We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Week Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Breeze Inn

Save Saved
You added Aqua Breeze Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Breeze Inn
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   204 Second Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Hanford, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Mid Week Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Wife and I took off for a couple days at Santa Cruz for a break. We stayed the Aqua Breeze Inn for the first time. The location is great just across the parking lot to the Beach Boardwalk and the wharf. It is an older small motel. The rooms are medium size for an older unit, a little worn, but very clean. We had a queen bed which was just ok for comfort. There is free Wi-Fi, Direct TV, refrigerator, microwave and free breakfast consisting of only coffee, OJ, milk, cereal and toast. Things not in the rooms you should know is no shampoo, conditioner, lotion (only soap), no hair dryer and no room coffee maker. The office does not open until 8 a.m. to get coffee which is bad for me, but may be find with you.

It is not bad for the price, we only paid $59 per night, so you get what you pay for and overall not bad for the price.

Room Tip: Would look at a room on third floor facing the boardwalk for the best view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaBreezeManagement, General Manager at Aqua Breeze Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very happy you took the time to let others know that you enjoyed your stay and especially our location. I'm sorry we didn't make it clear though that most of the extra amenities you mentioned not being in the room were available upon request in the office, including shampoo/conditioner, hair dryer and an in room coffee maker, as well as irons and ironing boards.
We do only offer a limited continental breakfast as you described, but in the summer season we add a pastry/muffin to the selection as well.
Thank you again and we hope to have you stay with us in the future. Btw, if you call and let us know you are a repeat guest, we can offer you a better rate than what you would find online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Murphys, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My boyfriend and i took my 14 year old to santa cruz for a couple days to see the ocean and ride the giant dipper. We got a room with 2 queens on the third floor and it was perfect! It was spacious, clean, free wifi, and had a fridge and microwave! We absolutely loved the fact that it was walking distance to the boardwalk. The guy at the front desk was super nice and helpful. They have a breakfast in the moring in the lobby that consists of coffee, milk, OJ, toast and cereal. They also have a pool and coin laundry if needed. We checked in for one day, but ended up staying two! Aqua Breeze is my new favorite and we will be returning!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

we just stayed in aqua breeze the last night of our stay in santa cruz, and i wish we had discovered the place sooner. great location, clean and really spacious rooms, with internet you need to do the password exercise all the time - it's a bit annoying but it's rather often thing i guess, it's possible to get a nice view. there were just two of us, and we were looking for something a bit cheaper than they had on offer, and the guy on the reception offered us a two-queen beds room (in fact, two rooms) for the price of one-bed room plus a 10 bucks discount, and eventually we managed to find a even a room with a view on to the boardwalk. good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff was nice and the location was perfect! My friends and I went for a night to visit the boardwalk and for the price we were surprised that it was so close to the boardwalk. Free parking which was nice and a cool balcony that you could sit at over the pool and see the boardwalk.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Highlands, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Aqua Breeze Inn is across the street from the Board Walk and the Beach. The Staff overall were great. I needed a downstairs room due to my disability. I reserved a double twin room, but they had none available. They upgraded us to a double queen room at no extra charge. There is a continental breakfast from 8-10 at the office.
This hotel is great for the price that we paid for it. The room are at an affordable price which also include a kitchen, stove, microwave, and refrigerator.
Can't forget that they have high speed wireless internet too.
Thank you for the great service Aqua Breeze Inn.
We will most definitely stay with you again!

Room Tip: Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Was hoping for better but was disappointed. Booked the room on short notice because many others in the area were already booked, or wouldn't accommodate a family w/ three children in one room or wouldn't accept pets. This place met all those requests but that's about it. The room we stayed in was not clean. It wasn't filthy, but I made my kids wear flip flops while in the room because the floors were visibly soiled, many of the door jambs had grimy hand prints on them, the ceilings were in disrepair and the towels (when we finally got some) were dingy gray and just enough to scratch the water off you after a shower. The office staff were very nice and helpful, despite their lack promptness attending to new guests. Won't likely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aromas, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Decent property. Spotlessly clean (would satisfy Felix Unger!). Good price, and *very* near the Boardwalk. Minuses include the worst towels known to man, no shampoo provided, WiFi that only works if your room happens to be quite close to the office / router, and parking that, although definitely provided, is difficult for large vehicles (from one of the lots, you pretty-much have to back out into traffic, because there isn't really room to turn around without making 6-8 turns). Still and all, we'd stay here again! Not at all bad, for the price and location! Fridge and microwave in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Breeze Inn

Address: 204 Second Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Aqua Breeze Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Aqua Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Breeze Hotel Santa Cruz
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Breeze Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.