We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better hotels for the $” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Riverside Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Santa Cruz Beach Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better hotels for the $”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

For the money it's not the worst hotel. We stayed in room 209. The AC never worked and the bathroom was disgusting! Bathroom had that orangish slime on the walls mixed with some black hair. None of us have black hair so obviously not ours. Bathrooms don't have ANY circulation at all, probably the reason for that orangish greasy slime on the walls and ceiling. Front desk staff was friendly, pool area was decent and clean, morning breakfast was total garbage! I wouldn't stay here again unless I was totally broke and looking for a super cheap room.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    90
    114
    69
    71
See reviews for
231
75
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with smiles and told we had been upgraded for free; sounded great. However, we entered our room to find stained carpet, broken door/window locks, and the smell of what I assume was urine(this is a pet friendly hotel; something our booking site failed to mention). The mirror in the restroom was literally hanging off the wall by one nail (I have pictures) and fell off at one point during our stay.

Halfway through our stay, we noticed the hotel had taken the cost of the room out of our account although the card was only to be kept on file. The person at the front desk told us we were mistaken. We checked with our bank and confirmed the money had been taken out and our account was now overdrawn (this is not the card we intended to pay with upon check out). I began to explain to the front desk associate what our bank had shared with us when he put his hand up only about 1 foot from my face and told me I had no right to speak because I was not the person on the booking paperwork. This is by far the worst "customer service" I have ever received. I will say that all other hotel employees were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel greeted me like I was family. I had had a terrible experience with another hotel and the friendly staff at this hotel changed my view of the chain. This hotel exceeded my expectations. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We used this hotel out of need when our plans to head to our San Francisco hotel a day early fell thru. It was dirty from the start!! When we headed to our rooms there was a huge pile of dirty towels in front of our door and a few bags of trash in front of the room my kids used. It was were housekeeping left everything for that side of the hotel before it was taken to the laundry. The room carpets need to be changed out or at least steam cleaned same with the in room chairs. I think I had to kill 4-5 spiders between our room and my kids room. The AC barely worked and was extremely loud. I don't know how these places stay in business if it's not for people like us that don't know any better and rent out of need.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Santa Cruz is our family's favorite get away spot ,, My kids absolutly love everything there , beach,boardwalk and the Hotel. Ash The Manager has become like part of your family , always taking great care of us with a smile :) Thanks Ash !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your great review. Its really exciting to have our valued guests take the time to write about their stay. Your comments make us all here at the Days Inn proud that we are doing something right. Hope to see you again soon when your travel brings you back to santacruz.

Best Regards
Daysinn Santa Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The three rooms we saw here ranged from passable for one night to absolutely unacceptable. We have personal experience with three different rooms and hope to give potential travelers a clear idea of what to expect…or better said, what not to expect.
We were traveling with our son (17) and needed a room for one night. I used the online service from Days Inn and immediately received a confirmation e-mail; however, I meant to get two queens (my mistake), so I called. The girl told me none were available, so we stuck with what we had (queen and a sofa bed), gave a credit card to hold the reservation because we couldn’t be there by 6 p.m., and thought all was good.
Arrival and check-in went smoothly. Our friends, who had checked in earlier, were satisfied with their room (two queens), although they indicated it wasn’t anywhere near the Sheraton we had been at the night before. Of course, I didn’t expect that from a Days Inn (even though it was costing me the same amount). Santa Cruz has inflated prices, especially in July, on Wharf-to-Wharf and UCSC orientation weekend. The price of $134 seemed a lot for that caliber, but I was willing to pay it for the convenience of being near the tournament we were attending. Little did I know the pit of a room that was awaiting me!
Our room, #114, was a dump. The lights on the wall wouldn’t turn on, and in retrospect, that might be a blessing. We went on to discover, thanks to the dim ceiling light and the glaringly harsh bathroom light, the complete state of decay of the room. I’m including lots of photos to document this. The carpet was torn, fraying, and stained with I-don’t-know-what. (Animals are allowed on the first floor.) The bathroom had a rotting mirror, numerous cracks in the tile, filthy grout (Tip: Check out-of-the-way places like under countertops to see what the “original” grout should look like. Generally it is grey or white, not BLACK like the grout here.), the towel rack on the ground due to one of the brackets being entirely broken off the wall, and a hole in the back of the door. The handle was also decaying. The sofa bed, which I wouldn’t have let a pet jump on let alone my child sleep in, was broken. The springs and support mechanism were completely gone at the lower left side. When he unfolded it and tested with his hands, my husband went clear through to the floor. To top it off, the bracket for the bolt had been split in not one but two places. Of course, that wouldn’t have mattered since the sliding glass door was wide open when we unlocked the room!
I had gone to the front to tell them about the door (desk personnel showed no surprise) and the lights (reluctantly agreed to come see about it after asking me if the light was broken.), and then returned to the room. My family showed me the horror described above, and I went back to the front, as no one had yet come to us, and was going to ask for a different room. That’s when I heard the desk clerk tell someone that there were only two rooms available, both suites, including the honeymoon suite. The person declined, so I asked for a key to preview the room.
It was on the third floor, room 306, and was passable. The room was giant, it seemed clean but dingy, and there were none of the glaring issues seen in room 114. It goes for $219, but she offered it to me for $189. Although this is highway robbery, I took it because it was only for the one night, and the room seemed okay. [When the rooms have bottle-openers permanently attached to the cabinets, you know it's not a classy joint!] Other that the children tearing up and down the corridor at six in the morning and the crush at the breakfast leaving almost to eat nothing by eight (We went to The Buttery Café, instead…excellent! I didn’t want my family to get the food at the Days Inn, anyway, based on the condition of that room. I wouldn’t even trust this hotel with prepackaged food.), the stay was uneventful. Our friends who stayed in #326 weren’t impressed, either.
We will not be back and encourage you to avoid this place, as well. We checked out as soon as the group was ready, and the man who handled it didn’t ask me how things were. Clearly he knew better.

Room Tip: The first floor allows pets, and that certainly shows in the carpet. It's torn, stained, and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Although we are not the Sheraton we do try to provide our customers with the best service and experience possible. Booking hotels in Santa Cruz you will find all the rates in the area to be especially high in the summer months. The rate you recieved was actually a huge discount from what it should have been since it was Wharf to Wharf weekend. Rates that weekend were going from $399-$200 at ALL hotels and motels in Santa Cruz. We did try to accomodate you by switching your room since you were not happy with the other one. Some of the problems in the room you reported were never brought to our attention by other guests so we were unable to fix certain issues (towel rack, sofa bed) before you checked in . We are currently in the works of remodeling our rooms, it is a slow process since we are a very busy hotel. We want everyone to know that although our hotel is not a 5 star our staff do try to provide 5 star service. It is very unfortunate that although we moved your room and tried to accomodate you by providing a discount, you still found it upon yourself to give us such a negative review. And to make comments about our breakfast although you never even ate it is very dissapointing. To assume that we do not provide a healthy and clean breakfast experience is wrong of you since you did not have any. I find your comments very contradictory since you mentioned your friend was satisfied with their room and then you said they weren't. If that was the case they should have brought it to our attention and we would of done the best to accomodate them. The problems in the pictures have already been addressed by our maintenance staff. Thank you for your very detailed review. I hope new and future customers know that this is one opinion and that they will take the time to form their own opinions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed one night,checked inn everything was fine the fountain was little outdated.manager is great and genuinely nice person you can see he cares for his customers.nice staff as well.overall happy customer will return again in September.Thank you for great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. It give us satisfaction in knowing that the hotel's location, room accomodations, and service all met your needs. We would gladly welcome you back on your next trip to santa curz.Thank you for staying with us.
Best Regards

Daysinn Santa Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz

Address: 600 Riverside Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Santa Cruz Beach Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Santa Cruz, California, within minutes of walking distance to downtown Santa Cruz and Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, the Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz is an affordable and beautifully appointed Boutique Hotel offering mid-scale guest rooms and a luxurious two-story family suite ideal for group or family travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.