We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut Avenue Cafe

Walnut Avenue Cafe
106 Walnut Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-3913
831-457-2307
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 331 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Eureka, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We enjoyed the excellent food, both lunch and dinner. Our Server for both meals was Alana, who was bright, cheerful, efficient, and friendly. We will definitely return when we are in Santa Cruz!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    45
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Average in almost every way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place was ok for breakfast but nothing special. Its location in downtown is pretty handy and that's probably its best point along with a long list of menu options. Service was friendly enough, but nothing more than expected. Our table - like many others in the cafe - was too small and could barely fit our plates plus a couple of cups and glasses. The food was competent but nothing to rave about.

So a safe choice, but in a very average way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“my favorite breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

i love walnut avenue cafe, seriously. this is my favorite place to get breakfast because the food is always perfect and the staff is always nice. i order a pretty basic breakfast every time, either bacon & eggs or an omelet and i'm totally stuffed and super satisfied every time which is more than i can say about some of the other places in downtown santa cruz. If you are visiting and want to eat where the locals eat, this is the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best downtown brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food is amazing, but what really sets this place apart for me is the friendly service. Santa Cruz is the land of grumpy waitresses, but I always get a genuine smile from the staff at the Walnut Avenue Café.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were visiting friends in SC and came to town early so we stopped in at Walnut St. Cafe. The place was full and we waited about 10 minutes for a table. Well worth it. The Benedict I ordered was fantastic and my husband had the patty melt. We told our friends we ate here and they confirmed its one of their favorites too. Coming from locals that says a lot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Avenue Cafe also viewed

 
Santa Cruz, CA
 

Been to Walnut Avenue Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut Avenue Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.