We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy in May” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

Sunset Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Sunset Inn
2424 Mission Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
“Busy in May”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Sunset Inn during mid May on a Saturday 3 events were occurring locally. Reservations check in was simple. The Room had a comfortable bed and was clean feeling. Midget fridge and Microwave for storing leftovers. Shallow short tub not for tall folks. Low quality shampoo and conditioner for a town that is full of local vendors. Un-Friendly Management. Horrible "breakfast" a hard boiled egg and slice of toast. Selling Point would be the soft bed and plump small pillows. Normally our get away is in November Santa Cruz is peaceful in the fall not hoping with each goers.

Room Tip: 105 through 101 I believe are right next to the hot tub and your doorway is slightly more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
9
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was the first place we stopped at coming down from San Fran and were thrilled that their rooms have 2 queen size beds as we are traveling with 2 sons. It's very close to the beach and there's a great pizza place across the street. The beds were very comfortable and it's clean. Our room was just down from the spa where there was a group drinking and being noisy until well after 11. The issue we had was that breakfast was included for$169/night. Breakfast was hard boiled eggs, cold cereal, large packaged muffins that were pre cut into quarters which people had taken part of them, 2 bananas, OJ, cranberry juice. There were 4 of us eating and hardly anything left at 8:00am. When I asked if they could put more food out I was told "no, that's it." So breakfast is not really included of you usually eat a decent breakfast.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Budget-friendly motel on the west end offers clean, spacious rooms with all the basic amenities you need for a comfortable w'end stay.

Living about 45 mins away in the SJ, me and the good egg had been looking for a simple beach crash pad for when we just don't feel playing Mario Karts on 17 driving home at night or if we want to imbibe a few cocktails (I'm looking at you Hula).

And Sunset Inn fits the bill perfectly!
For around $100 a night you really can't do better in SC.

+ Clean, spacious rooms
+ Friendly staff that may work with you on price if you ask nicely
+ Walking distance to some great west end establishments like: Kelly's French Bakery, SC Brewing Co, Natural Bridges & Bantam
+ 7-11 across street for any last minute needs (or a late night drunk taquito run)

- Breakfast: I'd recommend skipping the free continental and opting for some of the other close by cafes (Iveta) or restaurants
- Noise: as it's situated right on Hwy 1 there can be a bit of traffic noise as well as from your neighbors if they're cranking the jambox
- Darkness: blackout curtains up front for sleeping in but some rooms feature a bathroom window with no way to block light so morning sun beams in.

Room Tip: There a few rooms on the upper level a bit further away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great hotel to stay if you don't want to be right near the beach. Clean, quiet, close to UCSC, resturants and major attractions. The hotel is on the main street but pretty quiet for the main road, it has clean, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, towel change daily, microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge. There is a complimentary breakfast but it is minimal. There is a 7-Eleven across the street and supermarket about 1/4 of a mile away. Great for stocking the mini fridge. TV had a lot of channels to choose from and lots of plugs for charging cell phones. The staff has always been very nice. There is a jacuzzi also. They have free Wifi. Everytime I come to Santa Cruz I try to stay at the Sunset Inn.

Room Tip: If you are booking online and they say they are booked call the hotel directly to see if they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a very clean, pleasant hotel in a good area close to some of the best bakeries in town (Kelly's Companion, Iveta), markets (Safeway and New Leaf) as well as good Mexican, Chines, Pizza, Thai and other restaurants and great Donuts (Ferrells). Natural Bridges is very close and a beautiful beach. Alex at the front desk is very pleasant, as well as the maids. The hot tub is clean but could use a tree or two for ambiance. The breakfast was ample.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We didn't book so we got a room for 189 with tax when we rocked up at 9.30 at night.. i probably could of got somewhere for cheaper or found a better hotel for the same price but we wanted somewhere out of town as the beach area would of been crazy noisy.. ok.. nice little place.. probably get it for cheaper if you book in advance..

Room Tip: Top level if you can.. rooms in the 130's are away from the road so the traffic noise in blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

For $179 a night I at least expect to be able to sleep, this was not the case. Don't waste your money here, stay at the Mission Inn which is right next to this place. I booked three nights and only stayed there two of the three. Saturday at 1:30 AM I was woken up by car alarms going off right next to my room, this lasted through out the night and when I went to the ice machine at 4:30 AM there were people doing lines of cocaine on the trash can ( I have never seen anything like this before). I was riding a 375 mile biking event that weekend, so when I returned sunday and finally feel asleep at 12am, I was awoken again by a screaming match which was happening right outside my room. I called the front desk because they were doing nothing about it and I know they could hear what was going on. Again at 7AM the fighting started. When I complained to the owners son upon checking out he just stared at me and told me "when the women checked in she was acting out and I told her to shut up and she didn't listen" This hotel obviously has issues and they don't care about return business. Don't bring your children here and don't stay here if you want to sleep. I wouldn't have written this review if the owner had seemed to care about my bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 2424 Mission Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.