We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October is a great time to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Save Saved
You added West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Fun From $255
Ranked #2 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“October is a great time to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in Room 3, a deluxe king spa room. It is located on the second floor, facing the front of the property and the ocean. It was wonderful to see the ocean from our window. Sadly, it was too chilly to use the (shared) balcony just outside our door. It does face the street, which didn't seem particularly busy, but we did hear some garbage trucks in the morning. We used our white noise app on the phones to drown out any potential street noise.

The room was quite spacious and well decorated. We opened the windows during the morning and day, but also used the fireplace to heat the room in the evenings. The bathroom is gorgeous and also spacious. Shower was great and soaking tub (with jets) was lovely.

We missed the wine hour, but availed ourselves of snacks left out before (cookies) and after (cake). Breakfast was yummy.

They were offering a fall discount (25% off the room).
Parking is included.

Location was amazing. In the morning, after breakfast but before checkout, we walked down to the beach in front of the boardwalk. We walked to the lighthouse (20-30 minute walk each way) and saw grey whales! We also saw many harbor seals swimming by on our way to and from the lighthouse.

We would have liked to stay longer!

Also, don't miss Natural Bridges State Beach, just a few miles down the road. We were able to see the monarch butterflies arriving in larger numbers (on their migration route). We visited at low tide and also really enjoyed the large tide pools.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    43
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
21
152
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Spent the first night of our California road trip here after flying in from the UK and it met our needs perfectly. The room was lovely with a very comfy bed. Wine and cheese when we arrived was just what we needed and the breakfast was superb, probably the best we had during our whole trip - the chef was great.. The location is ideal and running before sunrise (jetlag!) to find the sea lions waking up under the pier will be a very special memory I'll always treasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was great! It's a 2 minute walk from the municipal pier and boardwalk and had a great breakfast! The rooms and private bathroom was very nice and clean! The power went out in the morning but the staff still managed to put on a delicious breakfast. I would highly recommend this B&B, it was a great place to stay

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Not only is this inn beautiful, it's location looks out over the ocean! Our room was perfect and the Manager and his Staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We awoke to a delicious buffet breakfast complete with a delicious egg dish, bagels, pancakes and fresh fruit. We had a wonderful time and have found the Four Sisters Inns to always surpass our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you pull up, you know it will be a great stay. Warm welcome, wine reception, fabulous location and view. Sit on the front patio chairs and chill! Very clean and comfortable rooms. Great value for the price. We will return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a very relaxing stay at the West Cliff Inn, Santa Cruz. The location could not not have been better - we did not have a car, but could walk to most places. Plenty of great restaurants around.
The beautiful West Cliff Inn is a historic landmark dating back to 1877, rooms were comfortable with nice views, the staff were very friendly and most importantly we looked forward to a delicious breakfast.
The only downside was the days were fairly hot, some big pedestals fans would help both in the bedrooms and in the living room .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went here for our wedding anniversary. It's a multi-level wooden Inn near the Santa Cruz boardwalk. We got one of the anniversary packages, which came with a cute fairly large teddy-bear. That teddy-bear is now one of my daughter's (she was 3 when we came) favorite stuffed animals. The accommodations were really clean. The place gave a sense of rustic charm in the middle of the city.

Our room was near the top and there's no elevator. So I wouldn't recommend a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor if you need assistance getting up some pretty steep stairs. There was a bellwaiter/small luggage hand-pulled elevator.

Room Tip: If you need help up stairs choose the groundlevel. No elevator for people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Address: 174 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff across from the beach, West Cliff Inn is a newly renovated historic building offering well appointed guestrooms and a fabulous coastal location. This Four Sisters Inn is a three-story Italianate Victorian with a wraparound porch offering views of the Monterey Bay. The inn features a breezy, coastal decor with fabrics in crisp blues and whites and the well-appointed guestrooms feature a fireplace, a marble tile bathroom, and most offer a jetted spa tub and king bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Inn, a 4 Sisters Inn
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Cruz
West Cliff Hotel
West Cliff Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.