We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steamed mussels and gelato” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riva Fish House

Riva Fish House
Santa Cruz Warf, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
+1 831-429-1223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 328 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: What started as a fish market has ended up an amazing dish restaurant and bar. At Riva Fish House, we offer a view with flavor. Dine at our seaside haven on the Municipal Wharf in Santa Cruz today! When we gave up the fish market for the restaurant, our objective was to turn out the best possible meal at a cost working people with a family could afford. That didn't mean something they could handle but under stress. It meant, and still means, a really good meal and beverages at a really comfortable price. Our loyal and friendly staff now serves some of the best, award-winning seafood around. Voted Santa Cruz's Best Seafood Restaurant, we offer something for everyone. Try our chowder, fish tacos, zucchini fries, or a killer crab sandwich. Big hunks of juicy tasty crab, seasoned to perfection, served on sourdough bread hand-made and baked to Riva's exacting specifications, with cheese of your choice, grilled and hot for your body. It's probably good for your mind, too. Wash that down with a craft beer or handmade cocktail. Finish off your experience by trying some of our 12 flavors of delicious, creamy gelato that is sure to please. Stop by and dine with us soon. You'll walk in with a smile. You'll walk out with a grin.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best steamed mussels and gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

While much of Riva's food is only average, their steamed mussels appetizer is exceptional. Get a double order, followed by their delicious gelato for dessert, and you'll have a great meal!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    39
    24
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
RED BLUFF
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great place with specials and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Watched the games and enjoyed dinner. Other patrons were sociable along with the staff. Made sure we were watching what we wanted and my ice tea glass never was empty. Back for another meal. Came back on 4th with family, could not of been better. Please enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Farm raised or previously frozen. Why bother?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Agree with Kathleen H. review. Thank goodness asked questions after we sat down. We were told the salmon was fresh, but upon further inquiry it was determined to be farm raised. It's wild salmon season for crying out louds! The place seemed to be more of a fast food place than a fine restaurant. So we got up and walked further down to Stagnaro Brothers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Happy hour favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excellent views, great bartenders, the game is on, the drinks are stiff and Santa Cruz Mountain beer is on the tap. The food is very good, tastes fresh and the fried food is never greasy. The service is typically attentive and informed. The happy hour prices make it a top bargain if you are on a budget.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The chef was off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ate here on July 4th and I must say it was the worse food ever. Maybe the chef was having an off night? I ordered the prawns and fish in a lemon cilantro sauce. There were huge slices of bell pepper that were not even diced. I was lucky enough to get the entire bottom on the bell pepper. Also the cilantro looked like it was cooking all day. My husband ordered the steamers and it looked like it was cooked in dirty water. No butter or wine flavor. So dissaponted. We won't be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riva Fish House also viewed

 
Santa Cruz, CA
 

Been to Riva Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riva Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.