We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Were pleasantly surprised by our stay here. It was the cheapest place we stayed at during our vacation and was comfortable and better value than some other places we stayed in California. Room was clean and comfortable and had very nice amenities for the price (internet access, fridge, microwave, good TV). Beds were comfortable, towels nice, shower good. Breakfast was included and was above average - only drawback was there are only a few chairs and you are discouraged from taking the food back to your room and pool area was a little chilly to sit in first thing in the morning. Staff were friendly and very helpful and clearly proud of their hotel and making an effort to keep it nice. Hotel pool was clean and nice and warm and our kids loved it. Only minor issues were tap in bathroom sink was hard to turn on so our kids always needed our help and we could hear some noise from outside/other rooms sometimes. Location is very convenient for driving - near town but also near highway - and was a 10-15 min walk to Pacific Ave. Also had a laundry around the corner which was helpful for us. Maybe a 4.5 stars for me - overall I'd recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    66
    27
    13
    15
See reviews for
47
54
23
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Me and my wife traveled to Santa Cruz for a min-vacation. We checked in, and the front desk staff was extremely kind and helpful. When we got to the room, it was very clean and smelled fresh. The bed was comfortable and I had a great sleep both nights.It was close to the downtown area, When I left, I felt like I had gotten a great value for the money I spent here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had reserved a room for 1 night. We used 20000 reward points to stay here. We had some problems with housekeeping issues here. There was a dirty cup with used soap in it on the sink when we arrived. There was only one towel in the room and no spare toilet paper. The microwave oven was broken. There was bright red blood on the bed linens which we only noticed after pulling back the top sheet completely. Whenever we brought something to the staff's attention they were friendly and helpful, but we were not pleased that there were so many issues and would not stay here again. I rated this "poor" instead of "terrible" because at least the staff was responsive, which is very important to us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our room literally smelled as if it was fresh-painted in the last week. It was exceptionally clean - the beds had crisp, fresh clean linens, the counters in the bathroom were granite quality and it was spotless.

The breakfast area was very tight. I'm sure in the off-season this isn't a problem, but it was hard to move around without bumping into people.

Service was great - price was good, and it was all close to boardwalk and UC Santa Cruz campus

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Clean, room didn't smell, mattress was comfortable... not much more you can ask for in a 2-star hotel... free continental breakfast.... helpful, friendly front desk service... Overall great experience...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Good price service ratio, clean. I had a king size room for 76 tax incl. and was very happy with it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I drove a further 30 minutes to get away from Monterey and all the Indian owned motels and lo and behold this motel was also owned by Indians but by then I was too tired so decided to risk it even though past experiences with Indian owned motels have been bad.
But thankfully the room was ok. It was clean and it was quiet and everything worked except for the remote which was missing the power button but was replaced (after having to call front desk twice).
The price is reasonable I guess but be sure to clarify which rate you get because apparently not all rates allow you to get points for the stay.
I would stay here again if I pass through.

Room Tip: I got a room on the 3rd floor at the back of the property and is far from the road and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1101 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Hotel in Downtown Santa Cruz, Beach Boardwalk and Wharf:The Quality Inn® hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Highway 17 and Highway 1. Local attractions like the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, Santa Cruz Wharf (with its many shops and fine dining) are close by. The University of California Santa Cruz, Big Basin Redwoods State Park, Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park and Roaring Camp Railroad are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Santa Cruz
Quality Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.