We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic motel for one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Torch Lite Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Torch Lite Inn to your Saves list
Torch Lite Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   500 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Kokkola, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic motel for one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel is located at cross roads and there is quite a lot of traffic and noise. Boardwalk was only few minutes walk away which was nice place to see. Room was ok, same as any other motel in the US. We had ours at second floor.

Free wifi in rooms and free parking was a big plus. Also breakfast was good, very basic, oatmeal, white bread and cereals.

Pool area looked nice but we didnt take a closer look that how clean was it.

We stayed here for one night (late check in, early check out) in June and travelled as two couples. Would stay again for one night sleepover.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PikloP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ok for one night. Room was large and clean but decor tired. Pool was nice and surrounding gardens lovely. However the guy on the front desk was surly and unhelpful. Would we use again? Probably not given the owner doesn't make visitors welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reebok58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a very basic US type motel with free parking close to all rooms. The accommodation is surprising close to a main road junction but was not too noisy and probably the best looking of the hotels along the route to the Boardwalk. Basic breakfast was included although was not specified when we booked so was a bonus - not a lot on offer and very little seating but would not complain as we saw this as an extra. WiFi is available but very slow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanE145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed 1 nite was suppose to stay 2, noise all nite the smell of drugs stayed in the air & drug users hanging around all night, couldn't close the bathroom window all the way, their are apartments behind hotel! Police might as well had a room there also bc they were there most of the nite anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leroy334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Best Value i had in a month long road trip across the western coast with my wife. Very good breakfast, great location, walking distance to the sta. cruz boardwalk. The room was huge and a perfectly functioning jacuzzi. Friendly staff, very clean, overall a surprisingly great place for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelo1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylmar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great location, so close to everything! I was suprised to get to my room and have the phone flashing red with a message - it was just the front desk welcoming me and making sure I didn't need anything... such a nice touch. I definitely recommend this hotel. the rooms were very comfy and clean and really nice breakfast and very close to boardwalk!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed there on new year very nice hotel , rooms and service very good staff was friendly and helpful , hotel is close to beach and boardwalk 5 min and downtown 10min walking distance, I ill recommend this hotel , I will come back next time with my family

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheghar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#45 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz
0.4 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach View Inn Motel
Beach View Inn Motel
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torch Lite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torch Lite Inn

Address: 500 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Torch Lite Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torch Lite Inn is located only 1500 feet from the Santa Cruz Beachboard Walk. Our hotel currently offers Free WiFi, Breakfast, and Parking for our guest. We are located within minutes of Downtown Santa Cruz and UC Santa Cruz as well. Come and enjoy our hospitality at the Torch Lite Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Torch Lite Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torch Lite Hotel Santa Cruz
Torch Lite Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing