We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Beersheba, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The room is very clean, and has everything we needed- microwave, fridge, safe. The bed is comfy and hard.staff was friendly.it was A bit expensive for a 2 stars motel but we would stay rhere again! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    63
    25
    13
    15
See reviews for
41
52
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

People looking for a new, modern place to stay should not stay here. But travelers looking for clean, value-priced, centrally located lodging should give it a try. Front desk/owner was very nice, let me check in early around 2pm. Room had large TV, nice refrigerator, and was clean. Like i said, it is an older property and the room was somewhat musty, but those who travel frequently understand what they are getting ahead of time. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is not a hotel. It is a motel. Room was dated, smelled badly and you could hear all sorts of outside noises. Bathroom had cracked and wobbly tiles and sink grouting falling apart. Breakfast was in a teeny, tiny room and was pathetic. Overpriced and under-delivered. Seek accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Arrived to hotel early, before check in. The front desk guy was very very nice and let me check in early. I had a 3rd floor room in the very back on the hotel. Perfect location, very quiet. Everything was perfect, I liked the large TV and the fridge and microwave. The only thing I had a problem with is I paid for a patio room and the patio was one level under my room and it was a common patio area. Not what I expected. That was my only complaint, so that's not too bad. Bed was clean and comfy. Short drive to the beach and boardwalk. Nice variety of breakfast items to pick from. I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights, found the refrigerator and microwave helpful. Felt safe, was quiet on the 2nd floor. Had minor complaint (alarm next door going off with no one home), which was taken care of immediately. Brought my own breakfast, would not have been satisfied with the offerings. Room was clean, bed was very comfortable with a nice lightweight quilt, 4 pillows! All the windows open and 2 in the back are small, high for privacy, safety. Would stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the middle to back section, rm 212, with 2 queen beds. There is a patio on the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

even though it is quite cheap (70 USD) it is not worth the money.
it starts with an unfriendly guy at the reception, then goes on with a dark, old fashioned boring room, and ends with an area far away from the beach next to a noisy highway where you can´t do anything...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel looks unimpressive from the outside and is in an old neighborhood. For weekdays it is a good value; rates on weekends rise significantly as they do at all other hotels in town and at those prices, you may be better off elsewhere. Overall OK but I might consider elsewhere next time.
Pros - Most important, the bedding is good. Rooms are adequate size, microwave and fridge in each room. As another reviewer mentioned, I was disappointed that the fridge was unplugged when I arrived. The rooms have had some modest upgrades in the interior. Room was clean, although a cleaning chemical odor to it when you first walk in. The motel is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown (5 blocks) as well as across the street from famous Marianne's Ice Cream parlour. McDonalds, Togos and a diner are within a block, and the tourist information is within 2 blocks. Front desk service is good. A short drive to the wharf and Boardwalk. Good wifi.
Cons - breakfast area is extremely small, three small tables only. Breakfast is a little below standard compared to other Choice / Quality Inn motels, with fewer choices. Rooms still could use some upgrades: furniture and counter tops are older but not in terrible shape. As is with most older motels, it is a little noisy as the sound proofing is not at today's standards and the neihbor's plumbing can be heard, but noise is tolerable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1101 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Hotel in Downtown Santa Cruz, Beach Boardwalk and Wharf:The Quality Inn® hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Highway 17 and Highway 1. Local attractions like the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, Santa Cruz Wharf (with its many shops and fine dining) are close by. The University of California Santa Cruz, Big Basin Redwoods State Park, Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park and Roaring Camp Railroad are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Santa Cruz
Quality Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.