We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn but Don't stay during hot weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Save Saved
You added West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Fun From $255
Ranked #2 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn but Don't stay during hot weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in room #3 for one night around the end of June, The inn was lovely, we arrived early so they held on to some things we didn't want to leave in the car and walked to the Wharf and then to the boardwalk which is a short distance from the Inn. We then walked to the downtown area, which was the highlight of our short stay. I feel I have to note, for those interested in going downtown, there is a trolley that goes from the front of the wharf to downtown for 25 cents each way.

We arrived back to our Inn just before 6pm to check in our room. The room was a king bed, very spacious with an awesome bathroom, a jacuzzi on one end and a nice shower on the other end. There was no bottled water in the room, there was a pitcher in the dining room of water with some very tiny water glasses. The one thing that ruined my stay here was the room was like a furnace! The thermostat actually said 78 degrees & had a note taped to it warning of action against you if you tried to adjust it from the inside.

In the morning, the temp was then 80 degrees, was cooler outside than inside the room! I could not wait to get out of there. Breakfast was... slightly on the disappointing side. It was mini bagels, a bowl of mixed fruit, a granola dish with milk topped with fruit and on a hot plate there were potatoes and some type of egg quiche but the only thing in it was egg so not sure what it was supposed to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    43
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
21
152
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three days. Needless to say we did not want to leave. The staff are fantastic and the location is absolutely perfect. Walk to restaurants as well as the beaches. We stayed in the Superior King room. It was one of the nicest rooms we ever stayed in. Small windows overlooking the ocean but still a fantastic view. The bathroom was fit for a king and queen. We enjoyed our stay so much we booked the same room for next year. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. If your looking for a very cute romantic getaway weekend I highly recommend this cute bed and breakfast. This will be one of our favorite vacation spots for many years to come. I would like to thank the staff for a amazing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and were driving up the coast and decided to stop in Santa Cruz for a night and spend some time at the beach enjoying the boardwalk. Imagine our disappointment when the weather was rainy and cold. However, when we arrived at the West Cliff Inn, my mood instantly improved. The staff was great and upgraded us because they were not full and put us in room 1 with a partial view of the ocean. The room was large, and decorated beautifully and the bathroom was even more amazing with beautiful marble and granite throughout. We arrived just in time for their wine/appetizer hour from 4-6. We sat in the grand living room looking out at the ocean and enjoying some lovely wine and cheese. The next morning we were even more surprised by the breakfast that was served, everything was amazing. Our only regret was that we were only staying there one night.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a view of the ocean, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manteca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I felt overwhelmed when I was given the best room with a million dollar view in such a beautiful Victorian house! It was the day of my birthday, a getaway from the heat wave in the Central Valley, to enjoy the cool weather in Santa Cruz. It was simply perfect! Sitting on the chair by the bay windows, sipping my favorite wine, taking in the view of the ocean, watching the hustle n bustle of the boardwalk and the wharf, all from the relaxing comforts of the room on the 2nd floor! The wine reception was really nice! After dinner in downtown (within walking distance) I enjoyed the evening in the jetted bath. Breakfast was awesome! I stayed in the room enjoying the view until it was time to check out. I didn't want to leave! I'm definitely coming back!

By the way, the staff of West Cliff Inn are so cordial! THANK YOU for such a perfect day to celebrate my birthday!!! :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My stay at the West Cliff Inn was a dream come true. I always wanted to stay at the beautiful Victorian House that over looked the wharf and boardwalk. The house is decorated in rich Traditional style that is warm and elegant. I enjoyed sitting in the bay window taking in the views of the beach. The front porch was a nice gathering place for views as well. They serve the best Breakfast in Santa Cruz and the Wine Reception is wonderful. Everything is walking distance including downtown. I can not wait to return to the West Cliff Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed just one night in the King Spa Suite (room 3) and it was lovely. The view overlooked the Santa Cruz beach. The breakfast and wine reception (both included) were wonderful. You will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Inn is really great, great location, very walk-able from the beach and the boardwalk. We only spent a couple of days in Santa Cruz and on the last night we went downtown for ice cream and realized that the good restaurants and places to hang out int he evening were all downtown. we spent a couple unfulfilling evenings at beach restaurants and bars and nothing was very good.

The inn is really nice and in a great location for beach fun, but don't neglect downtown for dinner, ice-cream and a drink.

Room Tip: we stayed in room #9 which was really nice, had a great bathroom with a large jetted tub and separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Address: 174 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff across from the beach, West Cliff Inn is a newly renovated historic building offering well appointed guestrooms and a fabulous coastal location. This Four Sisters Inn is a three-story Italianate Victorian with a wraparound porch offering views of the Monterey Bay. The inn features a breezy, coastal decor with fabrics in crisp blues and whites and the well-appointed guestrooms feature a fireplace, a marble tile bathroom, and most offer a jetted spa tub and king bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Inn, a 4 Sisters Inn
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Cruz
West Cliff Hotel
West Cliff Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.