We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints for the value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National 9 Motel

Save Saved
You added National 9 Motel to your Saves list
National 9 Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
National 9 Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   130 Plymouth St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Reedley, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No complaints for the value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This motel has its quirks, but for the value it's a great find and we'd definitely return again. We had no issue with loud residents or traffic. The owner was very friendly. Amenities are limited, but sufficient for a good, comfortable night's sleep. We stayed in room 15 (second floor) and found the best deal on booking.com. Here's a few positive observations:

* WiFi was good enough to stream Netflix on our computer. You'll need to call the lobby to get the WiFi password.
* The bed was comfortable. We had a single-queen room, and the room didn't feel cramped at all. Our daughter (toddler) slept on the floor in her sleeping bag.
* Free parking (you have to give info about your car when you check in)
* Friendly staff
* The room (including sheets, pillows, towels) are well maintained. My wife is very sensitive to smoke because it easily triggers an asthma attack - even when I don't smell the smoke myself. Our non-smoking room was truly smoke-free.
* Swimming pool (it's located in front across from the lobby and is about as long as some pools are wide - it's kinda small)
* Easy access to the freeway
* Bath area is tiled with granite

Some of the quirks we observed:
* The room is heated with a gas wall furnace controlled by a separate thermostat. The thermostat seemed to need adjustment because we had to raise it pretty high to get it to switch on.
* The water pressure is kinda weak (maybe this was just because we were on the second floor?)
* There's no elevator
* The bathroom has a shower/bath combo, but there was no way to block the drain for filling the bath. We ended up covering the drain with a folded wash cloth and securing it down with the suctioned no-slip shower mat, which did the trick
* No hairdryer
* No microwave or fridge
* The door locks are low-tech. No electronic entry - you're given an old-fashioned key :)
* They supply a bar of soap for the sink and one for the shower, but no shampoo
* The sink and counter are noticeably low (about midpoint between your knee and hip)
* No alarm clock (no clock in the room at all)
* No breakfast - just coffee in the lobby
* Not within walking distance of the beach, so you'll want to drive closer to the boardwalk (beach parking is $1.50/hr for meters and $6/day for parking lots)
* No in-room movies

There were NO bed bugs, NO rude owners, and NO questionable vagabonds lingering around the place. We were very happy with what we got because we went with reasonable expectations. As long as you know this is a budget motel that aims primarily to give you a comfortable place to spend the night without all the other frills, I believe you'll be pleased with your stay.

NOTE: This motel is NOT pet friendly (several signs in the lobby window emphasize this). There's another National 9 Motel a few blocks down Ocean Street (1015 Ocean St) that *is* pet friendly.

Room Tip: Get ground floor if you have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    5
    1
    11
See reviews for
6
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Greetings !
My two puppies and I were turned down at 2 hotels before we saw the friendly sign Pet friendly outside of National 9 Motel. They were !
I paid 20 each for a non-refundable deposit.
enjoyed a comfortable large room which include a microwave a refridgerator. tv with cable and wi-fi. an abundance of clean towels.
Honesty ! I left my power source called the next day they had it. !
we were able to walk to the Santa Cruz diner open 24/7.
Enjoyed Fresh roasted coffee at The Santa Cruz coffee Roasters yummy !!!!

Plan a stop !!! We found it more than worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms would be a fantastic choice or ask to see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Please, do not do as I did and listen to the other people's reviews. There are way better hotels for the same price in the area. The people that run this hotel are crazy. We had reservations and they put us in a room next to a group of approx. 8 loud, drinking, and smoking men. We were in the hotel room for no less than 5 minutes when the owner and his wife busted into the room saying we had to leave!! Confused, asking why, they said, "We don't take your kind here" Astonished, considering, the four of us: a nurse, paramedic, server, and event planner- replied, "And the guys next door?"

"They work for us" (This was at 9pm) They then continued, "We are not here to babysit"

Speechless, at how rude and kind of hilarious this was, because it was so unexpected- we decided we would indeed leave. Then, to make things worse, the men next to us offered my two girlfriends drugs. My friend called the cops, because she was so freaked out.

Dont stay here!!! It's not safe!!! Absolutely NO customer service. They are nuts!

Room Tip: They are all surrounding a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

For the price, you won't find a better, cleaner motel. I've stayed at most of the more economical motels in the area and only National 9 was good enough.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

While your results may vary, we had a comfortable stay at this National 9,( there appears to be two National 9 locations in Santa Cruz.) Their street address is 130 Plymouth, it is really at the north end of Ocean St.. We were lucky enough to be placed in a small house in the back of the property that had been converted to three units, our room was clean, bed was comfortable, everything worked fine, no maintenance issues, the staff was friendly, responsive and accommodating. Very convenient location, instant access to Route 17 & 1, gas stations, McDonalds, Denny's close by.

This is no "hidden gem," but it's just as valuable to alert other travelers to a place that is not exceptional, but does provide a good value compared to the other motels in relatively expensive in Santa Cruz..

Disclaimer...We did not stay in the main building, which would be more like the standard motel experience. Subject to all the usual problems of side by side, up and down living.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

My husband and I love to stay at the National 9. The owners take good care of us and if we have any requests, they do their best to accommodate us. The rate is very low, which allows us to go to Santa Cruz more often than if we stayed at a more luxurious motel, and that is the choice we make. It's not as nice as a lot of places, but the value is great. We ride our bikes from the hotel to the boardwalk and all around town, and even have enough room in our motel room to put our bikes overnight.
Complainers need to remember that this is a good deal and to treat the owners/managers with respect. They will return that respect, rest assured. Kindness begets kindness.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Asked for a room to be held saying would arrive in 5-10 minutes. Had an accident enroute and called to say we were unable to stay in Santa Cruz. Even though it was a holiday weekend and the property coul easily have sold the room to another traveler, they refused saying "it was in the computer and they could do nothing to reverse it". I know beter. Based on their attitude and the other reviews I would recommend you avoid this property.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2008
Reservations booked online through a travel
agent cannot be cancelled on the day of arrival at the motel.Customer has to cancel
with the booking travel agency as the rese rvation is subject to a commission payable
to the travel agency.If the travel agency agrees
to cancel the reservation and we can sell the room we will not charge the customer.We highly recommend customers get the travel agency involved in such cases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to National 9 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Motel

Address: 130 Plymouth St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — National 9 Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your National 9 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National 9 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.