We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did a great job on our large party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ideal Bar & Grill

Ideal Bar & Grill
106 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5413
831-423-5271
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 327 restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Santa Cruz, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Did a great job on our large party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife's 70th birthday party was an event of 35 people on a Saturday evening. While it was a little pricey, the staff at Ideal did a fabulous job of set-up, coordination, and service. Many of our guests commented very positively on the quality of the food as well. We had the back bar as a private room (cost of $150), and though there was a football game crowd up front, we were never bothered by the noise. Everything felt very "custom", and all our specific requests were honored without anybody batting an eyelash. Our guests said the party was one of the best they'd ever attended. So kudos to the staff and chefs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    45
    56
    38
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So much fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My friend and I sat outside, watched the sunset and treated ourselves to the Linguini Pomodoro- linguini noodles sautéed in olive oil, white wine and fresh garlic with kalamata olives, artichoke hearts, scallions, tomatoes, mushrooms and fresh basil topped with fresh grated parmesan cheese. It was amazing, will absolutely be back. Right on the wharf, great location.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Screwed on your screwdriver.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Happy hour is advertised on the window, the fine print, if found, will tell you what drinks are included. The waitress will indicate the drink you ordered was included but when it becomes time to pay she informs you that it was not included in happy hour. So you get screwed on your screwdriver.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great bar near the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great food if you want to sit down inside or out; good bar grub is you sit in the street view bar area, happy hour specials for doubles and beers most days. A great place to take a break in summer from the heat of the beach. I like to go here for a late lunch after hanging at the beach in the summer, get some drinks with friends and then wander over to the beach for the first of two, Friday night free concerts. In August, saw The Fixx twice in the night and hit this bar between / after each show. A classic bar, kid friendly as well. Full menu. Good burgers, steaks, seafood and pub grub. Dancing / DJ late night, weekends and I think, some nights during the summer / week days.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just chillin at the beach!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

At the entrance to the Santa Cruz pier, this is a casual place, great for people watching while sitting in the big outdoor patio area on a gorgeously sunny day. Tables are pretty tight, service was adequate. The clam chowder and fish tacos were tasty. Just a fun place to hang out to get a flavor of the beach and pier area of Santa Cruz.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ideal Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ideal Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ideal Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.