We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Room and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I travelled to Santa Cruz in early October and stayed at this hotel for 1 night. We enjoyed our stay there! It's a cute little hotel, very close to the Boardwalk and beach and within 15 mins walking distance to the downtown area. The rooms were well furnished and looked newly finished. The owner was a very nice gentleman who went out of his way to make us feel at home. When we asked for directions and suggestions on places to eat, he was very helpful. We told him we were going to walk to downtown for dinner, so he even offered us to call him if we got lost or needed a ride back to the hotel - he said he would pick us up! The only thing negative thing I can say about this place is that the breakfast area is small. Otherwise, great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    83
    29
    12
    16
See reviews for
72
71
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A few short blocks from beach and pier, an easy walk. Fast, free, Wi-Fi.
The motel shows signs of wear: latch on door was almost falling off, carpets stained, sheets threadbare.
Breakfast was not so good: Frozen egg white circles that had been warmed up. They only have Activa yogurt, which many people would not want to eat because it can be a laxative. A small breakfast area with only 4 tables that might all be occupied during the busy season.
The rooms have a refrigerator and microwave.
This would be a good place to stay for a family going to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince926, Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello Sir,

Thank you for your time to write a feedback for your stay with us. Your comments help us constantly improve our services and facilitate our guests with good services.

Thanks & Sincerely,
Kirti Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We had no complaints with this Motel, close to the Boardwalk and a short walk to the shops, the room was a good size, clean and tidy, the breakfast was standard, pastries, waffles, cereals etc, no complaints for our 2 night stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stopped here for 1 night while touring California.
Fairly cheap typical 2 storey motel with the big advantage that it is located close to the boardwalk including the famous wooden rollercoaster (sadly this was closed the night we stayed) beaches and the wharf.
Nothing to complain about - clean (although the carpet was a bit grimy), good bathroom, fridge, microwave, air con, flat screen TV with HBO.
Free breakfast which was usual US fare - muffins, cereals, bread, etc. in a small dining room.
Limited but free parking.
Nothing particularly praiseworthy or special to commend it but, for this price, I'd stay again for a stopover.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Decent place for the money, we stayed in the room after a long day on the boardwalk. Rooms are small and the beds moderately comfortable. I stay in a lot of hotels for business, this was pretty good, and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights the week of Sep. 9th.....check in and out was easy - Artie was very helpful and allowed us to use her computer for a quick change to my car rental. (Thank you) Room on top floor - back corner - two queen beds was very quiet as requested and clean. Would definitely recommend staying here to everyone. THANK YOU again Artie - my wife and I enjoyed our stay in Santa Cruz.....

Room Tip: Top floor - back corner two queen room was very quiet & clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

2blocks away from beach and a price you can't beat. Easy Walk to Board walk and to the Wharf. The room is very well maintained and exceptionally clean. Small pool with chairs to relax at end of day.definitely recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Address: 314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area Hotel Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.