We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and close to the beach, but has its issues.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean and close to the beach, but has its issues.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This Comfort Inn had a spacious room, a continental breakfast, and is steps from the boardwalk. I would say my stay here was tainted because there wasn't much hot water. After a couple of barely-luke-warm-turned-cold showers, I was ready to be out of there. The area, though close to the beach and boardwalk, is a little bit "urban" and definitely is not in the nice part of town. It's next to a lot of run down homes and convenient stores. The downtown area is still pretty close to the beach and is much cleaner and nicer--I would stay there if I did it again. I would still say there was great value in this hotel for the price, however.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    65
    25
    12
    15
See reviews for
60
54
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were there on the 14th and 15th of November, 2012. We had a pleasant stay. The rooms are a litle small but clean and comfortable. We slept very well. There is traffic noise from the busy street but it slows down as it gets later in the evening. The breakfast was good. The staff is very friendly. The location is great since it is only 2 blocks and an easy walk to the boardwalk. There is a market across the street which is very convenient. I would recommend this motel as a good one!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for Thanksgiving and the weekend. It's in a great location 2 blocks from the beach and boardwalk. The rooms seem to be recently updated with granite counter tips in the bathroom and tile floors. The room was small, but with 2 adults and 2 kids (one in a pack and play) that's to be expected. The room had flat screen TVs mounted to the wall which saved some space.
The breakfast was good and included sausage, eggs, waffles, breads, pastries, fruit, coffee, juice, milk, cereal, etc.
There were only 2 or 3 things that other people mentioned in other reviews that I experienced and will also repeat.
The bathroom fan is pretty loud and maybe they could replace them with a quieter version. There is limited parking as it's a small property. While there is free parking in the street at night, it might be best to stake out your spot earlier in the day and keep it for the night. Also one morning I think we woke up before The manager and the breakfast/reception was still locked and closed at 7 am when the breakfast was supposed to start. However, after a quick wake up call to the office phone, someone ran down and started the breakfast. To be fair, it was the morning after thanksgiving, and I had a little bit of a tryptophan hangover myself.
Overall, it was a great stay in a great location and I would stay again should we return. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

It's walking distance to the beach boardwalk. The bed sheets and pillows were clean. The bed was comfortable. Stayed one night.

The bathroom fan was very loud. Street traffic is loud. Guests talking in the parking lot were loud. The water was hot. The tiny coffeemaker worked okay.

Morning breakfast selections were average and good as expected.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Try not to get a room by the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking your time and writing this review.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is located walking distance to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk; therefore, the traffic is expected during our peak seasons/weekends. We apology your stay was a noisy, however we do try our best to control noise levels after 10pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived around mid day and was found a room straight away. Able to park our car, unpack and look around. The boardwalk was a disappointment everything closed up now the season has finished.

Our room was very good, located on the second floor, and just a couple of flights of stairs. There was a minor problem with the shower and the front desk agreed to fix immediately.

Breakfast was enjoyable with plenty of choice .

Recommend visitors take time to walk around the downtown shopping area.

Room Tip: We found 2nd floor ideal for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you Roger for your review and bringing up crucial points for our future guests to consider!

We would like to apologize that the Boardwalk and near by activities were close. The Boardwalk does run seasonally, so we would suggest to all our readers/guests to take a look at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk website for more details and hours before booking reservations. Thank you for also for pointing out that our staff is immediately able to help when there is a problem with your room, in this case it was the shower head.

Note: There are many other attractions right in Santa Cruz our guests can enjoy: Santa Cruz Wharf, Downtown Santa Cruz, Mystery Spot, Roaring Camp Railroads, and many wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountains, to mention just a few. Our staff will be able to provide details and more information about these attractions and many more. Don't hesitate to ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days in September. The manager Ken is the greatest. Anything that you need, he will take care of you. I booked through travelocity and had zero problems. The rooms here were clean and comfortable. This place is a block and a half from the boardwalk. Close enough to make it an easy walk, but not too close to deal with the noise. There are ongoing renovations being done on the property a little at a time so as not to create a construction site. It was obvious that the manager was on top of everything and lives on the property. This is very important. Read some of the reviews for other places. The continental breakfast was good. Eggs, sausage, good waffles, yogurt ,fruit, danish toast and of course coffee. I read a lot of reviews from many sites before finding this place. There were a bunch of places that I wouldn't even consider, and some that had review after review of the problems people had. There are higher end places for three to four times as much, but if your looking for a clean comfortable room in a good location at a great price, this is it. I would definitely recommend staying at this place, and will book here again if I return to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
First and foremost, Thank you Chris for your wonderful review!
We strive our best to accommodate our guests and make sure your stay is easy, comfortable and enjoyable! We are glad you were able to experience our genuine hospitality! We look forward to seeing you soon!
-Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were there on Saturday 09/22/12.
Barth at the front desk was very polite and very helpful.
We arrived early and Barth let us park in the lot well before check-in. The room was clean, everything worked, no issues at all. Plenty of Hot Water. Really close to the Boardwalk.
Had breakfast the next morning, everything was fresh and hot.
We enjoyed our visit and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review! We look forwards to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Address: 314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area Hotel Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.