We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
San Leandro, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Location for Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

It's walking distance to the beach boardwalk. The bed sheets and pillows were clean. The bed was comfortable. Stayed one night.

The bathroom fan was very loud. Street traffic is loud. Guests talking in the parking lot were loud. The water was hot. The tiny coffeemaker worked okay.

Morning breakfast selections were average and good as expected.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Try not to get a room by the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking your time and writing this review.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is located walking distance to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk; therefore, the traffic is expected during our peak seasons/weekends. We apology your stay was a noisy, however we do try our best to control noise levels after 10pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    65
    24
    12
    15
See reviews for
59
54
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived around mid day and was found a room straight away. Able to park our car, unpack and look around. The boardwalk was a disappointment everything closed up now the season has finished.

Our room was very good, located on the second floor, and just a couple of flights of stairs. There was a minor problem with the shower and the front desk agreed to fix immediately.

Breakfast was enjoyable with plenty of choice .

Recommend visitors take time to walk around the downtown shopping area.

Room Tip: We found 2nd floor ideal for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you Roger for your review and bringing up crucial points for our future guests to consider!

We would like to apologize that the Boardwalk and near by activities were close. The Boardwalk does run seasonally, so we would suggest to all our readers/guests to take a look at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk website for more details and hours before booking reservations. Thank you for also for pointing out that our staff is immediately able to help when there is a problem with your room, in this case it was the shower head.

Note: There are many other attractions right in Santa Cruz our guests can enjoy: Santa Cruz Wharf, Downtown Santa Cruz, Mystery Spot, Roaring Camp Railroads, and many wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountains, to mention just a few. Our staff will be able to provide details and more information about these attractions and many more. Don't hesitate to ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days in September. The manager Ken is the greatest. Anything that you need, he will take care of you. I booked through travelocity and had zero problems. The rooms here were clean and comfortable. This place is a block and a half from the boardwalk. Close enough to make it an easy walk, but not too close to deal with the noise. There are ongoing renovations being done on the property a little at a time so as not to create a construction site. It was obvious that the manager was on top of everything and lives on the property. This is very important. Read some of the reviews for other places. The continental breakfast was good. Eggs, sausage, good waffles, yogurt ,fruit, danish toast and of course coffee. I read a lot of reviews from many sites before finding this place. There were a bunch of places that I wouldn't even consider, and some that had review after review of the problems people had. There are higher end places for three to four times as much, but if your looking for a clean comfortable room in a good location at a great price, this is it. I would definitely recommend staying at this place, and will book here again if I return to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
First and foremost, Thank you Chris for your wonderful review!
We strive our best to accommodate our guests and make sure your stay is easy, comfortable and enjoyable! We are glad you were able to experience our genuine hospitality! We look forward to seeing you soon!
-Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were there on Saturday 09/22/12.
Barth at the front desk was very polite and very helpful.
We arrived early and Barth let us park in the lot well before check-in. The room was clean, everything worked, no issues at all. Plenty of Hot Water. Really close to the Boardwalk.
Had breakfast the next morning, everything was fresh and hot.
We enjoyed our visit and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review! We look forwards to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for my daughter's cheer competition at the Boardwalk and we loved everything about the hotel, location is great, rooms are excelent, staff is very curteous, breakfast was good, my only thing would be the parking its a small hotel in a busy street so if you find a stall you take it until you leave or you will not be able to park your car near the hotel. I will definently would stay and recomend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirti P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Inn. Thank you for your kind review. I'm sincerely sorry about the inconvenience of our parking, unfortunately the parking limitations is out of our control.

Attention readers: Our property is fairly small and has limited about of parking spots; however, our manager will try his best to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed at this property several times and I have always found it to be a great place at a great price! The property managers are really hands-on people and care about their guests. I have already made my reservations to return there in February and look forward to it! The motel rooms are clean and the managers are very receptive to any requests that we have had. LOVE THIS PLACE!!

Room Tip: Every room I have had (and I have stayed here 4 times now) have been great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I somehow looked at the other reviews and thought this would be a good place for us to enjoy a romantic getaway...well..it wasn't. The staff person who checked us in was fine, but the parking lot is nuts (double park, leave a key) and the room layout is kind of odd. Our neighbors were loud and the walls were somewhat thin. The pool is tiny in the middle of the parking lot with no privacy! But the room was clean, the bed comfy, the location was very good. We didn't get to see or stay for the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Address: 314 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area Hotel Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.