We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 (USD)
Ranked #5 of 16 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
boulder
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Echo is well priced and located "50 steps" from the beach. Is a short drive from the downtown area where there are restaurants and movie theater. Well located to allow scenic drives to other points of interest. You can hear the sound of the surf as you fall asleep and smell the ocean breeze when you wake. The grounds are well maintained and the back patio has a lovely view from the deck, where you can chat with the wonderful hosts Candy and Tony. You can get a good espresso or cup of coffee at the Windmill cafe, two blocks away.

Room Tip: Stay in room 14 for the best price. It's small but you won't there much because you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Ocean Echo Inn. Please let us know if your future travel plans include Santa Cruz, as we would love to have you as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    39
    17
    14
    14
See reviews for
39
64
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I spent the night of September 14, 2013, and enjoyed our stay. We would readily stay here again. Paul and his wife, the managers, were very nice and helpful in pointing out directions and things to do to make our visit pleasant. We were in town to visit the Capitola Art and Wine Festival. This Inn was an easy drive to that event and also an easy drive to the Boardwalk and Yacht Harbor, both of which we visited. Our room was clean and comfortable, very basic, and had a small kitchenette and flat screen tv. It is part of an early 1900's farmhouse that has been restored. We enjoyed an afternoon bottle of wine on the patio while visiting with other guests. There is a continental type breakfast offered, with bagels, yogurt, and fruit. This place is nice in that it has close access to a small sandy beach that is only about 100 yards away. It is also quiet and does not have the all night yelling and noise that one may have to put up with when staying at motels near the Boardwalk.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We very much enjoyed having you as our guests, and your positive comments about our property, location and accommodations. Please come back to visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Pros: The Ocean Echo Inn sit on a great property and wonderful beach location away from the hustle and bustle of Downtown Santa Cruz. It is in quiet residential surroundings. I stayed in Room 4 which was supposed to be one of the two best rooms. The Cons: It is very dated and not worth the $245 we paid each night. Yes there was a basic kitchen, a deck and a grilling area (charcoal, bring your own). Because it is so dated I am sure it is difficult to keep it clean. However, no excuse.
My understanding by the managers, Mark and Betty, who departed last week, was that this place is owned by three generation hoteliers in Santa Cruz. They should be reassessing how much they charge and invest in the place. The inside furniture is sparse,the patio furniture is all mismatched and essentially rusted, the bathrooms dirty.

My biggest disappointment is all the great reviews on this site which was my deciding factor. I usually find reviewers more accurate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We regret that your experience here at Ocean Echo had both positive and negative aspects. As new Managers, our goal is to provide the ultimate in guest service, and to also ensure that even though the property is older, that it is well-maintained, and most importantly, impeccably clean.
As we are in the process of extensive upgrading and updating the entire property, we would be pleased to have you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is an over-priced (very) at best camping/hunting cabin. The floor boards appear to have been chewed by rats-not to mention the ceiling. Dirty linens, dirty floors (and walls), moldy bathroom, bugs, I could go on and on. Could they really not even sweep the patio? Arriving in the middle of the night with 3 small children we were shocked and appalled by the condition of this "cottage". The pictures on the Internet absolutely do not reflect the conditions of this property. We travel frequently and this is the worst room we have EVER seen. Had we paid $70 for this room, the condition might be justified but I literally feel like this place is stealing my money. Absolutely NOT a $250 room. When your 5 year old is asking to move to move to another hotel at 1am, you know it's bad. And don't believe the remodeling claims, unless they are doing it one set of blinds at a time-yes, even the blinds in the same room are different ages of dilapidation. This "cottage" should be removed from the rental pool. I would rather sleep in my car.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Ocean Echo Inn. I booked the room a month prior for my husband as a quick bday getaway. We brought along our almost 2 year old. VERY child friendly place! The manager was so nice and welcoming. The location was perfect, just a 30 sec walk to the beach. The rooms were a little outdated but very clean. I'm SUPER picky about where we stay with our toddler. This totally went above and beyond with a larger small fridge and microwave. Another plus was the bottle opener in our room :) I am definitely coming back and have already been recommending it to family and friends!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We're so glad you had a great time! Thanks for the review. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family checked into the hotel without really knowing what we would get...it was a last minute trip. We ended up staying an additional two days. The hospitality was excellent and we really liked the laid-back cottage feel. It is sixty steps to a wonderful beach. We had a couple of bon fires and fell asleep in the evening to the crashing waves. Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! Glad you had a great time. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My room was clean and easy to access. I stayed for 2 nights and felt comfortable enough to work on my laptop, read, and take walks on the beach. The location is perfect for walking or driving to other places of interest. Mark and Betty, the managers, made the stay even better! Being here felt like a real get-away and I would do it again!

Room Tip: Get a good view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the review - see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Address: 401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem with direct access to the beach at Sunny Cove, a favorite local beach between Santa Cruz and Capitola! This property has a private and charming location with quaint rooms and cottages where you can spend the day on your romantic getaway, enjoy fun family events, eat at great local restaurants, then return to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Some units have fully-equipped kitchens, ocean views & private decks. Some units are dog-friendly. Short walk to restaurants & yacht harbor. Free continental breakfast, free parking & free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Echo Inn And Beach Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.