We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was great! The room NOT so much..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coastview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coastview Inn to your Saves list
Coastview Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location was great! The room NOT so much..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

It was easy to check in, as soon as we walked in the room it had a smell. There was NO shower curtain and not enough towels. Rooms need to be updated! the pool is nasty and NOT heated. Parking sucks balls.. Other than that we liked the location rite across from the beach/boardwalk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Coastview Inn. Please accept our sincere apologies for problems encountered during your stay. I have forwarded your comments to the GM and owner. Clean and comfortable rooms are a priority for us, so for you to have any issues, like no shower curtain and towels, during your stay with us is unacceptable. As for the pool it is being repaired and should be back up and running with clean healthy water shortly.
Again. please accept our apology and the next time you are in our area give us another opportunity to provide a clean and comfortable room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    99
    51
    10
    33
See reviews for
80
80
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Not only I was I extremely disappointed in the outdated room (the TV had to be over 10 years old AND the volume didn't work on the remote...come on!), I was appalled by the lack of security for the hotel guests. I was woke up by a half a dozen juveniles outside my room at 2:00 o'clock in the morning at they visited in the parking lot. According to them, they "had no place to go". At 3:00 they were still there and when I asked them to leave they told me to go bugger off (but not in any nice terms). I had to call the police who responding promptly and of course the kids ran away. When I inquired about that the next day and how there was no way to contact anybody if there was an emergency, staff told me that though there is a "manager" on site, he must have slept through the noise. There's also suppose to be security walking around but there was nobody. Also, the lack of parking is really bad. Staff tells me that they keep a close eye on that so no one is taking up a guest's spot but then to find out, anybody with a car can pull into our spots and then go to the beach as I saw this first hand. There is no benefit to being right across the street to the boardway so if you can, go find you a decent place away from this dilipitated area.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We sincerely apologize for not only the rude guests outside your door and in our parking area but also our front desk agent. It is our policy to protect and provide great customer service for our guests and for you to have dealt with these issues are unacceptable. Please know your comments are extremely important to us and are being passed on to our owner and also general manager to be immediately addressed

We are working on providing updated items in our rooms so we hope you will give us another opportunity to provide sleeping accommodations for you the next time you are in our area. We would love another chance to provide for you a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Coastview Inn is just what we needed. A place where you walk a 100 yards and your at the Beach and the Boardwalk. Clean & comfy, it was our perfect crash pad.

Rooms are not a worry. Bottom floor for convenience but other than that your so spent by the time you walk in from the day and evening that after a shower it's "Sweet Dreams"

Room Tip: Rooms are not a worry. Bottom floor for convenience but other than that your so spent by the time yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms, so we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. You are so right about having a perfect location! Besides our great beach area we are within walking distance of several of the great venues close to us that our guests can enjoy. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area and thank you again for choosing Coastview Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Other than being located near the beach, pier, and arcade, this hotel is in serious need of updating. When we opened the door to Room 117, the smell of urine about knocked us down. The front desk guy brought a spray bottle of disinfectant/cleaner, sprayed the carpet around the door and was generally apologetic, but didn't really offer to do anything else for us. Note the photos I've attached showing the desk chair and bathroom areas. The bedspread and blanket were filthy, too. The pool area itself should be closed completely for a thorough power-wash to clean the walking areas and repair the paint chipping away from the retaining wall. For the amount of money we paid (around $184 after taxes and fees) we got screwed. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to let us know how your stay with us at Coastview Inn was. We sincerely apologize for the issues you dealt with and your comments are being sent to our general manager and owner of our Inn to be immediately addressed. We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms, so for you to have these issues are not our "norm".
We are planning a huge million dollar renovation of our property in fall of 2014 and would like to invite you to come back and see/enjoy our new updates. Again, please accept our heartfelt apology and consider giving us another opportunity to provide clean and comfortable sleeping accommodations for you and your family, the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is located across the street from the boardwalk. We arrived early and although we could not check in we were able to park our car and leave for the day. Traffic and parking can be a nightmare in this town so we were very thankful to be able to park early. This is an older hotel which could use some updating. There is a continental breakfast available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We are so happy you were able to enjoy your day knowing you had a great parking spot at your sleeping location! We are excited to share with you that we are planning a huge million dollar renovation in the Fall of 2014 and would love to have you come back and enjoy our new upgrades. We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms and will now be able to offer an updated Inn as well, so come back and stay with us when you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The pros: obviously the location - you can't beat it and we loved it. The room was clean and comfortable.

Cons: parking is crazy tight. There are very few spaces and its one lane in and out so you really have to watch for cars. Our room, like i said, was clean except one major thing: the floors. They seemed to have been vacuumed but they were in desperate need of shampooing. My kids feet turned black just from walking around for 10 min!! I told the front desk and they blamed it on the beach and said: " we do the best we can". I think for what they charge they can shampoo every so often. O and the breakfast was totally pathetic but held us over til lunch.

I would stay again cause the location is perfect

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We agree with you that our location is wonderful and we do pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms. Please accept our sincere apology about the carpeting in your room. Your comments are very important to us and have been sent to our general manager and owner of our Inn.
You will be pleased to hear we are doing a major over 1 million dollar renovation of our lovely property in the Fall of 2014 and we invite you to come and stay with us again. You will be able to enjoy all of our new upgrades and yet still have the awesome location!! We look forward to your return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We just stayed two nights at the Coastview Inn. It is directly across the street from the boardwalk, which is a real plus. Parking is free, also nice. The room was clean, pleasant and quiet, once the desk clerk quieted down the yahoos in the pool at 9:30 p.m.

There was good hot water, toiletries, enough towels, clean bedding and comfortable beds. I have no complaints on any of that. The so-called breakfast was horrible, however. We ate the first morning at 8:20 a.m. (breakfast begins at 8) but the Raisin Bran was gone, only the Cheerios remained. There was toast with butter and jam and some type of orange juice from a mix. There was only one pastry left, and it looked yukky. There was coffee and tea in the lobby, and that was just fine.

The second morning we walked down near the pier and ate at the restaurant in a green building, right next to the pier on the ocean side. (Can't remember its name, sorry.) Excellent and not-too-expensive breakfast.

I paid what I considered a premium for a room, about $130 a night, high for me. It did provide us a nice walk to the beach and boardwalk, so it was worth it. I'd stay again; I just wouldn't eat the breakfast!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are quieter, as no one can run around above you. We were in the middl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your stay with us at Coastview inn. It is a privilege to host our guests and have them so close to so many venues that are within walking distance! As for your room cleanliness and provisions it is our desire to always provide excellent serve to our guests and we are pleased you had a lovely stay. We take your comments very seriously and would like you to know I have passed your comment on to our owner and our general manager.
Please accept our apology for the breakfast not being up to parr during your stay with us, It will be immediately addressed.
Please come and stay with us again as we are doing a major renovation of our lovely property in Fall of 2014 and would love for you to see our improvements! Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your nest stay as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.