We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Garden Valley, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stay at this hotel quite a bit. The staff is good and is very personable. I noticed quite a bit of mold this time in the shower. We had room five which is nice, but the people above us were very noisy and were pacing the floor at 10:30 at night and one of them must have weighed five hundred pounds, because it was shaking our room. I finally went up and knocked on the door and asked them, please to keep it down. Finally got to sleep about midnight. Since there is no one at the hotel after 8 PM, it is somewhat of a problem. We might try some place different next time. You cannot beat the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    55
    12
    4
    9
See reviews for
27
192
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in the states. The house itself is beautiful and stands out as you walk back from the boardwalk itself. It is a short walk from the house to the beach and boardwalk so the location is brilliant. The staff were attentive and very accommodating. The room was very comfortable and had a fantastic spa bath in. Would definitely stay here again if we were passing through. However probably wouldn't return to Santa Cruz again. We had intended to spend a few days on the beach, but a quick look online when we arrived, suggested that the beach was on of the most polluted on the west coast!!! Needless to say we didn't go swimming!
It was a little more expensive than some other places we had stayed but was worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here for two nights as we wanted somewhere near the boardwalk and beach. This old house is impeccably decorated and absolutely beautiful. We had a room at the front of the house overlooking the beach and pier. Room was a good size with good quality toiletries provided. Breakfast was a good selection of hot & cold food with great coffee. The real bonus at this hotel was the wine and cheese in the evening - a really nice touch! We also borrowed two bikes one morning from the hotel for no extra charge, we had a lovely morning cycle along west cliff drive. I only have a very small issue with this hotel, there is a general use balcony on the first floor which is lovely offering great views of the boardwalk and beach. This balcony was directly outside our room, we were unable to open the windows in the evening whilst getting ready as people on the balcony could see and hear us from our room, slight privacy issue. Other than that it is a fabulously run hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed for two nights during July, upon arrival check in was nice and smooth at the the house. After a long drive the cheese and wine during the evening was a nice little " pick me up". The house is very close to the beach and boardwalk which is real treat, we managed to make use of the free cycles and saw parts other town and enjoyed the cycle on the sea front. Staff at the house were helpful with questions and the breakfast and evening nibbles were great and more than enough. The house didn't come with any air conditioning, which at first I though might be an issue at night. However this is not the Case, due to temperature at night being quite cool, and also seeing people on boardwalk with jumpers/hoodies at night realised the air con wasn't needed. Great stay at this hotel and exploring Santa Cruz. Even though you do not get a fridge in your room, you make use of the one in reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I visit Santa Cruz frequently for business and am happy to have found a charming Inn in a great location. The staff are wonderful, the breakfast and wine & cheese reception are good and complimentary, so it's a good value for the price. It's also pet friendly in certain rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
582 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Anytime we are in California we make a point of coming to Santa Cruz JUST to stay at this inn. There simply no sweeter place to stay than this inn. Beautiful rooms. TOTAL quiet every time. Wonderful breakfast and awesome wine and cheese time in the late afternoon. Cookies anytime. Bicycles for a romantic ride. GREAT staff. This remains our favourite hotel ANYWHERE :) Romance abounds. Take advantage of it!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the night on our road trip up the California coast. The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and suggested a great restaurant for us to eat at. Our room was really nice with a view of the pier. I loved the large jet bathtub! We didn't eat breakfast because we ended up walking out to cafe Brazil, but it looked and smelled delicious! The hotel is very charming. I think our room was a little overpriced. I've heard most of the hotels in Santa Cruz are not very nice/ clean, but West Cliff in was definitely nice, clean and I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Santa Cruz and willing to pay a little extra.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Address: 174 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff across from the beach, West Cliff Inn is a newly renovated historic building offering well appointed guestrooms and a fabulous coastal location. This Four Sisters Inn is a three-story Italianate Victorian with a wraparound porch offering views of the Monterey Bay. The inn features a breezy, coastal decor with fabrics in crisp blues and whites and the well-appointed guestrooms feature a fireplace, a marble tile bathroom, and most offer a jetted spa tub and king bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Inn, a 4 Sisters Inn
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Cruz
West Cliff Hotel
West Cliff Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.