We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windy, but great Seascapes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilder Ranch State Park

Wilder Ranch State Park
Highway One, Santa Cruz, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 33 attractions in Santa Cruz
Type: State Parks
Activities: Hiking, Biking
Attraction Details
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Windy, but great Seascapes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We brought bikes, and it was super windy this day, bring a hoody!
Whitecaps on the ocean, but gorgeous photo ops of the coastline. lots of seals sunning on the rocks below and many Albatross sailing by. The photos were great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salinas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My great,great uncle's ranch! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Way back in the 1860's, my great,great uncle started this dairy/ranch. It was the first self sustained working dairy in the United States at the time. I love the hiking trails and there is a free tour of the place. Parking fees I think are $10. They have fun events there, especially on the Fourth of July. Many of the old buildings and the main house exist. They show you how everything worked then, it is so amazing! I told the docent just before a tour that my dad used to visit his uncle on the Ranch and play on the farm equipment! Soooo, she wanted to talk to him and he loves to talk about it. They must have been on the phone for almost 40 min then she HAD to start the tour! I have done the tour many times and always enjoy it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“West Coast Beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

In the future when I think about west coast beaches, this is what will come to mind. A very scenic walk along the cliffside beaches. Very pretty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice place for a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We visited the park and took a nice walk through Wilder Ranch near the buildings to include stops by the 2 horses in the field, the cow in the back area, the goats near the barns and the chickens out by the Historical Garden. We enjoyed a picnic lunch on the picnic tables and our 2 year was very happy to see all the animals. Nice place for a relaxing walk with the bonus of seeing a few animals.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“WILDER RANCH STATE PARK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A great place for history. When they mention the Castro family, it is my family, Richard Winterhalder. They have done a great job of showing how it was on days gone by.
BUD

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilder Ranch State Park also viewed

 

Been to Wilder Ranch State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilder Ranch State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wilder Ranch State Park to your Saves list