We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't Go Back but Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coastview Inn

Save Saved
You added Coastview Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coastview Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Won't Go Back but Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I'm not going to try to be negative about this review because I don't like being negative but I will simply give facts.
-Nonsmoking room smell clearly of cigarette smoke during whole stay
-mattress stiff
-hotel on boardwalk
-beach is literally right there
-parking lot awkward and hazardous
-underground packing lot leaks
-staff friendly, helpful, nice
-continental breakfast coffee & cold cereal
-you are next to a bowling alley and can hear the pins knocking crystal clearly in the parking lots
-walls paper thin. Heard the man next door brushing his teeth in the morning (not electric brush)
-heater worked :) (winter vacationer)
-sketchy neighborhood behind hotel
-screaming sounds all night, kept waking up to all the neighborhood sounds
- local surfers use hotel parking for their day use
- maybe 11 hotel parking spots and 2 handicap
-clean
-appliances in great condition

Room Tip: I would pay the extra for a beach view room. ASK FOR CORNER ROOM so there is a possibility of better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    72
    41
    9
    29
See reviews for
61
62
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The location is unbeatable, as you can keep your car in the motel lot and simply walk one block to the beach and boardwalk. Our room was very small, but well furnished and clean. It was a bit noisy... we were on the second floor, but people down by the pool were clearly audible, as were people talking next door. But the value was very good. Middling continental breakfast is included. Coffee was decent. WiFi was free and easy. If you stay and have noisy neighbors, you might play a "white noise" video on YouTube on your mobile device when you're ready to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This motel has the potential of being a great asset to the local tourism scene, being a profitable enterprise and offering a premier product, but clearly there are management issues that need to be attended to before it can claim to be anything but a basic motel.

On arrival the welcome was very cold. Not even a hello. I settled into my room, which I must say was very clean and had all the facilities that you would need for a comfortable stay. The only thing which was missing was a coffee machine which was stated on the booking agent’s web site. Only a minor thing and not a big issue because I always carry a travel kettle with me for the early morning cuppa.

Later I tried to switch on the TV, following the instructions left in the room. Alas I could not get it to work. I went to speak to the receptionist who agreed to come up to my room and help, only to be told “there is no satellite box, so your TV will not work”. He went away to speak to the manager and returned to tell me that it would be several days before a satellite box would be available. The hotel was full so there were no other rooms to move to. After a little negotiation I was told that they would offer a refund on the room for not having TV.

The next day I went out and on returning to my room to find the electronic key would not work. I went to the reception and asked why. With no emotion was expressed as the key was reprogrammed. At least they could have said sorry.

Later that day I returned to my room to discover that it had not been cleaned. I enquired why my room had not been made up, only to be asked “did you put the card on your door asking for maid service”. What card? There was no card in the room and no instructions anywhere stating this was the procedure. The receptionist said he would try and find the maid to visit the room before she went home. It then became obvious that there was only one maid to clean all of the rooms.

On one of my many visits to the reception I noticed some younger customers were being refused a room because they wanted to pay cash. “We do not accept cash” was the response from the staff member on duty. An odd way to do business!
At the front of the motel there were hand written posters advertising for staff. Clearly they motel had staffing issues.

The exterior corridors and communal areas needed to be cleaned. There were obvious drink stains, overflowing bins and ashtrays full of cigarette butts.

Because of my frequent visits to reception, I got to know the young receptionist quite well. He became very likeable but it was clear however he had little knowledge of the hotel and hospitality sector and was probably just carrying out the orders from management. I have in the past offered advice to business such as this one, and would gladly work with them to help turn the business around, if they were interested.

On the positive side, the rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The bed was just right for me to get a good night’s sleep. Free parking is offered which is an added bonus for staying in the beach area. Breakfast is average American motel style but enough to set you up for a day. The motel is situated right on the beach and within steps of the Broadwalk amusement area. There are many restaurants nearby. It is also within walking distance of downtown. There is a shuttle bus nearby which takes you downtown for just 25 cents.

The choice is obviously yours. The motel is clean and comfortable, but unless the attitude of management changes, you might encounter problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nice Surprise! Room is somwhat like a Motel 6. The size is OK, the king bed was a bit saggy, there's that familiar musty/bleach smell, and the single paned windows allow for road and tourist noise. So why the 4 rating? For one thing, there are unexpected amenities - small refrigerator, microwave, free high-speed wireless internet, continental breakfast (but just from 8A-10A), HD TV with Dish Network (mine worked great; not the same experience as the earlier reviewer). But what’s really remarkable is the location – it is literally across the street from the famous Boardwalk, and just a block and a half walk from the Wharf (dining, shopping, fishing, views). Strongly recommend the Ocean View rooms, especially those on the second floor – great views!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms look right out onto the ocean, boardwalk, and wharf. we stayed in Rm 202 but it ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice stay right on the beach. It is not a big new hotel, but it was nice enough for an overnight stay.

The stay was friendly and informative.

Rooms were just OK. Beds were just average and the tv was old at best. I wasn't there to watch TV though.

I would visit again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This place is pretty good value for money. You get on sight parking which is really useful in Santa Cruz, and the location is right on the beach and only a 10 minute walk from the hubbub of town.

The rooms are really basic which is to be expected with the price. They come with air conditioning, a tv and wifi however I couldn't get either the tv or wifi to work.

Staff were pretty friendly and helpful in giving us directions.

All in all pretty good value in my book

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were worried about the quality of motels in Santa Cruz since Tripadvisor didn't show very good ones for most of them....but then we found the Coastview Inn.
We must say this motel is a perfect place for a stay in Santa Cruz. It's directly at the beach and if you are lucky some of the rooms that do not officially have the full ocean view still allow you to get a glimpse of the beach and pier when looking through your window/door. When waking up it was the first thing we did in the morning - looking at the beach!
The room was surprisingly modern, very clean and all staff were very friendly! We got a very nice welcome at reception and were greeted by everybody that we walked by.
The bed (king) was huge and the entire room spacious. There is free coffee/tea and iced water at reception at all times. They even served breakfast with decent cereals, oats, toast with butter, jam and peanut butter as well as fresh milk and orange juice. There is also a small pool. Downtown with bars and restaurants is a 10mins walk away.
The price was very affordable, too, just about $70+tax for the double room. Altogether - a really great place for a night (or definitely more!) in Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: we stayed in 209, on the first floor and still got that bit of the ocean view ;) not sure whether 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.