We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh...better than motel 6” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
1 review
“Meh...better than motel 6”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there with a group of friends and it was cold and noises at night. Scared the breeze sea of out me. Pretty sure I saw a ghost. My room was haunted. Would I go back no not because of the ghost but the quality. Made me want to take a bath before sleeping and after waking up from the bed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. I am sorry you feel as though you would not return to our hotel. I would love to discuss this with you further. Please feel free to contact me at any time via email at lgoldstein@bprproperties.com Thanks!

Lacey Goldstein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    110
    50
    28
    25
See reviews for
127
76
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gardnerville, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were there for my brothers Memorial. The staff (Mercedes and Shannon at the front desk and Josefina in housefkeeping) made a very difficult time so very much easier. They provided the conference room for our family needs, set it up and cleaned up after us which was a tremendous help. The whole family had rooms there, including 4 little girls who had been cooped up in a car for 7 hours! The rooms were spacious, the breakfast was free and excellent, and it is centrally located. We would definately recommend this place for anyone visiting Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and taking the time to include special shout outs to members of our team, we all really appreciate it! We enjoyed having your group stay with us, and look forward to seeing you if you are ever back in town.

Lacey Goldstein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERKELEY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The rooms are very nice, oversized and lots of room. The staff is very friendly and helpful you will feel very comfortable here. Santa Cruz hotels tend to be overpriced so this is a great option if you are on budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am so glad you enjoyed our staff and facility. We hope to see you again next time!

Lacey Goldstein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Loved the layout of the hotel and the convenient location. The price was very reasonable over the Thanksgiving Holiday (3 nights). The staff was excellent, including the breakfast staff, the parking attendant, housekeeping, and the main desk. All were very helpful.
The TV sets in the room needed to be raised (too low for comfortable viewing!)
and the hot tub was kinda crazy when you turned the jets on.
Otherwise, no negatives. We were very pleased!

Room Tip: Be aware of street noise depending on your room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel! I am so glad you enjoyed our staff, layout, and location. We appreciate your feedback regarding the TV’s and Hot Tub, and will look into alternatives to improve these issues. Hope to see you next time you are in town!

Lacey Goldstein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here recently for business. I was very impressed at having a living room where I could relax after work. I also had a microwave and mini refrigerator! I had a cute little desk to get my work done at night with a relaxing bedroom just on the other side of my desk area. I felt like I was in a cute little apartment. I felt safe and comfortable in my room at night, which since I travel alone quite a bit, this is really important for me. I've stayed here before and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I’m glad to hear you will be choosing our hotel for all of your travels to the Santa Cruz area. Please let me know directly if I can ever be of any assistance with your future reservations!

Lacey Goldstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here recently after having accidently showed up a week early for a reservation at a different hotel(woops!) We were greeted warmly by the front desk and informed that there was a king sized room available for $100. Our room was huge!! There was a small living room with a fireplace and comfy couch to watch TV or just chill on as you enter. The bedroom was adorned with a Cal King sized bed with super soft high quality sheets and lots of pillows along with a desk(free Wi-Fi) and entertainment center with TV and full cable. The bathroom was large and very comfortable - the tub had Jacuzzi jets!! Everything was clean and tasteful. My girlfriend and I were both in agreement that it was by far the nicest affordable room we had ever stayed in. We both enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast the next morning. The young lady who was in charge of keeping things together could not have been nicer. She went out of her way to help me put together a tray to bring my girlfriend who was resting in our room. Everyone who works here is super friendly and they really go the extra mile to make sure that you are 100% satisfied. If you looking for a place to stay in Santa Cruz and don't want to spend an arm and a leg stay here!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I’m glad your confusion landed you at our hotel! We do have great rooms with TONS of space, and I am happy you got to experience it. Thanks so much for your kind words about our team, I will be sure to pass your comments on to them as well!

Lacey Goldstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

For most people, the hotel is not within walking distance to the Boardwalk or Beach nor are there any view rooms, but it is easy to get to and centrally located. The clerk at check-in was very friendly and polite.

The rooms are centered in a square around an open courtyard which gives it a very open feel. My room was clean and all the amenities i would expect. The seating area has a loveseat and 2 chairs, but it isn't all that separate, it's not as one could sleep while others stayed up and talked, but it worked fine for me! Rooms were quiet.

Internet connection was great. There's a medium sized desk that one could spread out and work if needed. The bathtub - a lovely jacuzzi tub - didn't have a stopper. I don't know if that is just in my room or they really don't want people taking baths and using the water or even if the spa worked AND I didn't ask about it.

The breakfast area has a nice ambiance but the fabric on the chairs and the sofas near the fireplace are a little stained and dated.The attendants on each of the days I was there were super courteous, helpful, friendly and engaging. Waffles, eggs, sausage/bacon, fruit, cereals, breads, pastries, juices and coffee. Plenty to get your day started with.

I can't compare to other places as I haven't been, but for the price, it was a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a detailed review, we appreciate your time. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, and staff. I am sorry your Jacuzzi tub was missing the stopper, and wish we could have made that right for you during your stay with us. We are replacing all of the breakfast furniture this year, we hope you will come visit us next time you are in town and check it out!

Lacey Goldstein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn

Address: 500 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience draws both leisure and business travelers to the BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn. Our entirely non-smoking Santa Cruz, California hotel invites you to enjoy comfortable guestrooms, friendly service, and quality amenities. An ideal location puts guests within one mile of the shops and restaurants of downtown while the beach, which is home to the renowned Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, is less than two miles away. What's more, we're convenient to many other popular attractions, such as the Mystery Spot, Capitola Village, and Roaring Camp Railroads. Wineries, golf courses, state parks, and the University of California at Santa Cruz are also easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus All Hotel Santa Cruz
Best Western Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.