We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star bedding, but oh those stairs!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Casablanca Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Los Osos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“5-star bedding, but oh those stairs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed two nights in room 19, Cerf mansion queen, upstairs. I felt it was overpriced at almost $200 per night in November and not even a king sized bed. They had a real nice continental breakfast layout, though it could get crowded and is all carry-out. This location is right across from the pier, but so many steps - Oy! This is an old building with squeaky stairs. There were coffee makers in the room, but you had to use bathroom sink water which tasted like it came from a hose and your coffee was ruined. Advice - go downstairs and get a good cup of java. The staff was friendly and accessible. The bed and bedding were deluxe and that's what I love, so no complaints there. The room was well appointed and tastefully decorated with a nice wide flat-screen tv and great ocean views. It could get a bit noisy with all those people funning in the sun, but I've heard worse. Our room had a small fridge and freezer, so we could bring home leftovers or ice cream from the shop a block away and save it for later. Or even bring our own food, but we didn't see a market in walking distance. The ice machine was out in the parking lot and you had to PAY FOR ICE! I find this criminal, to use a strong word. I had no change i my pockets, so went without - tragic on a hot afternoon. Plus, a glass of wine cost $9! I get my wine at Costco and just can't afford that class of wine. I wish I could give a better rating, but there are many hotels in that same area that are far less expensive. I felt this place charged too much for what you got.

Room Tip: they have rooms in other sections...I believe with private as opposed to shared decks. of course, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Please allow us to say "Thank you" for staying with us and allowing our staff to be of service to you. We do take your comments very seriously so rest assured we shall give it our immediate attention. Unfortunately with regards to the steps, the building was built close to a hundred years old and it used to be a private mansion, so it has become a historical landmark in the city so we have decided to try to preserve its old structure and grandeur from the way it was, including the steps everywhere. We are a bit saddened that you were not informed that the tokens for the ice machine can be picked up from the Front desk. We would never allow our valued guests to pay for ice while staying with us. With regards to the rate, ours is actually one of the lowest when it comes to beach front properties. We do hope you will come back again soon so we can make your next stay with us a better one. Our sincerest best wishes to you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    56
    24
    22
    27
See reviews for
68
65
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Wow
The place is under new ownership and boy does it show! The bistro downstairs is a quaint place to sit out on the patio soak up the sun and beach scene while enjoying a drink and one or two mouth watering items on the menu. Dinner upstairs in the restaurant is out of this world! Great steaks, salads and seafood await to please! Everything cooked perfectly with a view of the ocean that is just incredible. Stay here and let the hotel staff pamper you with a beautiful room with a view and coffee and pastries and fruit in the morning. What a treat! The price is less than one would think for a beach front experience that hits on point in every category! We will be back soon!
Keith & Lisa Anderson

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Please allow us to thank you for your wonderful and heartwarming comments about our Hotel and Bistro. It is very much appreciated and we are sincerely grateful. It truly is wonderful guests like you who make our existence in this industry truly worthwhile. We look forward to having you with us again some time in the not so distant future so we can make your next stay an even better one. Our best wishes to you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, Califonria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Surprised by not having a two night minimum and a room (B Bunglow Beach Street) available with just a four night notice was a pleasant surprise. The Beach Street Inn located right next door had four rooms available but with a 2 night minimum and @ $500. per night for a suite - a little pricey for what we were looking for. Some of the previous comments about the condition of the rooms must come from people that are not familiar with the true Santa Cruz, but take a look at my pictures and I'll show you some were referring to and what really should be fixed. To start with a quick power wash of the exterior walkways would have been nice. The entrance type outdoor hallway to the Beach Street Bungalows was pretty dark and shabby - it could have had a nice mural painting done by some street artists or something - perhaps cover the outdoor walls with ivy. Overall the stay was fine, some tears in the window screens, very dated bathroom, in the kitchen area the doors were backwards on the fridge so you had to close the door from the bedroom to open the fridge - but no mold. The mattress was saggy and yes, the bed was bolted to the wall so it would not bang back and forth if you decided to have fun in the bed. The furniture was a little large for the room - however a great view, located just two blocks from the Beach Boardwalk. The outdoor patio was fine but the table and chairs were too large and took up too much room. I would have preferred some kind of small partition wall separating the rooms on the balcony rather than have planters - it would have shown at least a little bit of privacy. Ice - do you need ice? Well bring plenty of quarters with you as next to the vending machines located out doors where the parking area is you will find the ice machine that works on quarters. I've never seen this before, normally you might have to use your room key if security was an issue but pay ice?.... Overall we did enjoy the stay, though we normally stay at the Dream Inn offering more modern rooms - but they also have a two night minimum so here we were and had a good time. We did not expect the Hilton or Four Seasons so what we got did not surprise us. The somewhat attached restaurant had a separate bar downstairs that served lunch - it was a Santa Cruz type bar and had good food with a balcony if you wanted to eat outside with great views of the ocean and beach. Will we be back? Sure if we can't get in the Dream Inn. We paid $275.00 plus taxes for one Saturday night, two adults. Almost forgot - our next door neighbors were smoking so I guess they have smoking rooms available...not for us.

Room Tip: The Bungalows on Beach street have are closest to the water and beach - only 5 or 6 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Allow us to thank you for staying with us, and for your absolutely helpful comments on how we can better improve on our facilities, it is very much appreciated and we are very grateful. It is definitely our wish to make the stay of all our valued guests, like yourself, a truly pleasant and wonderful one, and we are glad that somehow we were able to accomplish that with you although there are still a lot of room for improvement. Rest assured we take all your comments very seriously and you can be sure that we shall start working on the issues that you mentioned. We do hope that you will come back again soon so we can make your next stay with us a much better one. Our heartfelt best wishes to you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was a little more expensive than other hotels, but well worth it for the convenience to the beach. We stayed in room 14. We loved our location, balcony, and view. It was up a bit so that helped eliminate some of the outside noise. The office staff was very friendly and even remembered my first name. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Allow us to thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel and our staff, it is very much appreciated and we are truly grateful. It is wonderful guests like you who truly make our existence worthwhile despite the challenges of the time. We look forward to seeing you again soon so we can make your next stay with us an even better one. Our heartfelt best wishes to you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have stayed here 5 times now. I need a good bed, want to hear the surf at night, and want a clean room and hot water. Pretty simple. Some rooms are adorned nicely others just basic. I come here for the location not a fancy room.
Room 18 has a comfortable bed, great view, and situated to not get much other noise. (except one night I could hear the reservation people running their microwave, which was solved by closing the bathroom door)
Room 19 has a comfortable bed, great view, and is situated to not get much other noise.
I have not stayed in 20, but would expect its like 19.
Room 23 has a bed that left me tossing all night, sore and tired in the morning. The location is next to the restaurant, so you hear the fan over the surf until they shut down around 10pm. There is a bright light outside the room to light the stairs. The attendant was attenentive enough to unscrew it when he figured out it couldn't be turned off. The door on this room is glass and the shade is private but doesn't do a good job of blocking light. A lot of hotel foot traffic goes by this room's windows.
Room 24 next door likely has similar issues.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Allow us to thank you for finding the time to give us your evaluations of some of our room, it is very much appreciated, and rest assured we shall take your comments very seriously to better improve on our facilities. It is always our wish and desire to make the stay of all our guests a truly pleasant and wonderful one, so your very constructive comments will help us going forward. We do hope you will come back again soon so we can make your next stay with us a much better one. Our heartfelt best wishes to you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I booked this hotel on Hotwire and chose a 3.5 star hotel. This place is NOT 3.5 stars. 2 tops! Registration was not very good, and the employee did not do a great job explaining where our room was. We had our bikes with us and it was very awkward transporting them up and down the steps. The room was small---and had a double bed which seems pretty small for two adults. There were cracks in the walls, a chunk of tile was missing from the bathroom sink. NO AIR CONDITIONING so we had to keep our windows open. This was not ideal because from 3pm -9pm there were workers right outside our room replacing a railing and the machines they used were noisy, not to mention filling up our rooms with fumes.We cancelled our second night. I did not want to try for a "better" room since we had our bikes with us and moving things around would have been a pain. Also, we had to sleep with the windows open because of the lack of AC so we didn't get a good nights sleep because of the people outside of our room and the howling of the sea lions. I did a triathlon the next day in Santa Cruz which was a little challenging on two hours of sleep. We cancelled the second night because the amount of money we were charged was ridiculous given the state of the room, and I wanted to chill out after my race and this room would not have been fun. Oh, and the curtains smelled as well. Again, NOT 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Allow us to apologize to you for whatever inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us due to the installation of the railings which the county of Santa Cruz mandated us to do. We are truly saddened that this coincided with your stay with us especially because it is always our wish to make the stay of all our guests a truly pleasant one. We do want to make you aware that when you book with Hotwire ( which provides the least expensive hotel accomodation ) you are only guaranteed with a regular room which is normally the smallest one that we have in the hotel, since most of our units our suites, but you could have upgraded if the room that you got was not to your liking. Considering that we are directly across the Santa Cruz Beach, not all our rooms have airconditioning in them. We can only hope that some time in the not so distant future you will give us a chance to make your next stay with us a much better. Our sincerest best wishes to you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Average rooms, which in my opinion are not worth the money. We were supposed to have a beach view in one of the bungalows, technically we could see the beach but it certainly was not facing the beach and was up a side street. This was quite disappointed.

Overall I did not love Santa Cruz and thought it was quite a tired beach resort with not much to do when compared with the rest of the West Coast. We originally wanted to stay in Monterey but as we were only passing through they have a 2 night min over the weekend so we chose to stay here instead.

The staff were very helpful and Adam, the bar man, was fantastic - one of the best I have come across.

I did think that the hotel was expensive for what it offered but then I would never go back there and would suggest trying another location for a better overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco A, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Allow us to thank for staying with us although we are a bit saddened that we were unable to make your stay a wonderful one. We are a bit surprised that you found our rate to be high because we actually have the most competitive rate in the area compared to the other beachfront properties, and had this been beyond your budget then you could have found a hotel in the backside with a more modest rate. Contrary to your own personal opinion, Santa Cruz is a very popular destination for tourist who truly appreciate the historical value of this area, and appreciate the serene and slow pace nature of this place. Rest assured, we shall continue to have our valued followers and guests always, and may you find the place that will better suit your taste and budget. Our best wishes to you always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Beach

Address: 101 Main Street, corner of Beach and Main, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly The Casablanca Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casablanca Inn on the Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical Casablanca Inn is strategically located across the street from the Santa Cruz beach, a block away from the wharf and the boardwalk. All our rooms are beautifully decorated and have a breathtaking view of the beach. Some of our rooms have a unique design which reflects the distinct character of the historic Cerf Mansion. Over the years, the Casablanca Inn has been fortunate enough to cater to some of the most influential and famous personalities of our time, which has immensely appreciated the elegance that our hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casablanca Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn And Bistro
Casablanca Inn & Bistro Hotel Santa Cruz
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.