We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Cruz????” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Santa Cruz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Plymouth Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Santa Cruz????”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Having had a great night at the Comfort Inn in Lone Pine we were pleased we found another in Santa Cruz, on our way from Tomales to Carmel. We chose Santa Cruz as an obvious 'halfway house'. Hotel was fine, very efficient check-in staff, clean rooms although confused as to why the prices here were $100 more per night than in Lone Pine? So, great hotel but, the Comfort Inn is the high point of Santa Cruz. It is an awful place. In the last couple of years I have spent time in Beirut and Tehran. I felt safer and more comfortble in both of those cities, than in Santa Cruz. Avoid if you can.

Room Tip: Don't go to Santa Cruz!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    28
    16
    30
See reviews for
45
49
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Motel with exterior entrances to each room. Robyn and all staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was nice and appeared clean. Felt safe. Road is easy access to 17 and 1, which was handy.

AC was very efficient. Water was scalding hot. Faucets weren't installed correctly so turned off in several directions. This also meant easy to get scalded if not aware of water temp. Guest laundry was nice to have. Pool was small and heated. Hot tub out of order during our stay.

There was a smell of urine that appeared if the AC wasn't on.

Nice to have free breakfast with blueberry waffles, biscuits and gravy, bagels, cream cheese, oatmeal, cold cereal, rolls, string cheese, great coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have grown up going to Santa Cruz. We always stay within walking distance in the little rundown hotels. We have too many children ourselves to do that now and couldn't afford a run down expensive hotel, so this time we chose one just about 3 min. driving time, but too far to walk. We chose the Comfort Inn just south of the highway entrance. It is hard to find and we drove right by without seeing it as it is almost attached to the Best Western north of it and it is on a side road that is only divided from the main street by a little island. Anyway, once you figure out where it is, you can just do a little u turn and go right to it. Parking is good. It has a wonderful pool/Jacuzzi area that the kids jumped right in to. The room doors all lead to the outdoors. The rooms are small, but actually have a little area that gets bigger where the tv/entertainment center is. The beds are very comfortable but it goes from hot and cold in the rooms very easily. We did have some issues in the room and they were forgotten about by staff, but not intentionally. The breakfast was very good, but the seating area is very small for the amount of people there and some had to stand and watch tv. There is a little laundry area that is great since we were at the beach all day. It is quite a cute little hotel, snuggled off to the side of the main road. We did have to pay $12 for parking at the boardwalk, but the great price of the hotel and niceness of it made it very worth it.

Room Tip: Beware of Friday trash days. The trash is picked up around 5:30 AM and is so loud my husband jumped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

On our way south we decided to stay in Santa Cruz for the night and this is the only place that we could find last minute. Family of four needed two queen beds and they had one room left - at a price of $299 plus tax! That's a lot for 2 stars. Corner room so everyone traipsed by our door coming up the stairs. Pool was not heated and about 6x6 (not kidding) and no place to sit outside and enjoy the views. Coffee was lousy and breakfast buffet was basic and bland. Would not stay there again...
Staff was very friendly and room was clean.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

What's not to like? The staff are pleasant and helpful, the place is clean and well-managed, ample full breakfast, super comfortable beds, great pillows - they give each bed two firm pillows and two soft - centrally located, reasonably priced. Will definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the property, so it was nice and quiet, as the hotel is on a very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

loved the beds great room
plus the heated pool was great never had such an awesome breakfast at a hotel inn ever loved the food after turning in my keys two hours later relized i left my jacket drove back to inn the gladly gave me a key to go in room to get it

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

First it is a two star motel so do not expect more than you are paying for. We spent a week there while visiting our lids. One lives in SJ and the other in Freedom. Rooms are clean and updated.
Everything works. Breakfast area is small. Plan accordingly. I recommend it if you want a clean place to sleep. It is a little inconvenient to pull into. Staff was friendly and helpful.
We stayed in room with two doubles.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Santa Cruz

Address: 110 Plymouth Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Santa Cruz 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.