We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient if everywhere else is out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   126 Plymouth Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Redding, California, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“convenient if everywhere else is out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We love the Charminade but unfortunately , we wanted to stay on Saturday night as well,but they were out of rooms , so we stayed here , everything was fine the room was clean and away from the main road cause I think that is important but the only thing was they didn't have enough towels for both room and spa,and the hot tub wasn't hot at all, we will only use this horel as a back up place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and honest opinion. As the new General Manager here at the Best Western Inn Santa Cruz, I greatly appreciate your suggestions. We now have spa towels available in the spa area and thanks for the great idea! We hope we won't be your last choice next time. Thanks again for your great review.


Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn Santa Cruz
126 Plymouth Street, Santa Cruz, California, 95060
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    45
    24
    16
    20
See reviews for
45
48
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

This was just a one night stop for us on our drive pacific coast highway 1. It was fine for a night, really close for getting back onto pch1, however I wouldn't want to stay here if my sole purpose was coming to Santa cruz. We didnt arrive until after 7 and checked out early the next morning and shortly after checking in we drove down into the city and then to the boardwalk. Looked an interesting place. If you are looking for a fairly basic room on a trip up route 1 then it's fine, it also included breakfast which wasnt great but was a free breakfast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We can see that you weren't "wowed" by our establishment and that disappoints us. We hope on your future visits you'll see why we are so very proud of our hotel. Maybe on your next stay you will get a chance to try our dry sauna or take a dip in our relaxing jacuzzi. You could also spend a little more time in our rooms with HD cable, flat screen televisions, microwaves, refrigerators, and beautifully updated decor. We also hope you will see why we consider our Deluxe Continental Breakfast second to none with a waffle maker, scrambled eggs, breakfast burritos, sausage, fresh fruit, orange juice, cranberry juice, yogurt, oatmeal, bagels, english muffins and even pastries! We hope you will have a chance to come enjoy the area and our hotel sometime soon! Thanks again for the review!

Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

For $189.00/night, we certainly did not get value for our money. Our room was dirty. Grime was evident on doors and baseboards. Door handles, light switches and other areas of the room where hands are placed had not been cleaned in a very long time. The next morning, I sat on a chair covered in syrup. Again grime was evident on the baseboards and doors. An attendant came in from the office wearing pajama bottoms and a sweatshirt. She noticed that the flame from the burner under eggs was too high but rather than check the eggs and lower the flame, she grabbed a chair and said she had to watch the Olympics and re-entered the office. I would like a refund but that is not very likely.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

As the new General Manager of the Best Western Inn, Santa Cruz, California, I can assure you and any other potential guest that the conditions you speak of will never occur again. You have my heartfelt apologizes. We have just recently put in place new cleaning procedures that will ensure our rooms are always spotless, as they should be. We have also had a change in some of our staff. I hope you can find it in your heart to give us another chance if you are every in the Santa Cruz area again.

Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A nice, clean hotel. The rooms were spacious with all the amenities - small refrig, microwave, coffee maker and extra sink. Lots of storage. Huge complimentary breakfast but with only a very few healthy options. Pool, hot tub and more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the nice comments about our hotel. As the new General Manager, I will begin to look into some healthy options for our Deluxe Continental Breakfast. Thank you for the suggestion. We really appreciate your review and hope you can come see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel through a booking on Hotwire . They give yo a small room with a queen bed when you book this way, usually quite some distance from parking. After three trips to the room my husband decided to leave remaining items in the car and locked the car that was in front of the office in clear view. When I went to get my computer bag out of the car in the morning it was evident the car had been broken into, and my equipment was missing. When I spoke with the girl in the office I was informed that the car was in the security cameras blind spot. Hard to believe because the car was in direct line if sight from the front desk. I was also told that there insurance would cover it if the car was stolen, but would not cover content for a break in. The girl refused to give me insurance info and owners contact information. Prior to making the discovery I had taken a walk and found the number of homeless people in the area to be excessive. My son woke up with hives and an eye completely swollen shut from some sort of bite. Bi would rather sleep in my car than stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Go to Scott's valley if you chose to stay in the area. Book well in advance and call hotel dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Teresa,

Thank you for taking time to review us on the Trip. As the new General Manager, I would like to apologize for the problems you had with your stay. Unfortunately, for them, we do have some poor folks who walk along Ocean St., but if you were "homeless" wouldn't you want to live by the beach? I'm just playing. We do take each of our guest's safety very seriously. We have someone at the front desk twenty-four hours a day keeping a close eye on the hotel. I'm so sorry that your car got broken into. You will be happy to know that we are getting more security cameras! Also on your future stays with us I hope you will agree that our location (despite the "homeless") is ideal; close to downtown, close to Hwy 17, as well as Hwy 1 and only 2.5 miles from Santa Cruz Beachboard Walk! I really hope you can give us another chance to show you just how nice our little Best Western Inn is. Sorry again.

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on June 28th and 29th. The room was clean and the hotel was very quiet except when people were walking by the room but that is expected when you have your window open and you are on the first floor facing the parking lot.

There is a Denny's within walking or driving distance and other restaurants nearby. There are homeless people hanging around on the sidewalks next to the hotel but you weren't bothered by them. We felt safe staying here.

The front desk employees were pleasant and friendly.

The only issue I saw with this hotel was getting out of the parking lot onto the main road. It is easy if the people on the left who had the stop sign actually stopped and let you go.

Overall we had a nice stay and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the nice comments about our establishment and our staff. The employees here at our little Best Western Inn, Santa Cruz, California take genuine pleasure in ensuring that each of our guests have an excellent visit. We believe that our updated hotel rooms, but especially our crew, make us stand out against our competition. Our personnel take great pride in making sure our room cleanliness is kept above the Best Western standard, which is the benchmark for the hotel industry. Cleanliness and customer service are the main focus for our amazing employees. Thanks again for your review, we look forward to you nice folks choosing us again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Check in was fast and front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Our room was very modern, clean, and fully updated with very comfortable beds and the room also included a refrigerator and microwave. The room was very quiet. The parking lt is small but there seemed to b a parking spot for each room. The location is just a few minutes away from the beach boardwalk. There are a few shady looking homeless people who hang out nearby but none of them were on the Best Western's property and we did feel safe and secure staying there. The complimentary breakfast is a hot breakfast with a waffle bar, omelettes, scrambled eggs, sausage, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, and pastries. There was juice, coffee, hot chocolate, and hot tea also. The breakfast was awesome! There is also a Dennys restaurant right across the street. We would be glad to stay here again. We had a really good room rate also through Best Western Rewards program.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Jason,

Thank you for taking time to review us on the Trip. As the new General Manager, I would like to tell you just how much the staff and myself appreciate the nice commets! The staff works tirelessly to try and provide each of our valued guest a great stay. Hope you folks come back soon!


Teddy Starr
General Manager
Best Western Inn
Santa Cruz, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.8 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn

Address: 126 Plymouth Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.