We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go every chance we get” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Spur

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Silver Spur
2650 Soquel Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95065
831-475-2725
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 331 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Soquel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go every chance we get”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love to eat here as much as we can. Breakfast or lunch are always great and the staff is very friendly. Sometimes we have to wait quite a while but it's always worth it. We sometimes choose to eat at the counter or "community table" where we have met quite a few very interesting people. Linda, the owner always has different specials as well as the standard menu available. The food always tastes so fresh and is presented very nicely. A lot of times I take 1/2 my meal home, depending on what I order. The desserts are always wonderful and home made.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey Bay
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

You better be hungry if you go here for breakfast.
They have a great selection and it arrives in a abundant fashion, so put on your food bib.
The only downside is that they are not open on Sunday, which is the best day for me.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“we're regulars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Well, we are prejudiced- we live half a block from the Spur and we are "regulars." So we have tried lots of items, and we also know how to beat the long lines (go before 9am or after 1pm). It can be noisy and crowded at times but worth it. The food is all fresh, home made and great. NOT a chain! The owner is there most all the time and the crew has had very little turnover over the years. The atmosphere is cheerful and the service is great; if you can't catch your own waitperson's eye, any other one will gladly help you. We have also discovered you can split, share, use the kids/senior menu or substitute things, all without extra charge (maybe a little for splitting, not sure). Very flexible menu and plenty of vegetarian choices. On the rare occasion (2-3 times in 10 years of going at least twice a week) we had any problem with the food it was fixed IMMEDIATELY, with sincere concern. Love the Spur!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Silver Spur is a great place for a huge breakfast. The portions are very large. The pancakes are good and big. Several choices of egg dishes. It's always crowded, so expect to wait at peak times. Everything is home made.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best diner style breakfast spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

You know it's good here when you see the same folks again and again. Great breakfast menu, with some of the best french toast around!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Spur also viewed

 

Been to Silver Spur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Spur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.