We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay was A-Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   126 Plymouth Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One night stay was A-Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Santa Cruz was our first stop in a two week trip to California. After a long day traveling this hotel gave us what we needed, a place to rest our head to a pillow. The mattresses were too soft for my liking, felt a bit like a giant marshmallow but my traveling companions had no complaints.
The room was clean. Breakfast was acceptable. The staff was friendly. Rates were much lower than properties closer to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    16
    11
    18
See reviews for
36
31
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a few days in July and it is a good option as it is quite inexpensive (vs. other hotels in Santa Cruz), well located (3 minutes from downtown with the car - plenty of parking in downtown) and in good condition. Also, the free breakfast was very good. The only watchout is the hotel seems to respond to the vibrations of the heavy trucks passing by. Not a big deal but surprising at first. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

In general it was decent, and I used AAA discount so it was one of the better deals at less than $200 a night. Hotel was clean, complementary wi-fi, continental breakfast. The thing I didn't like was that the room was ok at first glance, but I tried not to look too hard at anything. The comforter had stains, and when removed there was more than one long hairs on the blanket, yuck! Also, there was no fitted sheet on the bed, just a flat sheet laid on the mattress, that was weird. Aside from that, the bed was comfortable, and the room served its purpose for us. All of the staff were excellent. Small parking lot, but we always found parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, California, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our goal was to bike in Santa Cruz and we succeeded. The hotel is located a few miles from the boardwalk but VERY close to a great bike path which goes directly to the Boardwalk. There are many bike lanes throughout Santa Cruz and Capitola which make it easy to travel. The hotel is very clean and their breakfast has many healthy options. The hotel is also quiet, which is surprising, because it is so close to the freeway. We also stayed midweek which made our trip very affordable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel was a great value for the money for that area. It's an expensive area. We all slept well with no noises in the night. The room had a mini refrigerator/microwave/coffee maker. The sink was outside of the bathroom so the other person could be getting ready while 1 person was showering, etc. We really enjoyed the hot breakfast to start off our day. I will stay there again when we have to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APTOS, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is nice and I like staying there sometimes but when i book Friday or Saturday it is usually $100 more per night. whoa! The breakfast is pretty good. My daughter liked the sausage and potatoes. The eggs smell like farts though and the bananas were green. But other than that pretty good. There was no high chair for my baby either which was sort of inconvenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were on a little road trip, and Santa Cruz was on our radar. This motel was easy to find, clean, a little dated, but secure and we felt at ease. The boardwalk was further than what we had wished for, but not too bad. Staff was very pleasant and professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn

Address: 126 Plymouth Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.