We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Hummus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Limelight

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Limelight
1016 Cedar St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-3828
831-425-7873
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 293 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try the Hummus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Cafe Limelight is casual, intimate and funky. It's a bit like eating over at a friend's house. Always great jazz on the stereo. We have some favorite grilled sandwiches here, but we always get the house-made hummus. It's served with bell peppers, bread, carrots and cucumber. It so so good it's worth trying this place just for it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Caesar Salad in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I fell in love with this place initially because of the unparalleled panini. I fell deeper in love when I realized that if you sit outside you can bring your dog and order a treat for your pet from a special dogs' menu. But it's the pace and friendliness of this restaurant that's so special. Owner Farouk likes to know his regular customers, and he greets you like family. Cozy seating, cool jazz, movie nights with a drop-down screen, and a personal touch all make this one of my favorite spots in Santa Cruz.

But it took me a while—I was distracted by the panini (especially the Cheddar, Onion and Cumin)—to find the hidden gems on the menu. The homemade hummus with pita and veggies is the best hummus I've ever had, by a wide margin. And the Caesar salad is a revelation. Farouk does a light dressing. There's nothing heavy or mayo-y or out-of-a-bottle here. He shaves the cheese, so you get big surface area and therefore big flavor on your tongue. And the croutons (panini-grilled wedges of bread, thin and perfect) are rubbed with fresh garlic for a giant burst of flavor. You should absolutely try this place if you haven't already.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice ambiance and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Food is good but the menu is very limited. cozy atmosphere and nice staff.
The soups are tasty and paninis yummy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great little gem with amazing paninis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I love the paninis here. The salads are very fresh too. It's a cute little restaurant that is decorated very nicely.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little local find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

De-lish panini sandwiches right down the street from Penny Ice Creamery. Make your day that much better and have lunch at Cafe Limelight and a sweet treat at Penny Ice Creamery afterward. My idea of an ideal afternoon!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Limelight also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Limelight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Limelight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.