We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Santa Cruz/Boardwalk West

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Santa Cruz/Boardwalk West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Santa Cruz/Boardwalk West
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   321 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

My friend and i took my 17 year old daughter and her friend. We found the hotel to be 2 blocks from the gates to the boardwalk. It was safe for them to wander around. The location was clean and our room for the price was great. It was very clean, recently renovated and although it did not have a balcony we were above the pool and it had a large patio we could sit on and see the boardwalk (tickets cheaper on line) and beach area. The owners are exceptinal and very anxious to please. There was lots of shopping boutiques there on Pacific ave (6 blocks away) and Capitola village was within driving distance. The wharf was just a few blocks too, where we found some shopping and great restaurants to eat overlooking the ocean. We also went one day to San Jose to the 7th worlds largest flea market and had a blast. Found lots of knock off stuff. There was plenty to do and even though we only had 4 days we did'nt run out of stuff to do. The girls went to Great America in San Jose but we did not get the tickets online and paid $52.00 very overpriced. There is a Super Eight East across the street too. Ours was the WEST.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    21
    13
    8
See reviews for
29
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

Room was clean and comfortable. Fridge, microwave and free wi-fi all convenient. Location is ok, shops and eateries and boardwalk are a few minutes walk from motel but we tended to drive locally. We needed accommodation on the President's Day holiday weekend so were pleased to get any room for a reasonable price, hence this Super 8 was the choice. Shower was quite weak and you could hear a little noise from adjacent rooms. Complimentary cereal and coffee provided.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

I would like to tell you that the rooms are very large and clean.
It has a very nice location. and then front desk staff is very good.
I would say every one must stay over there if you are looking for a relaxing weekend !!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

I must have spent hours looking for a suitable hotel for our trip, and eventually booked this Super 8. I appreciate it was a saturday night in the summer season but the rate was more expensive than the really nice boutique we'd stayed at in Monterey the night before. Still, we don't go on holiday to sit in a hotel room and the location is good for the beach, boardwalk and the town. It may have only been a Super 8, but they sure know how to charge you as much as they can get away with.....

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room Rate
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amberrose42
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

For about $40 less you can stay at the Super 8 across the street! The only positive is that the pool was great. The hotel manager sucked, locked up early, and was rude. The room was clean but dark. The a/c worked but not well at all (open the doors if you want to use the jacuzzi tub or the room is unbearably HOT!!) I stayed across the street before in a jacuzzi room that was PERFECT!! the hotel staff at the other motel was wonderful! The room was redone a week before and was bigger! New wall mounted plasma TV, working a/c and brand new everything!!!

  • Liked — The pool and the location
  • Disliked — The accomadations and the manager
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

We were looking for a cheap place to stay, and we found it. Nothing glorious about this place. Rooms were rather spartan. We paid $53.10 on Super 8 website - see hotel details there. Note there are two Super 8 hotels across the street from each other - this is the West one. Coffee available in lobby all day. Donuts in the morning. Enclosed parking. Two blocks to the ocean boardwalk amusement park (see picture). Also be sure to walk out on the pier, to watch the California Sea Lions living there. Sorry no hotel pictures - see Super 8 site.

  • Liked — Price and location near beach
  • Disliked — Spartan accommodations
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Santa Cruz/Boardwalk West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Santa Cruz/Boardwalk West

Address: 321 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Santa Cruz/Boardwalk West 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Santa Cruz/Boardwalk West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Santa Cruz/Boardwalk West Hotel Santa Cruz
Super Eight Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Super Eight
Santa Cruz Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Santa Cruz/Boardwalk West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.