We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but .....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Carousel Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carousel Beach Inn
110 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 110 Rivers (Formerly Carousel Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
PILOT HILL, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient but .....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

You can't bet the convenience if you are spending the majority of your time at the Boardwalk, beach and Wharf but the price was so high for what you got. The rooms are small and the parking situation is challenging. We took the 2 grandchildren and there just wasn't enough room for 4 and all of our stuff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We could see Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk from our room at this motel.! That was one of the perks for staying at a motel directly across the street from this amusement park. We could sit on our balcony and watch the roller coaster's ups and downs. Yes, it was a little noisy, but not after the rides shut down at 11 p.m., and after a day spent on the beach and on all the thrilling boardwalk rides, sleep came easy in our clean, comfortable room. Complimentary breakfast is included with the room, and there is always fresh coffee in the lobby. The front desk clerks were friendly and accommodating. The only flaw was some backed up brownish, sandy water in the bathroom sink, fortunately not while we were using it. It sounded like a coffee percolator, but it
drained completely. We mentioned this to the manager, and they admitted knowing that they occasionally had problems with sandy water in some sinks. It didn't hamper our stay, and we
wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Carousel the next time we return to Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Overlook the street if you want a view of the park, and maybe hear some street noise in the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located at the center of the bordwalk It's clean and everything is in walking distance. I have stayed there about 6 times and always been happy with my stay. I would definitely stay there again and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here for the location, most definitely. Pricey but worth it to me considering we left the boardwalk at 10:45 pm, and there was not that many people around. Initially the girl taking my reservation booked the wrong date, so please triple check before you hang up, check-in and check-out was fairly quick but there was no one else there at the time. Will def. stay again.... loved the balcony and extra chairs out there. Customer service was ok, not great, but no complaints either. Slept great. =)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This will work if you won't be spending all that much time in the room and are looking for a fairly clean, fairly safe place to stay that couldn't be closer to the boardwalk.

Highlights to note:

Like other reviewers mentioned, check in as at 3:00. However, plan on 4:00. We arrived at 3:15 and were given a parking pass, but told to check back in 30 minutes because the room wasn't ready. We came back in 30 minutes and had to wait in line. The person that helped us first didn't seem to know which end was up and physically left the building to go check on whether or not our room was ready. While she was gone another person helped us and she seemed much more on top of things, she got us checked in.

The motel is locked and you need your key cards to enter, which was reassuring because some people in the area seemed questionable.

The room was clean enough. Pretty out of date, but we didn't stay much in the room, so it worked. To Note: NO AC. It doesn't typically get all that hot in Santa Cruz anyway, but still you'd like the option.

The ocean view is the best you'll get. Perfect view to the boardwalk and the ocean. I overheard guests arguing about who was in room 302, some book this room a year in advance, so try to get that room if you can, I guess. Also note- the hotel double booked them, hence the arguing, so keep that in mind.

There isn't much sound protection and ultimately other guests opening and closing (sounded like slamming) their doors woke me up bright and early. I'm not a light sleeper.

The breakfast was a snack to get you on the road: coffee, fruit, bagels and muffins.

You have to physically walk back down to the office to check out, which is annoying too.

There is nothing, and I mean nothing fancy about this hotel, or luxurious or high quality, it is run of the mill, place to lay your head and if it weren't for the location it would be a 2 star.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

You can see the boardwalk. The breakfast worked. The rooms were clean albeit basic and outdated. This is not the best part of town but it was a safe parking lot and had metal security gates to get to the elevators. Motel not Hotel to be sure. The amusement park closed at 11:00 so it was quiet enough for sleep by then.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place was clean. The staff was nice. Breakfast OK.

There is no AC, pool, or hot-tub though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carousel Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Beach Inn

Address: 110 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 110 Rivers (Formerly Carousel Motel)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-friendly Carousel Beach Inn is just steps away from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and the Main Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carousel Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Motel Santa Cruz
Carousel Hotel Santa Cruz
Carousel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carousel Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.