We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT ENOUGH PARKING” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Front Inn

Save Saved
You added Bay Front Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bay Front Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   325 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Bikes
Ranked #17 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Groveland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NOT ENOUGH PARKING”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The room was pretty nice, a little small but nice. The staff was friendly. Close to the Boardwalk where we spent most of our time. The only bad thing was the parking arrangements. The lot filled up fast and they asked us to park on the street. I wasn't too happy about that. It was a little pricey but expected since it was peak season.

Room Tip: come early to get a parking spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    93
    57
    33
    42
See reviews for
89
70
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were in the hotel for only one night during our road trip in California and we saw many motels and hotel on the way, Bay Front Inn was the best in terms of quality and price. Very clean room, breakfast very good and included in the price, and above all very good service. In the morning they let us use the bikes so we had the chance to visit Santa Cruz cycling around, very pleasent.
Good price too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel has rooms specifically designed for pets: no carpets and on the first floor. There are dog treats in the lobby and a patio where you can take your breakfast. Good breakfast, large flat screen TVs and great location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Being new to the area, I asked an old friend who has been living in Santa Cruz (and is working at the Human Resources Center for the Boardwalk), for a recommendation on a place to stay. The Bay Front Inn was ideal to me for 3 reasons: it is Safe, Central Located and Affordable. I felt confident while walking to both downtown and the boardwalk, each only about 7 minutes away!
This place is different than the stereotypical "motel."
Forget waking up to a continental breakfast of plastic-wrapped Danishes and a juice machine: the Bay Front Inn offers a wide selection of muffins and cereals with a natural touch- whether vegan or just hungry, your tummy will be delighted.
I want to thank the staff for being genuinely kind and helpful to me during my stay here- it was refreshing to see that here, 'hospitality', actually is not just a business philosophy; the staff and management act out of kindness because, well, they are just really good people.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Tiny rooms in moderate disrepair; generally shoddy feel all around. Partially made up for by proximity to beach and it's walkable to a lot of things. It's not on any front of any bay though. I guess I need to type more but I'm not sure how much more to get this review accepted.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a great little motel, clean simple and friendly - we just showed up and checked in. Very conveinient for the boardwalk and wharf without being on the main road. Worth asking for the online or AAA rate though as you'll save around $10.

Room Tip: Worth asking for the online or AAA rate though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stains everywhere towels sheets and pillows. Located close to boardwalk but horrible place. Did not even end up staying the night, couldn't get a refund so we ate the money and headed home early. The entire room smelled like cigarettes we asked to be switched which they did, onto another filthy looking room. Super thin walls uncomfortable dirty beds. TV was broken, the soaps provided stunk! Nothing good to say about this hotel, oh and $15 Parking fee if you did not book through them.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Front Inn

Also Known As:
Bay Front Hotel Santa Cruz
Bay Front Hotel
Bay Front Motel
Address: 325 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Front Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Front Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.