We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Rooms
Ranked #5 of 16 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Truckee, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We fit our family of four and dog in unit 10. It was great. The kitchen allowed us to cook at home. We had a little yard for the dog and to store our bikes. We BBQ'd and ate outside there, too. Sunny Cove is an awesome beach and being able to walk there without crossing any roads, from the cottage was ideal. It's also close to the new swim center on 17th for some warm pool stuff with the kids.

The place is old and has the funky charm and quirks/issues of a 100 year old cottage. I like that sort of thing, though. It was a bit pricey, but considering the yard, separate bedroom and living room, and kitchen, it was cheaper than a VRBO house.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks so much for your review, glad you had a good time.

See you next time!
Mark & Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    41
    19
    14
    14
See reviews for
42
70
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We decided to get away for a few days and I had remembered staying here years ago, so we gave it a shot. They are under new management who are very nice and friendly people. The cottage was very clean, a little outdated, but clean. I like that they have little kitchens in the rooms, that way you don't have to eat out for every meal. There is a beautiful little beach cove about 2 mins walking distance from the place. I liked that it is not too far from the boardwalk or Capitola, yet far enough away you don't have to deal with tourists. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks so much for your review!! See you next time.

Mark & Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

bopped into town for a friend's wedding and stayed at the Ocean Echo for the first time in a few years (since an ownership & manager change) ... and is well ... the place is as cool as it ever was ... great location, great ambiance, and ... it was a tad cheaper than the last time!!!

Room Tip: love room #12 on the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks for your review! See you next time. Mark & Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stumbled upon this AMAZING gem and could not have been happier!!! The staff were as
kind as could be and it truely felt like a B&B rather than a motel. Our room had a view of the ocean and we literally just walked out to a private cover to enjoy the night with local residents.
We are recommending this hotel to all our friends and family!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks so much for your review!
See you next time, Mark & Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in cottage no 12 which is a room in the main house. It's the one with the best sea view but it is very tired. Having said that the bed was comfy and there was plenty of hot water. It's away from the tourist area and has room to park your car.

Room Tip: other rooms have been updated but do not offer the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks so much for your review!

Mark & Betty Sloan, managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We decided to have a last-minute get-away. The problem is we like to travel with our small dog, and finidng decent and AFFORDABLE places that are dog-friendly is difficult.

My traveling companion found Echo Ocean Inn,with a rate of less than $200/night. Now - I like luxory, but I hate paying big bucks for hotel rooms (I used to work for a chain and enjoyed the free lodging, now I hate to pay for it!). Especially 'affordable' hotels that offer little in the way of emenities. But the reviews were positive - and we went into it with a positive state of mind.

We arrived around 1 pm, ealry for check-in. They allowed us to check-in, and asked for another 15 minutes and our room would be ready - cool, we don't have to wait around!

The room is nothing fancy, but it has a functional (bare-bones) kitchen, dinette table, with a bay window (there was a glimpse of the ocean from that window!). The queen size bed was clean, comfortable. TV had basic cable channels.

The best part was we were LITERALLY half a block from this cute little cove! We took the dog there to play, and enjoyed time on the beach. A small amopunt of people were there - so you didn't feel abondoned, but you didn't feel like you were on a big crowded beach, either.

Coming back to the inn, they have a place to hose down and wash off the sand (on both us aAND the dog!). They even gave us a few towels to use on the dog!

The staff at the Inn were all very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks so much! We look forward to seeing you again. Mark & Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I spent 2 weeks in Santa Cruz on business, and thankfully the local people booked my stay at Ocean Echo. I travel nationally and often have difficulty remembering where I am because all the major chains start to look the same. Ocean Echo is a wonderful change from that - Bill and Shelly are the on-site managers, and they project and offer absolutely the best hospitality I have encountered in my travels. They make you feel as though you are staying with friends. For the trafeler who prefers character and uniqueness to cookie-cutter lodging, this is a wonderful and comfortable place to stay in Santa Cruz, and the very convenient beach access is a great plus. The rooms are not fancy but certainly are functional and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Address: 401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem with direct access to the beach at Sunny Cove, a favorite local beach between Santa Cruz and Capitola! This property has a private and charming location with quaint rooms and cottages where you can spend the day on your romantic getaway, enjoy fun family events, eat at great local restaurants, then return to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Some units have fully-equipped kitchens, ocean views & private decks. Some units are dog-friendly. Short walk to restaurants & yacht harbor. Free continental breakfast, free parking & free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Echo Inn And Beach Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.