We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Spur

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Silver Spur
2650 Soquel Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95065
831-475-2725
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 329 restaurants in Santa Cruz
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Monterey Bay
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

You better be hungry if you go here for breakfast.
They have a great selection and it arrives in a abundant fashion, so put on your food bib.
The only downside is that they are not open on Sunday, which is the best day for me.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    25
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
santa cruz
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“we're regulars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Well, we are prejudiced- we live half a block from the Spur and we are "regulars." So we have tried lots of items, and we also know how to beat the long lines (go before 9am or after 1pm). It can be noisy and crowded at times but worth it. The food is all fresh, home made and great. NOT a chain! The owner is there most all the time and the crew has had very little turnover over the years. The atmosphere is cheerful and the service is great; if you can't catch your own waitperson's eye, any other one will gladly help you. We have also discovered you can split, share, use the kids/senior menu or substitute things, all without extra charge (maybe a little for splitting, not sure). Very flexible menu and plenty of vegetarian choices. On the rare occasion (2-3 times in 10 years of going at least twice a week) we had any problem with the food it was fixed IMMEDIATELY, with sincere concern. Love the Spur!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Silver Spur is a great place for a huge breakfast. The portions are very large. The pancakes are good and big. Several choices of egg dishes. It's always crowded, so expect to wait at peak times. Everything is home made.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best diner style breakfast spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

You know it's good here when you see the same folks again and again. Great breakfast menu, with some of the best french toast around!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went on Labor Day and had a 45 minute wait(lots of benches and coffee while you wait). We have passed this place many times and seen the long waits so we had to try it. They have a good variety, ample portions and decent prices. Everything we had was great(french toast, waffles, eggs, potatoes, biscuits). The service was great. Closed on Sundays.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Spur also viewed

 

Been to Silver Spur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Spur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.