We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Torch Lite Inn

Save Saved
You added Torch Lite Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Torch Lite Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   500 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discounted Rates!
Ranked #35 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Close to Everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked through hotel.guides.com and this hotel did not have a record of it. They honored the price quote and had a room available. Rooms were clean. Second floor had an outdoor seating area overlooking the pool. No scenery though this place is angled right on the corner of two busy roads. Room was quiet. No complaints. Continental breakfast served in the room next to the pool. Yogurt, fruit, juice, cereal and coffee Traveling off season has some benefits as this place only had a few guests. Good location and good price with free parking. Only 3 blocks to the Boardwalk and 2 blocks to restaurants.

Room Tip: Second floor has nice patio overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
18
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Merced
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Torch Lite Inn is a good deal for the price. Rooms were clean, customer service is good and location is a short walk to Boardwalk, and downtown. The breakfast is lacking, but there are plenty of coffee and breakfast places close by.

Room Tip: My sister and niece had a double queen clean but very cozy without the amenities I had in my king ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

stay there for 2 nights, every thing was good, staff is friendly, clean, close to board walk, clean carpet. breakfast is good.. what we paid for. this is a perfect place for families with kids.
and for teen ages.. pool was clean and warm.. timing is great 10 to 10pm..

will stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was sorely disappointed by the Torch LIte Inn over the Labor Day weekend. Our room had a lovely balcony but the screen door fell OFF when I was opening it. Therefore we could not have any fresh air in the room unless we also wanted whatever else could come in!

There were 4 guests and we were given 3 cups, 3 towels, etc.

I found half a cigarette butt on one of the shelves.

For the amount of money we spent the room was terribly small and unaccomodating.

The complimentary breakfast room was nearly depleted of supplies. Guests were searching in cupboards for cereal and the juice machine was leaking on the counter.

All I can say is pick another place to stay when you are in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

After overcoming the sticker shock of Boardwalk hotels we we're happily surprised. Close to Boardwalk and attractions. The room was a nice size, beds comfortable and a great size refrigerator for drinks and snacks. Our room overlooked the pool. We didn't use, but a good size for a quick cool off if time had permitted. Overall would recommend for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay if you will be spending most of your time at the boardwalk. It's an easy 3-4 block walk to the Boardwalk and ocean. The motel is small and has a very basic breakfast--cereal, english muffins, yogurt, juice. It is not luxurious, but the location is great, the parking is free and the outdoor pool is heated. The staff was nice. The maids could be seen mopping the tile walkways each day and it smelled clean. The bathroom fixtures were a little worn and run down, but the water was hot and we really had no complaints. It is not the Hyatt and if you are really picky about hotels, it is not the place for you. If you want a basic place to sleep and easily walk to all the attractions, then it is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie P, Public Relations Manager at Torch Lite Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found the staff to be helpful & courteous and the room comfortable. We look forward to provide you with an more comfortable & enjoyable stay on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We just spent 2 nights at the Torch Lite Inn in Santa Cruz. Clean hotel, the parking was good (especially considering that once you get to Santa Cruz, their traffic is terrible!), so you can walk about 1 block to the Boardwalk! and about 2 blocks to Pacific Street for shops, restaurants, drinks, coffee, and movies. the family owned business is really working hard to upgrade this 50"s style hotel, and htey have done a good job. the pool area is very nice, the rooms are big enough- 3 of us shared a double bed room. the beds, though- excellent! Had two good nights of sleep. but- Santa Cruz is a town for families and young adults, so no one can escape the sounds of children or teens. I slept soundly, however, the girls next door talked until about 2 am and kept one friend up. the rooms are very clean, and the carpeting and paint are new. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The 200 building faces an alley way, so ask if you can get a room around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Torch Lite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torch Lite Inn

Address: 500 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Torch Lite Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torch Lite Inn is located only 1500 feet from the Santa Cruz Beachboard Walk. Our hotel currently offers Free WiFi, Breakfast, and Parking for our guest. We are located within minutes of Downtown Santa Cruz and UC Santa Cruz as well. Come and enjoy our hospitality at the Torch Lite Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Torch Lite Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torch Lite Hotel Santa Cruz
Torch Lite Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torch Lite Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.