get crowded and is all carry-out. This location is right across from the pier, but so many steps - Oy! This is an old building with squeaky stairs. There were coffee makers in the room, but you had to use bathroom sink water which tasted like it came from a hose and your coffee was ruined. Advice - go downstairs and get a good cup of java. The staff was friendly and accessible. The bed and bedding were deluxe and that's what I love, so no complaints there. The room was well appointed and tastefully decorated with a nice wide flat-screen tv and great ocean views. It could get a bit noisy with all those people funning in the sun, but I've heard worse. Our room had a small fridge and freezer, so we could bring home leftovers or ice cream from the shop a block away and save it for later. Or even bring our own food, but we didn't see a market in walking distance. The ice machine was out in the parking lot and you had to PAY FOR ICE! I find this criminal, to use a strong word. I had no change i my pockets, so went without - tragic on a hot afternoon. Plus, a glass of wine cost $9! I get my wine at Costco and just can't afford that class of wine. I wish I could give a better rating, but there are many hotels in that same area that are far less expensive. I felt this place charged too much for what you got.

Room Tip: they have rooms in other sections...I believe with private as opposed to shared decks. of course, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Please allow us to say "Thank you" for staying with us and allowing our staff to be of service to you. We do take your comments very seriously so rest assured we shall give it our immediate attention. Unfortunately with regards to the steps, the building was built close to a hundred years old and it used to be a private mansion, so it has become a historical landmark in the city so we have decided to try to preserve its old structure and grandeur from the way it was, including the steps everywhere. We are a bit saddened that you were not informed that the tokens for the ice machine can be picked up from the Front desk. We would never allow our valued guests to pay for ice while staying with us. With regards to the rate, ours is actually one of the lowest when it comes to beach front properties. We do hope you will come back again soon so we can make your next stay with us a better one. Our sincerest best wishes to you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Wow
The place is under new ownership and boy does it show! The bistro downstairs is a quaint place to sit out on the patio soak up the sun and beach scene while enjoying a drink and one or two mouth watering items on the menu. Dinner upstairs in the restaurant is out of this world! Great steaks, salads and seafood await to please! Everything cooked perfectly with a view of the ocean that is just incredible. Stay here and let the hotel staff pamper you with a beautiful room with a view and coffee and pastries and fruit in the morning. What a treat! The price is less than one would think for a beach front experience that hits on point in every category! We will be back soon!
Keith & Lisa Anderson

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Please allow us to thank you for your wonderful and heartwarming comments about our Hotel and Bistro. It is very much appreciated and we are sincerely grateful. It truly is wonderful guests like you who make our existence in this industry truly worthwhile. We look forward to having you with us again some time in the not so distant future so we can make your next stay an even better one. Our best wishes to you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Address: 101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casablanca Inn on the Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical Casablanca Inn is strategically located across the street from the Santa Cruz beach, a block away from the wharf and the boardwalk. All our rooms are beautifully decorated and have a breathtaking view of the beach. Some of our rooms have a unique design which reflects the distinct character of the historic Cerf Mansion. Over the years, the Casablanca Inn has been fortunate enough to cater to some of the most influential and famous personalities of our time, which has immensely appreciated the elegance that our hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Casablanca Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn And Bistro
Casablanca Inn & Bistro Hotel Santa Cruz
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.