We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, very close to Boardwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice place, very close to Boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in early August and found it to be quite nice and relatively decent value, considering the area, high season,and extreme close proximity to Boardwalk. The clerk called me about 4pm to ask when I would be arriving. Upon my arrival, he was very friendly and had actually reserved a parking spot for me, something that was unexpected and very much appreciated! The room itself was of course basic but very clean and nicely decorated for a 2-star hotel. The wi-fi worked great on all 3 of my devices. There were also 4 pillows on each bed (2 soft and 2 firm), which was a very nice surprise and something not found at even most 3 star hotels.

Probably the biggest benefit of this hotel is its close proximity to the Boardwalk. It is I believe the closest hotel, being just 1.5 short blocks to the main entrance. This was quite convenient as it allows pretty much anyone to walk there easily and save money and the hassle of parking in a lot or on the streets.

As to the complaints of people like the review below mine, you really need to do some comparisons before rating a place down for things like price, parking, etc. The fact is that there are NO cheap places in Santa Cruz in the summer, unless you are willing to stay in a "roach motel". Also, the closer you are the to the Boardwalk, of course you are going to pay a premium. Likewise, the parking situation is tight at all hotels in this area, so rating a place down for tight parking seems a bit ludicrous to me. Now yes, if you ignore all these mitigating factors, it can seem a bit crazy to pay $190 for a room in a 2-star hotel, but you cannot logically ignore these factors since they are what drives price in this industry. I did extensive research on hotels in this area and this was one of the least expensive ones with decent reviews.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    81
    28
    12
    16
See reviews for
71
69
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Paid an arm and a leg, but chose to stay here because of the many positive reviews and its close proximity to the boardwalk. It was ok, but I expected more for what I paid. It's a standard motel that's not awful but not great either.

The parking lot is cramped and tiny, and you'll have to valet your keys if you arrive when the lot is full. If you arrive after hours, then you'll have to park in the street. The "pool" is super tiny, and they should just clear it and create a few more parking spaces.

It's a sufficient motel but not worth the 4/5 rating and definitely not worth the price. Sorry TripAdvisor you were off the mark on this one.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is the second we stayed here in the past six months. We reserved two rooms and got them side by side, which was great. This hotel is straight up the street from the boardwalk about 1.5 blocks. The staff is extremely courteous, check-in is easy, adequate parking and the complimentary breakfast of waffles, eggs, sausage and assorted fruits and pastries worked great for us. Rooms aren't 5 star, but this isn't the Ritz Carlton, either. It may seem a little pricey, but look at the location and high season. We'll stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem similar. We stayed on the second floor the first time and the ground floor the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
264 hotel reviews
Reviews in 250 cities Reviews in 250 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for night on our trip around the bay area and liked it. The gentleman behind the counter was friendly when we walked in and our room was fine. Good large bed and it was clean. Breakfast was included, it was pretty much the standard fare.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The staff at the Comfort Inn are very rude, and lazy. In the room my kids were staying in the heater was putting out a horrible smell. I called the office and told them about it and they told me it was normal. I then asked for an extra blankets for my kids and got an attitude from them. I did not understand why getting an extra blanket would cause so much trouble. I am home now and when I went to check my bank account I noticed the hotel charged me an additional $30. So far every time I try to find out why I have this charge I get put on hold, and no one comes to the phone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince926, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. If you turn on heater in summer it always smells for few minutes because it has not been used in summer for a long time. That's why we said it's normal and another thing about balnkets, as per your request we had provided two balnkets and if you wanted more you should have asked us and we would have gladly provided more.

Extra $30.00 charge was for the dirty stains on towels which you had used for cleaning spilled coffee.You should not use clean towels to wipe your mess, if you would have asked for rags we would've provided it to you.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

kirti patel
Manager
Comfort Inn
831-471-9999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This place was walking distance to beach and boardwalk. Rooms are small, but clean. Place is older, but well kept. Pool is small, but clean. Good value for this place. Breakfast was coffee and Danish. Staff was all very friendly, evening when we arrived and morning to check out. I would stay again here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I took my two boys on a surprise trip to Santa Cruz. I am a avid researcher when it comes to where to stay. The reviews plus price/location added up for me (and Excel) for this Comfort Inn.

When we arrived I could not figure out where to park. There was simply no place. The owner came out and showed me where I could (illegally) park. Um. OK.

The room was reserved and the lobby was very clean. The staff was helpful and kind. We got to the room and it was standard, newly remodeled. Granite counter tops, tiled bathroom, flat screen TV. Very comfortable beds. Both firm and soft pillows. Very clean. No dresser though, just a laminate bookcase. Good closet space.

The boardwalk is 2 blocks away. There are two convience stores along the way that sell everything.

We slept very well that night, the curtains were not quite dark enough, there are blackout shades, but they let in light. So I used one of the pants hangers to clip the half thick drapes shut. It was very dark after that. We all slept so well.

Breakfast was mediocre. Good fresh fruit. Good typical waffles (also blueberry offered), toast, coffee (only half and half offered). The eggs were á la Egg McMuffin. Circular with yolk intact inside. Ugh. The sausage was slimy and inedible. Juice was OK, cereal was not stale and good yogurt selection.

Water pressure was phenomenonal, shallow tub, unusable for an adult soak. Their shampoo was like water. Bring your own. Towels were huge, fluffy and adequate.

Checking out was a snap. Staff was very friendly throughout and asked me to review here. Would stay here again for sure. I actually drove around and checked out the other motels that were similarly priced and ugh, I would be weary of them. Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Address: 314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area Hotel Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.