We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful outdoor seating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's French Bakery

Kelly's French Bakery
402 Ingalls St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5800
831-423-9059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 329 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: European, Dessert, French, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful outdoor seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We love going to Kelly's to have a meal with the family on their outdoor tables. They have a nice area surrounded by small shops, which make the place very kid friendly and relaxing. The food is excellent, with delicious pastries, sandwiches and breakfast dishes. This is a great place for breakfast/brunch, particularly on nice days. Recommended!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    39
    24
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stopped here and had lunch. The breaded chicken sandwich is absolutely delicious. Also had a chicken pastry that was out of this world. Pass on the garden salad. It wasn't as fresh as the other stuff. No gluten free options.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Morning pastry and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was not my first time at Kelly's. We've had delicious desserts and morning pastries that we brought home from here before. So I am not sure if I was having an off day or it was just what we ordered. We ordered coffee and a morning bun and an apple slipper. I thought the coffee was a little on the weak side and the apple slipper was just okay. My partner said the coffee was okay and the morning bun was okay. So it was an okay day for us, but I am giving them a higher rating because there pastries are usually really good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Food LOOKED good, but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went to Kelly's because of all the great reviews on Trip Advisor. Got there and a line was out the door. No problem. We can wait for great food. However, while standing in line we noticed it's really just like eating in a parking lot. No ambiance at all. Not that this is necessarily a bad thing if you're in a hurry, but we needed something more to look at other than a parking lot. So, I decided to buy the delicious looking macarons for dessert later. Service was rude. No "thank you", no "have a nice day". Nothing. Hardly an acknowledgement for my business. The macarons were very good. The closest thing I have found to the real thing in Paris. I will go back to get a dessert to bring to a dinner party, but I won't stay and eat there (the food being served looked pretty good). Not with an attitude. I can get bad attitude at work. I don't have to pay for it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

this nice small bakery is close to Natural Bridges beach. I had roasted eggplant sandwich (wheat bread, roasted bell pepper, cheese and herbs). Tasted great, very fresh. The place is relaxing and lovely.
After lunch got some desserts for the afternoon tea at home. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's French Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Kelly's French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's French Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.