We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay in Santa Cruz!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Save Saved
You added West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Fun From $255
Ranked #2 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An amazing stay in Santa Cruz!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

While cruising the web, I discovered that this lovely restored home nestled on a cliff overlooking the Pacific offers a "Bon Appetit" special. We signed up and got a lovely double room with ocean view and a nicely discounted meal at the Shadowlands Restaurant (equally amazing). The staff were welcoming, the late afternon wine and cheese perfect for winding down after our drive, and the breakfast in the lovely sittingroom/dining area well done. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    44
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
21
154
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We enjoyed a delightful stay at this B & B. It surpassed our expectations in every way. Absolutely immaculate property, both inside & out. This is the perfect example of well-run lodgings. Hats off to the wonderful staff, who delivered superb service with a smile.

Matt, Sarah & Lauren were particularly helpful, and we thank them for explaining directions so patiently, printing off maps, plus ensuring that we were always comfy and happy.

Special thanks to the gentleman who prepared breakfast this morning. He returned several times during breakfast, to ask guests if they needed anything else. Of course he did such a lovely job that we needed nothing at all!

We feasted on a generous spread of French toast, broccoli quiche, boiled eggs, chocolate chip scones, muesli, variety of sliced melons & other fruits, etc. This was in addition to bagels, cold cereals, bread, juice, coffee, tea. Spreads like jams, peanut butter & cream cheese were also available.

We looked forward to the 4.30pm-6pm hors d'oeuvres & wine, on both days we spent here (Nov 7 & 8, 2012) in Room 6. There was a cheese/crackers platter, plus veggies & dip, & also a dessert.

The Inn also offers fresh-baked cookies every day. What more could guests possibly ask for? Clean, safe surroundings, a feeling of being pampered with the much-appreciated extras described above, warm smiles from employees. We had it all, & would not hesitate to return. We highly recommend this B & B, & the location is gorgeous, with ocean views from all front rooms & balconies/decks, & easy walks to most local destinations. In fact, you simply cross the street to the beach .

I cannot suggest a single thing I would do differently at this Inn. It is perfect. Again, our sincere thanks for your hospitality. It would be our pleasure to return.

.

Room Tip: We were happy with our partial ocean view from Room 6. Ask for a front room if you'd prefer a fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here three weeks in a row after my mothers death. We needed to come each week for three weeks for, four days to clean out my mothers house, and the drive to Santa Cruz and the ocean views made the trip very enjoyable considering what we were going through at the time. The staff is great, the rooms are very nice, the bathrooms are great. My only complaint was room seven which is noisy in the morning. My favorite room is room 5 which has a private patio and hot tub. Great breakfasts in the morning. They do have afternoon wine and snacks, but not until 4:30 and we usually eat at 5 so we did not imbibe. This is the only place to stay in Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Room seven is noisy in the morning when they are cooking. Most of the other rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, north carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had reservations for one night on our way to San Fran and stayed another night - we were so comfortable. The rooms are large, airy, x-tra clean. (I saw maid cleaning base boards) The afternoon wine reception and snacks (cheese, crackers, veggies) was a bonus. The location is spectacular - we walked to the warf and and West Cliff trail to watch surfers. The inn has bikes for use. We borrowed and toured the surrounding neighborhoods. The staff was excellent. They up graded us without a request.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in room 3...beautiful view of Santa Cruz...The inn was so cute and the room was gorgeous! Me and my boyfriends first night as a couple was stayed here ( It was a surprise for me :) ) and we plan on going back for our 1 year anniversary....We've stayed at a lot of hotels since..And this is still our favorite!! Would recommend to anyone...Just wish we would've got to spend more time there...since it was only one night.. great bed...beautiful bathroom with huge jacuzzi tub! And since we got there late for check in..The staff was nice enough to leave our key in their lock box..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel has EXCELLENT service, and has the little extra.Just got back from moving our daughter into UC Santa Cruz dorms. We stayed one night as Thousand Oaks is very far to make the trip in one day.

What can I say? First of all we checked in an hour earlier and they had our room ready, they upgraded our room, EVEN when they were full, same price, Excellent service, breakfast and view, Nice private spa.
VERY comfortable bedding. Excellent cookies. And scones. All the staff is friendly.
Location is fantastic!
View of the boadrwalk peaceful and relaxing. Real Zen night

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in September. A boutique style B&B with 11 rooms the service and quality was really good. It was full the whole time we were there when other local hotels had the vacancy signs lit, which tells it all.
Located opposite the Wharf and within a stones throw of the Boardwalk the location is great.
The rooms are pretty and spotlessly clean, and each appeared to have it's own quirky quality. We had room 1 which has a sea view through a public side balcony on the ground floor, so it was private but we could still see the sea. The first floor had another public balcony where you could have tea time drinks which was fun.
Although the room was close to the reception and dining room, we were not disturbed at all, and it was great being able to nip and get a coffee. :)
This was the first time we have stayed in a small Inn rather than a large group hotel and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Address: 174 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff across from the beach, West Cliff Inn is a newly renovated historic building offering well appointed guestrooms and a fabulous coastal location. This Four Sisters Inn is a three-story Italianate Victorian with a wraparound porch offering views of the Monterey Bay. The inn features a breezy, coastal decor with fabrics in crisp blues and whites and the well-appointed guestrooms feature a fireplace, a marble tile bathroom, and most offer a jetted spa tub and king bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Inn, a 4 Sisters Inn
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Cruz
West Cliff Hotel
West Cliff Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.