We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable and a little more than basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Acceptable and a little more than basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

People who say this is the best hotel they've ever stayed in must not get out much. It was fine but hardly spectacular. The parking area is open and as another reviewer said, anyone can walk into a covered and "hidden" space and not be seen. The first room we were given had a window that opened onto a wall that was perhaps 3 feet (1 meter) away. NO VIEW of anything. We asked for another room and after a bit of hmmm, hmmm, the desk clerk gave us a room overlooking the street. He did advise that there was street noise, but that really wasn't a problem. However, the window was quite dirty. The room itself was fine, basic, large, sofa, sitting area. The layout of the hotel with a large atrium open to light where breakfast is served was pleasant. Breakfast was what one expects in a "free" hotel breakfast. Dry cereal, a waffle iron, eggs, bacon, sausage, muffins. Not bad but having stayed at many hotels in Europe where breakfast is standard and usually lavish, this was quite ordinary. The price was right. We were visiting my wife's sister and just needed a place to lay our heads.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the wall, and avoid the first floor facing the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear you did not like your first room, and am glad we were able to move you to a more suitable room for your needs. European breakfast sounds nice, maybe I need to plan a trip to see what we are up against!

Lacey Goldstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    148
    63
    35
    28
See reviews for
186
104
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just about completed a 3 week visit to the USA and Canada I must say that the best western suites in Santa Cruz was the best accommodation that we used on the whole trip Great room friendly and helpful staff excellent location and a magnificent breakfast to top it off I would definitely return and would recommend it highly to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
I am so happy to hear we were your FAVORITE hotel on your trip! I will be sure to share your kind words with my entire team. We hope your travels can bring you back to our hotel soon!

Lacey Goldstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were greeted by a friendly staff. Our request for a non street side room was honored. The center atrium is bright and clean as was our suite. Great breakfast in the morning after a quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the facilities, the amenities and the staff! We hope to see you next time your travels bring you to the Santa Cruz area.

Lacey Goldstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for one night while visiting UC Santa Cruz.
Pros: Woman on phone when booking was very very helpful.
Rooms are large and fairly clean
Decent breakfast
Priced well

Cons:
1. As a single woman traveling with a teenage daughter, I thought the area was a little iffy (at night). My main complaint is the partking garage is not secure. Anyone off the street can enter the garage, access the elevator, travel up to any of the floors and enter the hallways (which have no security door) completely bypassing the lobby and perhaps a watchful eye. I overheard the front desk person tell another guest that there was security in the parking garage all night; perhaps there was, but I was in and out of the garage between 7:00 p.m. and 11:00 and saw no security. I did however see a strange man sitting in his car for all those hours perhaps conducting business (based on observing him). He was also there when I left in the morning. Very odd.
2. The hairdryer in our room didn't work. Went to the front desk to ask for a replacement and they didn't have one. Absurd. Electrical items break all the time; to not have a replacement hair dryer is inexcusable. For this reason alone, I won't stay here again. They also didn't have a bottle opener, nor a table knife to slice a piece of fruit both of which I asked to use during my stay.
3. The parking is terrible. Very small spaces, many of which are for compact cars only. This caused guests with larger cars to take up two spaces, or take up a portion of the space next to them, which left very little room for another car to squeeze in. As I said before, there appeared to be a man conducting business and spending the night in his car.
4. Two TV's in the room, which is nice, but the one in front of the beds is very small and not flat screen. Not a big deal to me as I don't watch much TV, but I found the setup odd and have attached a picture.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the first floor near the lobby. That is where breakfast is served and it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear your concerns with our parking garage, but we do have security on shift at night to monitor the hotel and garage area. I am sorry we were unable to provide you with a knife and bottle opener, but as a limited service hotel we do not have a full kitchen on premises that contains these items. I will look into stocking these items for future guests who request these items, and appreciate your suggestion. We are currently in the process of replacing all TV’s in the hotel to 40” Flat screens and replaced one in each room and will switch out the second by next month. Again, Thank you for your time and suggestions to help us improve our hotel for future guests.

Lacey Goldstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is great. I paid a very reasonable price and was treated like I was a guest at a fancy hotel. The manager, Mercedes, was so helpful. I told her ahead of time that I had allergies and she had the rugs and upholstery cleaned. The room is actually a small apartment with a living room, two tvs etc. Everything is clean and modern and not run down at all. It is quiet and has a very nice large outdoor jaquzzi and a work-out room. There is also a substantial breakfast with eggs, waffle maker etc. I definitely think you cannot beat this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are like apartments. I prefer to stay on the third floor so you don't here people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. We take pride in the customer service we provide to all of our guests, and are so glad you enjoyed our team, especially Mercedes! I have shared your kind words with my entire team, and hope you will return when your travels bring you back to the Santa Cruz area.

Lacey Goldstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn

Address: 500 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience draws both leisure and business travelers to the BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn. Our entirely non-smoking Santa Cruz, California hotel invites you to enjoy comfortable guestrooms, friendly service, and quality amenities. An ideal location puts guests within one mile of the shops and restaurants of downtown while the beach, which is home to the renowned Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, is less than two miles away. What's more, we're convenient to many other popular attractions, such as the Mystery Spot, Capitola Village, and Roaring Camp Railroads. Wineries, golf courses, state parks, and the University of California at Santa Cruz are also easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus All Hotel Santa Cruz
Best Western Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.