We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible allaround” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mare

Cafe Mare
740 Front St Ste 100, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4536
(831) 458-1212
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Mare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 327 restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cooper street
Transit: Metro bus station 1 block away.
Description: Old world charm in the heart of Santa Cruz, authentic Italian cuisine with an extensive wine list and a full bar. Open for lunch and dinner as well as brunch on weekends. Ample public parking.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“incredible allaround”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

went for dinner last night, last day in santa cruz and it couldnt of been a better way to end our trip. sat at bar, great atmosphere, andrea the bartender was awesome very personable and even offered to have my boyfriends favorite pasta dish cooked which wasnt on menu. we are moving to santa cruz in may and will be back for sure! thanks for a great evening!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    29
    13
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cafe Mare is a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lovely staff and owners are very personable. Nice place to sit at the bar and have a cocktail with appetizers. I like the cozy atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We love this restaurant and have always had excellent food and friendly, attentive service. The menu is varied but reasonably priced, the meal is always beautifully prepared and presented, and special requests will be accommodated whenever possible.
The chef takes advantage of local organic foods to present creative salad and entree specials, all served in a warm environment. We especially appreciate the fact that the restaurant is quiet enough, even when very busy, that you can actually carry on a relaxed conversation! Highly recommended for a quiet couples lunch or dinner as well as for large or small family gatherings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is run by Italians, cooked by Italians, and served by Italians. The food can be pricey, but I've never had a bad meal here. It's a great place to go for lunch or dinner.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Food excellent, Service very friendly, sad that the restaurant was half empty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We looked for a restaurant in Santa Cruz and found Cafe Mare in a backstreet. We had an amazing meal. The atmosphere was a bit strange. There were hardly any people!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mare also viewed

 
Santa Cruz, CA
Santa Cruz, CA

Been to Cafe Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.