We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Great Location and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coastview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coastview Inn to your Saves list
Coastview Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dated but Great Location and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nice Surprise! Room is somwhat like a Motel 6. The size is OK, the king bed was a bit saggy, there's that familiar musty/bleach smell, and the single paned windows allow for road and tourist noise. So why the 4 rating? For one thing, there are unexpected amenities - small refrigerator, microwave, free high-speed wireless internet, continental breakfast (but just from 8A-10A), HD TV with Dish Network (mine worked great; not the same experience as the earlier reviewer). But what’s really remarkable is the location – it is literally across the street from the famous Boardwalk, and just a block and a half walk from the Wharf (dining, shopping, fishing, views). Strongly recommend the Ocean View rooms, especially those on the second floor – great views!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms look right out onto the ocean, boardwalk, and wharf. we stayed in Rm 202 but it ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheObjectiveCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice stay right on the beach. It is not a big new hotel, but it was nice enough for an overnight stay.

The stay was friendly and informative.

Rooms were just OK. Beds were just average and the tv was old at best. I wasn't there to watch TV though.

I would visit again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viper19692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This place is pretty good value for money. You get on sight parking which is really useful in Santa Cruz, and the location is right on the beach and only a 10 minute walk from the hubbub of town.

The rooms are really basic which is to be expected with the price. They come with air conditioning, a tv and wifi however I couldn't get either the tv or wifi to work.

Staff were pretty friendly and helpful in giving us directions.

All in all pretty good value in my book

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobaiyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were worried about the quality of motels in Santa Cruz since Tripadvisor didn't show very good ones for most of them....but then we found the Coastview Inn.
We must say this motel is a perfect place for a stay in Santa Cruz. It's directly at the beach and if you are lucky some of the rooms that do not officially have the full ocean view still allow you to get a glimpse of the beach and pier when looking through your window/door. When waking up it was the first thing we did in the morning - looking at the beach!
The room was surprisingly modern, very clean and all staff were very friendly! We got a very nice welcome at reception and were greeted by everybody that we walked by.
The bed (king) was huge and the entire room spacious. There is free coffee/tea and iced water at reception at all times. They even served breakfast with decent cereals, oats, toast with butter, jam and peanut butter as well as fresh milk and orange juice. There is also a small pool. Downtown with bars and restaurants is a 10mins walk away.
The price was very affordable, too, just about $70+tax for the double room. Altogether - a really great place for a night (or definitely more!) in Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: we stayed in 209, on the first floor and still got that bit of the ocean view ;) not sure whether 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaLe798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is centrally located between the wharf and the boardwalk, and is right across the street from beach access. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and had excellent suggestions for restaurants in the area. I was very happy with my stay here, and I definitely would return to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We choose this hotel because it was less costly than the Dream Inn located a few blocks away where we were going to a wedding. Like many of the other hotels along the Boardwalk it is motel style with doors facing an outdoor walkway. This means passing guests and Boardwalk noises (A couple of Bongo drummers almost caused us to check out the first night) can be heard. But the value and location make it worth while. It was tidy, not very update and acceptable in terms of cleanliness. The staff was always very helpful. I wish there was an in-room safe. Parking was free, which is a big deal as traffic in this area can be rough.

Room Tip: Right in the middle, not in back near the pool nor up front where you might hear boardwalk noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleinne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It is impossible to have a better location than the Coastview Inn. It is directly across the street from the beach and in the middle of everything. Our room was relatively clean, but you can tell that no one is checking up on the housekeeping staff as there were dusty surfaces in our room and the exhaust fan filter in the bathroom needed changing. The room could have really used a deep clean. Nothing gross yet, but that could change very soon.

The cleanliness of the external part of the inn left something to be desired. There are ash tray/trash cans outside several of the rooms and none of them were cleaned or emptied during our three day visit. Parking could also be a challenge. I can't blame the parking situation on the inn, given their location I'm sure a lot of people try to park there for free. They did find me a spot so not a huge concern.

I can recommend this place as long as you are willing to approach it with an "it is what it is" type of attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STL_MO_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing