We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, Very Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive 2nd Night Free
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Boca Raton, Fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very, Very Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Service was great; people were so nice and helpful. Room 8 is fabulous - suite-like. Very comfortable and clean. No elevators; have to walk up stairs with luggage. Across the street from Boardwalk and 10-15 minute walk into town. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    48
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
171
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lodi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed in room one for our anniversary. It was very nice and what we had hoped for until morning. We were woken up around 6AM by people moving about across the wood floors. Between 7 to 8 we could hear everyone preparing for breakfast. The garbage is picked up below the bedroom every Monday Morning.

All in all I would go back and but I would make sure to get an upper level room. The management was very nice. Everyone I spoke to was helpful and kind

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This was a wonderful elegant hotel - the decor was beautiful, clearly created by a talented interior designer, the staff were extremely attentive and helpful, and the room was extremely comfortable, spacious and quiet - we should have stayed longer !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

My husband and I came up to pick up our son from UCSC. We have never stayed at an B&B, so when I saw this hotel I thought I would give it a try, especially how recently renovated it looked. Wow! We were very impressed with the 3rd floor (room 8) accommodations and the rest of the house. When I booked the third floor I was worried about the ventilation, but no worries they have a portable ac unit, which is useful during the day. Service was very good. Afternoon wine and cheese was nice! We ordered the breakfast sent to our room ( extra $5.00 a person) which was wonderful. Soda, water, coffee, tea, and cookies were available the entire stay. All and all, had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We loved this Inn. It was perfect for our 2 night anniversary weekend with no kids. The West Cliff Inn is a great place for couples but I would definitely recommend not bringing kids here just because it is designed for people like us who were trying to have a relaxing kid-free weekend. The staff were helpful with recommendations and directions and the food was delicious. The Inn is decorated beautifully and has all the amenities we expected. We stayed in room 8 on the top floor which had the biggest jacuzzi tub that I have ever seen. It also had a nice sitting area and a great(but small) view of the ocean. It is a very short walk to the beach, pier and Boardwalk. There are several restaurants within walking distance but I would highly recommend the drive to "Shadowbrook" for a special meal. Overall, an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

In Santa Cruz, the sun appears to set in the north. Actually, it is the west but it is the shape of the bay that gives that illusion. The West Cliff Inn has a magnificent view of the Pacific Ocean and is a romantic B & B that will not disappoint. The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms are lovely with divine beds and great views. Sip wine while watchingthe sun dip into the Pacific Ocean as you consider where to eat dinner. Hint: just across the street! Ask the staff!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We booked this hotel last minute after reading other hotel/motel reviews. It was fantastic - the service, location, room. Etc. We had the King Spa and enjoyed the ocean view from the bedroom. The service was great and the free breakfast sufficient. And the best part was the rate we paid. The hotel was offering great winter rates which we jumped on. Overall, a great experience. We will stay there again when we return to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Address: 174 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff across from the beach, West Cliff Inn is a newly renovated historic building offering well appointed guestrooms and a fabulous coastal location. This Four Sisters Inn is a three-story Italianate Victorian with a wraparound porch offering views of the Monterey Bay. The inn features a breezy, coastal decor with fabrics in crisp blues and whites and the well-appointed guestrooms feature a fireplace, a marble tile bathroom, and most offer a jetted spa tub and king bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Inn, a 4 Sisters Inn
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Cruz
West Cliff Hotel
West Cliff Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.