We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; mediocre motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Santa Cruz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Santa Cruz
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   130 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Ramada Limited Fishermans Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Richmond
1 review
“Great location; mediocre motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here because of location and figuring if it was HoJo, it wouldn't be as bad as some Santa Cruz motels. It was perfectly fine for what I needed, which was a place to stash my stuff and to get one night's sleep. If I were spending any more time there, I don't think I would have been very impressed. But the are very few places to stay in Santa Cruz, so I guess this is one of the acceptable ones.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    33
    19
    21
See reviews for
47
47
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wanted to get away for Labor Day. Howard Johnson in Santa Cruz is in a great location. We like to park the car and walk. This place is in walking distance to the wharf and boardwalk. Also a nice stroll down to the light house. The room was clean and had a refrigerator and microwave. It also offered a decent continental breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a nice time at this property. The front desk people were very helpful and courteous! They also allowed us to get intonourvroom a bit early because it was ready, so that was very nice! The spa is very large, the room was clean, and we had a great time being so close to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and I would stay here again. The location is great,within walking distance to the wharf and boardwalk, we had a nice view of the wharf area with a little deck & chairs for relaxing but it also faced the street. Small fridge and microwave, outdated looking comforter but clean, very clean bathroom, free parking. I had great customer service as they let me park there upon my arrival at 9:00 in the morning, way too early for check in. I went in to ask and when she checked that I was indeed staying there for 2 nights, she said I could park there then check in later. It was great, we enjoyed the wharf and boardwalk all afternoon while we had free parking at the hotel so I do thank them very much for that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Nc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Loved the front porch with chairs to relax in and a great view of the ocean and the wharf. Although my room was small, it was just me so it was fine. As a woman traveling alone, even though it was first floor I felt very safe (with no rooms above, so no one walking on your head!). Bathroom was clean and new-ish with great water pressure. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Santa Cruz

Address: 130 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Ramada Limited Fishermans Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Santa Cruz 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fisherman`s Wharf Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz
Ramada Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.