We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is GREAT!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Location is GREAT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Considering that we had stayed at the Embassy Suites Santa Clara the night before, this was a bit of a letdown. Having said that, the proximity to the Boardwalk is two blocks. For the price, you can't beat this property when factoring the $12 for parking that you're saving. Also this is close enough that you can spend the early afternoon there; come back to room for a rest; then go back to close the Boardwalk down. Parking was tight and the pool is rather small. But room was clean and mostly quiet. Great service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    62
    22
    11
    14
See reviews for
56
54
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

First off... This place has a TINY parking lot which can be difficult to get in/out of, IF there's room for your car at all. Room: Basically OK, but we found hairs in the bathroom, which is disturbing. Breakfast: OK, but almost no room to eat. Honestly, only about four tables, really tight.

Management put an extra 10% on my credit card at check-in without warning me that it was for "incidentals". I made sure it was removed at checkout. You watch that too. Walking distance to the boardwalk. Neighborhood seemed OK, pretty typical for a beach town. Pool here? Like a large bathtub, so don't expect much. This -is- a Patel property, but not typical of one.

All in all, if you get a good rate, and you're not too picky, AND you have a small vehicle AND you arrive early enough to get a parking space, you might be OK. Second floor is via stairs, so you'll be putting the "lug" in luggage.

Beware reviews that sound too good from one review wonders. Would I stay here again? Probably, but only if the rate was low.

Room Tip: I'd stay away from the stairs, or the noise of the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was looking for a nice affordable place near the Boardwalk, walking distance, and with so many options I lucked up. The room I stayed in was small but cozy, it was very clean and I felt very safe since I'm a female traveling alone. This was perfect for a 'me time' get away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuiabã
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived in the middle of the night and were well received. Stafff is polite and breakfast is tiddy and na upgrade from the traditional continental breakfasts, the waelmaker and creal is what wes the diference. Location is awesomely near to the beach and Borardwalk, makes for a nice Picture. I took a White water kayak and went out in the see, as the sea lions and otters, preatty neat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a very good stay at the Comfort Inn (near beach boardwalk). Hotel is walking distance from the Sta Cruz boardwalk, and the room was clean. This is our second time and the service is always excellent, very friendly people.. Ken and Ebi. We have to check out the next day and asked for a permission to live our car in their parking lot so we can still go back to the amusement park and stay 3 more hours. They let us park even though this is the memorial day holiday and the hotel is full. It was nice of them to let our car stay and park. Thank you! and this is a very good place to stay and enjoy the Sta Cruz beach boardwalk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The service and friendliness of the manager and staff was awesome. The hotel was extremely clean. I was impressed by the manager Ken, who went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. I will return to this hotel in future!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very small motel. Very small parking area. Requested a non-smoking room, which we did get, next to the outside ashtray. SO smokers, smoke came in, especially everytime we opened our door. Smallest pool I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Away from outside ashtrays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Address: 314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area Hotel Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.