We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT ENOUGH PARKING” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Front Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Front Inn to your Saves list
Bay Front Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   325 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT ENOUGH PARKING”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The room was pretty nice, a little small but nice. The staff was friendly. Close to the Boardwalk where we spent most of our time. The only bad thing was the parking arrangements. The lot filled up fast and they asked us to park on the street. I wasn't too happy about that. It was a little pricey but expected since it was peak season.

Room Tip: come early to get a parking spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were in the hotel for only one night during our road trip in California and we saw many motels and hotel on the way, Bay Front Inn was the best in terms of quality and price. Very clean room, breakfast very good and included in the price, and above all very good service. In the morning they let us use the bikes so we had the chance to visit Santa Cruz cycling around, very pleasent.
Good price too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackoKnowsBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel has rooms specifically designed for pets: no carpets and on the first floor. There are dog treats in the lobby and a patio where you can take your breakfast. Good breakfast, large flat screen TVs and great location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rimbauda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Being new to the area, I asked an old friend who has been living in Santa Cruz (and is working at the Human Resources Center for the Boardwalk), for a recommendation on a place to stay. The Bay Front Inn was ideal to me for 3 reasons: it is Safe, Central Located and Affordable. I felt confident while walking to both downtown and the boardwalk, each only about 7 minutes away!
This place is different than the stereotypical "motel."
Forget waking up to a continental breakfast of plastic-wrapped Danishes and a juice machine: the Bay Front Inn offers a wide selection of muffins and cereals with a natural touch- whether vegan or just hungry, your tummy will be delighted.
I want to thank the staff for being genuinely kind and helpful to me during my stay here- it was refreshing to see that here, 'hospitality', actually is not just a business philosophy; the staff and management act out of kindness because, well, they are just really good people.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostlyitsmychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Tiny rooms in moderate disrepair; generally shoddy feel all around. Partially made up for by proximity to beach and it's walkable to a lot of things. It's not on any front of any bay though. I guess I need to type more but I'm not sure how much more to get this review accepted.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MorjBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a great little motel, clean simple and friendly - we just showed up and checked in. Very conveinient for the boardwalk and wharf without being on the main road. Worth asking for the online or AAA rate though as you'll save around $10.

Room Tip: Worth asking for the online or AAA rate though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_from_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stains everywhere towels sheets and pillows. Located close to boardwalk but horrible place. Did not even end up staying the night, couldn't get a refund so we ate the money and headed home early. The entire room smelled like cigarettes we asked to be switched which they did, onto another filthy looking room. Super thin walls uncomfortable dirty beds. TV was broken, the soaps provided stunk! Nothing good to say about this hotel, oh and $15 Parking fee if you did not book through them.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyme589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.0 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Front Inn

Address: 325 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Front Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bay Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Front Hotel Santa Cruz
Bay Front Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing