We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location at a great value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Point Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Point Inn
Save
You added Pelican Point Inn to your Saves list
21345 E Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best location at a great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Pelican Point Inn for a week in July when visiting family in the area. We found the accommodations to be a perfect location for walking to the beach, nearby restaurants, grocery and access to the local express ways. It is only 5-7 minutes to downtown Santa Cruz, which we visited several times. Our unit was cozy with a little sitting area, table, private bath and separate bedroom. Ann, the owner/manager and her staff were wonderful. This was our first time visiting, however Ann called several guests by name as though they were returning guests! We much prefer the E. Cliff Drive location to West Cliff which is too near the boardwalk congestion. The Inn, to our surprise, was located at the halfway point of the "Warf to Warf" race that week, in which our son-in-law was participating. We were delighted to find the San Jose State Alumni band across the street playing as the runners came by. As a matter of fact there were three other bands in close proximity. We walked over to listen to all of them. If you want a very clean, quaint family owned motel with walking distance to the beach and other amenities you can't beat Pelican Point Inn. We found out that Ann and her husband bought the property about nine years ago. They rehabbed the entire property and then some... turned an ugly duckling into a swan!

Room Tip: Depends on your needs. This is a small hotel with many different room configurations. All have a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    4
    6
    0
See reviews for
30
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
santa cruz
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Imagine you have two teenage kids and want to stay in a hotel by the beach for a summer weekend in Santa Cruz. If you are Obama, you probably stay in Lanikai, HI. If you're not, you might like this place. Affordable, 5 minute walk at most to Twin Lakes beach, and the two rooms we stayed in (Suites 1 & 2) were recently updated with marble counters and nice kitchenettes. It would be very reasonable to make your own breakfasts and lunches here, we just didn't think to go shopping first. Why not 5 stars? Bathrooms were dated and a bit of road / guest noise.

Room Tip: Suites 1 and 2 were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwerbrug, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We only booked for two nights, but were said we had to leave during our trip on highway 1. Great location ( 4 min to the beach), comfy rooms and great service. Restaurant near the harbor ( The Crow's Nest) can be reached on foot by the beach, so you can leave your car to get some rest. The owners ( a German/Vietnamese couple) will make sure this place keeps tidy, as well as look after all your needs. We will come back!

Room Tip: Book in time, limited number of rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We just returned from a three day stay at the Pelican Point Inn. This place is run by a very friendly lady named Anne (owner?) who greated us like an old friend, couldn't be nicer. We booked the room two weeks before arrival, and she didn't take or want our credit card info at all. She promised a room would be ready when we got there, and followed up with an email, and it was ready, just like she said. Credit card information was given upon arrival. The units are clean, we got a one bedroom queen with a twin in the living room (couch and a couple of chairs were there too!) Everything was clean when we arrived, in fact is smelled like a spa room. The beds were unbelieveably comfortable!!! The kitchenette is remodeled and the bathroom nice size also remodeled with granite countertops in both, new sinks, lighting fixtures, etc. Kitchen was fully stocked for cooking with coffee pot, toaster, refridgerator, etc. No "continental breakfast" or pool, but it did not matter. The beach is beautiful and just a couple blocks away. Walking distance up the road or up the beach to a couple of really good restaurants and a short drive to the boardwalk. I was concerned about traffic noise, but it was hardly noticeable and very quiet at night. The only complaints I have, and these are SMALL issues, is a throw rug on the hardwood floor in front of the couch would have been kind of nice, and the couch itself was a little uncomfortable (plenty cushy, it's just the back pillows were overstuffed so it felt like I was getting pushed off....) The TV was older, but worked fine. The room attendant tidied up our rooms every day and refreshed the towels, replinished the coffee, etc., and did a nice job too. So, for $150 per night weekend and $130 weekday, this place was totally perfect. Both my friend and I were very happy to stay here, and just ask him, I can be persnickety!. Thank you Anne, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This place is old, the units are a bit cramped and dated, but are clean. Only a few units, maybe 10. Very close to the beach (couple blocks walk), and across the street is a mini store, and also a Mexican restaurant. So if you are on a budget and wish to make your own breakfast in the kitchenette, for $60 per night less than other nearby hotels close to Capitola side of Santa Cruz, this is the place. A safe area, too. The manager, who I believe is the owner, is very nice and attentive.

Room Tip: Couple of upstairs units. Also units vary in size a lot, so discuss that with the manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked two rooms for a visit to SC for Christmas. Anne, (I believe she is the owner), was incredibly accommodating and patient while I adjusted our reservation more than a few times. Wearrived and checked in with no hassle. Both rooms were just what our family needed. They were clean and comfortable and moral like small apartments. Rooms are fully equipped with kitchens for cooking breakfast or lunch. My sister even noted that the covers on the couch had just been cleaned and returned when they got their room. The Inn is across from a nice market, and down the street from a coffee shop. The best draw, we felt, was the walking distance to the beach. 1 block away is a great, low key, dog friendly dog beach. Prices are reasonable, for SC. We will make this our go-to place when we come bacteria to visit family.

I think the only negatives would be its on a busy street, and while we never heard street noise at night, there is a nice patio that is difficult to enjoy with the car noise.

Room Tip: #10 is the largest, it was the managers room and has full bedroom, kitchen, bath and living room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Easy check-in with a friendly host, very clean and roomy suite with a kitchenette and queen bedroom. Very comfy and again, clean, bed. Chairs and small table outside each room a really nice touch. Close to the beach and a really nice walk to downtown. The road is busy but it is quiet in the bedroom. So glad we stayed here for one night!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Point Inn

Address: 21345 E Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pelican Point Hotel Santa Cruz
Pelican Point Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.