We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's French Bakery

Kelly's French Bakery
402 Ingalls St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5800
831-423-9059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 326 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: European, Dessert, French, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Kelly's is a Friday morning breakfast tradition in our house, where the kids start school 30 mins later. I think by now we've had everything on the menu and have loved it all. Smiling staff, warm croissants, excellent coffee… Cannot go wrong. Go early…it gets busy...

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Breakfast al fresco at Kelly's - a beautiful morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Kelly's French bakery has great tasting goodies. Had poached eggs on Francese bread, bacon & potatoes, along with coffee and pastries. It is crowded, so come early and wait in line. Eating outside is great, however I noticed that many patrons were bussing their own tables! When the waitress brought our food, she cleared our table but didn't wipe down, however apologized for not having a clean table. The person at cash register told us our coffee and pastries came with our food, but they didn't. We went back to get them and they had forgotten about them, so finally got what we ordered. The staff is friendly and efficient. The baked goods offered were over the top fantastic, so go hungry!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
“This place is outstanding !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Every single item on the menu is outstanding - and I think I tried them all. Fresh pastries, with a robust selection of traditional items (breakfast burritos, fresh soups, etc.). The service is excellent, despite the pace they have to keep up. Only downside is that, because it is so good, it gets busy !!! But there is always a good vibe in the place. Love it !!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ham and grilled cheese in the California sun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

While on vacation, our wives wanted to stop at a yarn shop, while there we decided to eat at Kelly's French Bakery. My wife and I each had the ham and gruyere grilled cheese sandwich. It was one of the best I have ever had. Very tasty. The service was prompt and since the day was very pleasant, we opted for the outdoor seating. It was one of the highlights of the day. Would love to eat there again.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummy bakery plus, plus...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I had a yummy salade nicoise with fresh seared Ahi that was scrumptious. My partner had a huge, incredible burger with fries. Unfortunately, we did not have room for the amazing looking baked sweets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's French Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Kelly's French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's French Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.