We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coastview Inn

Save Saved
You added Coastview Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coastview Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
stockton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Here right now just cleaned my room with Clorox ..... we paid about 160 dollars for this room.. not vacumed...all mirrors dirty...even the counters were not wiped down ...... come on guys... you are charging full summer prices...the least you could do was give us a clean room....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    73
    42
    9
    30
See reviews for
64
64
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

There's not a lot I can say about the Coastview Inn! It was a very reasonably priced hotel which provided a convenient stop off en-route to San Francisco. Having a free car park on-site was welcome, as was the proximity to the beach and pier. I personally found Santa Cruz to be uninspiring but that's a matter of opinon!

The room was basic but clean and perfectly adequate. Staff were very friendly and helpful. At one point I thought the car battery had been stolen, however it transpired that it was flat. The kind receptionist arranged for a local garage to come and jump start the car which was very helpful.

I wouldn't stay here again as I wouldn't wish to visit Santa Cruz again! However, if the hotel was located somewhere else then I would not hesitate in staying!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, otherwise you will end up looking over an abandoned building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are simple but the location can't be beat. It is located right across the street from the beach and a short wall to the pier and the boardwalk. The Firefish Grill was wonderful. The mini golf across the street was quite inexpensive at $5 for 18 holes. The pool was dirty and never used. This was not a big deal as the beach was across the street. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We originally made reservations for the paradise inn accross the street because it was cheaper. Little did we know we would be running in the opposite direction as soon as we got there. We came here and they were so friendly and the room we stayed in was great. We didn't even have reservations and we were able to get a room for two nights. It's clean and well updated. Everything works great in the room and we are literally across the street from the beach and boardwalk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here in August, from the UK. This place had a great location in the middle of the main strip. The staff were friendly and rooms were clean. Amenities were basic and the breakfast was average but if you relate this to the price I think it was more than a good deal. Overall, I would happily recommend and stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalinde, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We only stopped for one night but it was a very pleasant stay,
Young man at the front desk was helpful, parking is good and no problem for me but have seen a few reviews about being a bit tight so just depends on your driving skills proberly not a problem for european guests, Non-Smoking our room was ok but big cigarette trays outside each room door smell a bit every time you pass them,
would I stay here again Yes

Watch out for the roundabout in Santa Cruz (didn't think they had them in the US)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I'm not going to try to be negative about this review because I don't like being negative but I will simply give facts.
-Nonsmoking room smell clearly of cigarette smoke during whole stay
-mattress stiff
-hotel on boardwalk
-beach is literally right there
-parking lot awkward and hazardous
-underground packing lot leaks
-staff friendly, helpful, nice
-continental breakfast coffee & cold cereal
-you are next to a bowling alley and can hear the pins knocking crystal clearly in the parking lots
-walls paper thin. Heard the man next door brushing his teeth in the morning (not electric brush)
-heater worked :) (winter vacationer)
-sketchy neighborhood behind hotel
-screaming sounds all night, kept waking up to all the neighborhood sounds
- local surfers use hotel parking for their day use
- maybe 11 hotel parking spots and 2 handicap
-clean
-appliances in great condition

Room Tip: I would pay the extra for a beach view room. ASK FOR CORNER ROOM so there is a possibility of better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.